We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very kind hosts but tired decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Lucia Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very kind hosts but tired decor”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The guesthouse is very well-located behind the main street in St Lucia. The hosts were very kind and provided a very warm welcome and couldn't do enough to help us. Although the rooms are very spacious and had good facilities, they felt tired. Unfortunately the guesthouse has a very dated decor and could do with a re-vamp. We also stayed at Lodge Afrique which was only 10% more but a very different style -if guests want a a cleaner, modern style then Santa Lucia would not be the right place for you. However as attested to by the other reviews, the hosts are very hospitable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCOSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    56
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
194
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We, three couples with four children were travelling through the northern part of South Africa for three weeks. At all stops, hospitality was wonderful but at Santa Lucia Guesthouse it was outstanding. A lovely guesthouse, nice rooms, a wonderful terrace and the best breakfast we ever had during our travel. Rika and Francois, so nice and helpful, if they cannot help you to enjoy your vacacion, nobody can. So 100% recommended, nothing more to say.

Juergen and friends

Room Tip: We liked the apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juergen2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Based on the amazing reviews, I recently booked several nights at the Santa Lucia guest house during a trip to St. Lucia. I couldn't have been happier with my stay! The guest house was lovely - the facilities were spacious, clean, and beautiful. Rika and Francois were also the most accommodating and helpful hosts I have ever had! My friend and I arrived at 10am (unannounced) on the day of check-in and not only was our room made available for us early, we were also served breakfast on our patio! This set the tone for our entire stay. Rika and Francois helped us plan our days and book tours/safaris. Rika even lent me one of her jackets after telling me I'd "freeze to death" on a night safari without one (she was right!). I cannot recommend this B&B enough. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgirl_chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

St Lucia was our first stop on our 3 week African holiday. We arrived at the guesthouse after more than 24 hours of travel, and felt as if we were being welcomed back home by close family. Rika and Francois are engaging and attentive hosts, as well as very special people who will absolutely ensure you enjoy every minute of your stay.

The guesthouse is located in the center of St Lucia, a safe 5 minute walk to several restaurants. Hippos regularly wander the town at night (we didn't see any though) and some friends of ours have even seen a leopard in town.

Our room was very spacious with a separate sitting area, private patio and a huge bathroom with both tub and shower. There is a lot of closet space, bathrobes, beach towels, coffee, fridge and a safe, everything you could possibly need. The decor is beautiful and highlighted by lovely african woods.

Breakfast is exceptionnel. Fresh fruit and juices, cereals, yogurts, toast, cheeses, meats, eggs made to order, mushrooms, tomatoes and more. Rika's special of avocado and egg is sublime. The "Zulu Croissants" are offered to be taken away for lunch if so desired and these were always enjoyed.

We spent 3 nights at the guesthouse and would have loved to stay longer. Francois is a real treasure chest of information of everything in and around St Lucia, as well as other regions of South Africa. He spent much time with us every day after breakfast to get all of our activities arranged, his knowledge is really invaluable.

Our stay at St Lucia Guesthouse was perfect in every way and very special. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in St Lucia. I cannot recommend this guest house highly enough for the fabulous rooms, attention to details (our car was even washed for us!) and most of all, for Rika and Francois, our amazing hosts. Many thanks to them and the rest of the team for everything, we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapePenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Thanks so much again Rika & Francois for the lovely respite! On a friend's recommendation over a year ago, we (including family + friends) have enjoyed all of our stays here compared to other in the area. The warmest owners/hosts, great location, comfy rooms, and delish breakfast (with often a special avocado, cheese and egg surprise if you're so lucky).

Room Tip: Family room great for groups or families, nice doubles inside for couples on a getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeaneGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

There's no doubt that people can make or break an experience. Rika and Francois certainly made my weekend adventure to Saint Lucia an outstanding one! Their home is very comfortable and the food is tasty and filling (certainly don't need lunch after that delicious breakfast). The B&B is very well situated in the heart of Saint Lucia within walking distance of everything. And Rika and Francois' knowledge of the area is 2nd to none.

I've traveled extensively around South Africa and am confident is saying that Saint Lucia is right near the top. Santa Lucia Guesthouse is the perfect place to make your "home" while traveling to Saint Lucia. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Room 2 was spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This was our first time at a guesthouse (as we usually stay in hotels) and we were pleasantly surprised at the hospitality. Francois and Rika are a lovely couple , they made us feel very special. Breakfast was superb. Rooms immaculate. Location was very convenient, nearby to all shops and restaurants. We had a pleasant stay. Hope to go back someday.

Room Tip: We had the family suite at the end of the house,very private with 2 bedrooms and kitchen and dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.5 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whalesong B&B
Whalesong B&B
#9 of 29 in St Lucia
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#7 of 29 in St Lucia
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Lucia Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Lucia Guesthouse

Property: Santa Lucia Guesthouse
Address: 30 Pelikaan Street | Maputaland, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Lucia Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy refined South African hospitality in this charming home set in a tropical garden. Within walking distance of excellent restaurants and local tourist attractions. Full breakfast is served on the patio overlooking the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Santa Lucia Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing