We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay over” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elephant Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elephant Lake Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Lucia
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
145 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good place to stay over”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Hotel is used by a lot of groups and can be very busy. Atmosphere then is more like a busy train station. Room is spacious, clean, some chipped tiles in the bathroom. Rooms either have terrace or balcony. WIFI was down due to rain and thunder, but neighbourhood had strong, working signal. Hotel is situated on Main Road, next to St. Lucia Lake. Central to walk to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frogy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    52
    56
    18
    6
See reviews for
29
59
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel was recommended to us by the travel agency that assured us it is a 4* facility.
This facility is not a hotel, it is rather a shelter with no internet working there and no one willing to get the password from perfectly working one from the neighbors!
The room was dirty, very basic, with many dirty stains on the walls and on the ceiling.
There is no elevator and the porter service non-existing. I left my bag at the reception and came back after some 20 minutes. Thanks God the bag was not stolen, but the receptionist, of course with silly big smile, informed me they had forgotten whose bag it was....
Stay away from that place!
The only advantage- hippos visiting the garden in the evening or early morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaroslaw S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Lucia hotels

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

The hotel is nothing special from the outside, but well situated just off the main street. The foyer is quite spacious albeit a bit cluttered with many brochures and a tour booking desk. We were met at the door with a smiling welcome and an offer of assistance to carry our bags to our room.The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a great buffet the first evening with lamb on the spit. Good food and good service. Our room overlooked the pool and the bar terrace, with a view across the garden to the riverbank. Room was very nice, although it needed a bit of maintenance. Good bed. Aircon was a boon, it was very humid. Hippos came up to feed after dark, but there were too many eager photographers wanting to get close, and basically chased them back to the water. Night drive was good - very lucky to see a leopard and hyaena apart from various antelope, bush pig and bushbabies. Also enjoyed the cruise, with many hippo, a croc, ibis, and the magnificent African fish eagle.

Room Tip: Ground floor 1 - 12 and first floor 27 - 38 face pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrys26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

The hotel Manager was so sweet that I want to give this place a better review. But the reality is that it is a rugged run-down motel like atmosphere. There are few electrical outlets, and not the kind that work with regular converters, no wifi, a minimalistic TV, and a not so comfy bed. It seemed clean enough- I never saw a bug. But it was the kind of place where I wouldn't have been shocked if I had seen one.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dragonlady15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
251 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Our first impressions of the hotel were not particularly favourable – typical bland chain, 60s architecture, no lobby. However, these changed pretty swiftly.

For start, the hotel is very centrally located. It is right next to a steak eatery – The Quarterdeck and an excellent Italian – Alfredo’s. It has a view over the Umfolozi river albeit only from the far edge of the lawn.

The place has a lovely poolside area with the breakfast room right next door. Best to get rooms overlooking the pool on the ground or first floor as there is not much of a sight of the river from any of the other rooms.

What really makes a difference to the place is their staff – very friendly and always smiling. They knew us by our names and were very helpful throughout our stay. They also phoned in one evening to alert us of the visit of the resident hippo on his nightly grazing escapade into town.

In the morning you want to sit by the pool and observe the naughty tenant monkeys fooling around – but watch out if you decided to leave anything on the balcony, this will be swiped by them in no time.

The bar has rather haphazard opening hours – one evening it was open till 9.30pm and then on another- well beyond that time.

Breakfast was rather basic but satisfactory – not much fruit.

Room Tip: Best to go for rooms 3 - 11 or 29 - 37
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Globetrotter008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here while on tour of S.A. We had a cruise on the river to view hippos and crocodiles and held up here for the night. Staff was excellent. Rooms were comfortable,nothing to write home about, but were alright for one night. There was a nice lounge that extended to the outdoors. In that the hotel grounds open to the river, you are warned about hippos roaming at night. Breakfast buffet was good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
196 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

The hotel is good. No shower soap and bad service in the restaurant but otherwise great. Hippos come into town in the evenings so beware on the streets at night. They come to drink from the hotel pool at night and came when we were there. I highly recommend Alfredo's Italian Restaurant next door!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsmith45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Lucia
0.6 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
17.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River
0.4 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
#13 of 29 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Lake Hotel

Property: Elephant Lake Hotel
Address: McKenzie Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elephant Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Elephant Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing