We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Lucia Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

A lovely B&B. Very clean and nice, quiet rooms. The staff was fabulous and very attentive. They were very accommodating, numerous times asking if I needed anything, wanted a safari reservation made, offering advice on places to go and see, and making sure that I had everything I needed for a perfect stay. The breakfast was also very good, exceeding what is expected at a B&B. Highly recommend staying here and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
There are newer reviews for Santa Lucia Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 359 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Santa Lucia guesthouse proved to be a wonderfull B&B. Francois, Rika and Marty were wonderfull in helping organising out stay there. There is no time for lazying around, Francois asks you in the morning what you want to do, after telling him he pulls soe strings, make some calles and voilá there is your day program! I really enjoyed the talks with Francois and Rika. When we were leaving for swaziland Marty helped us tremendously in finding the right places to stay, including making the reservations by phone.

The B&B itself is a well maintained, nice looking place with the best breakfast served in town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I think this is one of the most comfort stays we've ever been on. What a great hospitality from Francois and Rika en the rest of the staff. We stayed there for 3 nights and they were so helpfull with everything. From information about the area til "fixing" our rental car.

The location was perfect. Everything in walking distance. The rooms are cosy and clean. In the morning you can have a great breakfast. I really recommend this to everyone who wants to go to St. Lucia.

Thanks again Santa Lucia!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JIH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was our fifth visit to Santa Lucia. We have had many trips to South Africa over the last twelve years and we mainly stay at guesthouses. This has been consistently the best of all the ones we have stayed at. The warm welcome, the hospitality and the help with planning what we do while we are there, are second to none. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfasts are superb.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The whole "Santa Lucia Guesthouse" experiance was a great experiance.
Rika was a huge help in advance when planning my trip to South Africa.
Then on the spot Mirta took care of us and gave us many good advices for what to do and where to go. Both these ladys were extremly kind and helpful. Also the rest of the staff was very attentive.
Room itstelf was nice, big, quite and had everything one needed.
Very good breakfast (especially Mirta's Avocado special).
The guesthouse is located in (safe) walking distance to shops and restaurants.
Would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Singhanala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were privileged to stay at the Santa Lucia Guesthouse from the 7th to the 12th September, 2012. From the moment we walked in, we were made to feel welcome and by the time we left we had come to feel that we had made two new friends.

Staying at the guesthouse is better than being at home! Everywhere is clean, well cared for and comfortable, with beautiful antique furniture and lovely wooden carvings in every room. We loved it!

Rika and Francois, who own and run the guesthouse are delightful people. They are always happy to help and will go that extra mile to make your stay special. During our stay, my partner's cousin and his wife met up with us. Although they were staying at another B & B, Rika gave them a complimentary breakfast so that they could spend longer with us.

The breakfasts are really something! There is more food than you could ever possibly eat – though we tried hard! - from cereal to full English and every variety of food in between. Rika's quiche is particularly yummy. If you eat a good breakfast, you won't need anything else until the evening – especially if you take advantage of the paper bags Rika and Francois provide to take away a muffin or two. You will not go hungry here!

If you intend to explore the area, then ask Rika and Francois for advice. Their local knowledge is excellent and you won't be disappointed if you take their advice. When you've made your choice, they'll even help you to book any trips.

We particularly enjoyed the boat trip along the estuary. It's a great way to familiarise yourself with the area and you should get good sightings of hippos and crocodiles. We also saw a fish eagle, some flamingos and two types of kingfisher.

Another highlight was the night drive through the wetlands. It was a magical experience. It's well worth paying to do this trip as you will not be allowed into the park after dark unless you're on an organised trip with a licensed provider. We got so close to a spotted hyena that we could have reached out and touched him - if we'd been stupid enough! We also got to hold a chameleon.

We paid to be driven up to Cape Vidal. It is possible to drive yourself but you won't see as much wildlife and you'll have to stick to the roads, whereas the licensed trip organisers can go off road and have excellent local knowledge. We saw rhino, kudu, zebra, reedbuck, bushbuck, hippos, crocodiles, eagles, owls and many more creatures. Lunch was included in the price. We ate freshly barbecued sausages and steaks at a picnic bench overlooking the sea. Beware though: the local ververt and samango monkeys can be a pain! One stole my bread roll!

The village of Saint Lucia is small but charming. There are several decent places to eat and a smattering of other shops. It's a pleasant walk down to the beach and there's a restaurant down there which serves drinks and snacks. The crocodile centre was being renovated whilst we were there but was still worth a trip. The baby crocs were quite cute!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Saint Lucia and would return to the Santa Lucia Guesthouse tomorrow if we could! Thank you Rika and Francois for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in Santa Lucia Guesthouse for three nights and in short we will say it was the best guesthouse we stayed in South Africa. The hosts, Rika and François are absolutely wonderful. They do everything to make you feel at home. As soon as we arrived they welcomed us as member of their family and that was just the beginning. The bedroom was really cosy, very clean, with a comfortable bed and even a private terrace. The breakfast is absolutely the best one we have ever had: juices, yogurts, homemade pastries, different kinds of cheese and cold meat, fried vegetables, eggs, anything you might think of. They even gave us muffins for our trip. Furthermore, they always ask you if there is something you might need: no matter whether it is where to go or what route to follow, they will always give you the best advice (Francois' maps are priceless!!) and even arrange your hippo or whale watching boat trip. Anything you might need you can be sure they will do their best to help you. Just one short example of how kind they are: they even washed our car!!
The house looks like a family house (not like a hotel at all). It is full of books, ornaments, souvenirs, and that makes a really comfortable atmosphere. The garden and the swimming pool also make it a cute place. All we can say is that during our stay with Rika and Francois we felt at home!!
Last just a short comment about St. Lucia. When travelling around South Africa, a visit to this village is a must. It is a quiet village, nice and very safe; besides, it is the perfect location to visit Isimangaliso National Park, Hluhuwe-Imfolozi and to do many different activities, such as diving, whale watching, etc. In short, a place with everything on your doorstep.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sory_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.2 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#7 of 29 in St Lucia
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Heritage House
At Heritage House
#8 of 29 in St Lucia
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Lucia Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Lucia Guesthouse

Address: 30 Pelikaan Street | Maputaland, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range: $87 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Lucia Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy refined South African hospitality in this charming home set in a tropical garden. Within walking distance of excellent restaurants and local tourist attractions. Full breakfast is served on the patio overlooking the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Santa Lucia Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing