We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elephant Coast Guest House
Ranked #3 of 31 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Totally enjoyed our stay. Rooms were totally clean, the accomondation was furnished in african style with lots of nice details. Cisca and Albert were totally caring and gave us lots of info! Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sebastian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 475 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

Lelana couldn't be more helpful. And the guest house itself was immaculate.

Only possible improvement might be to install amore powerful wifi, so we could go online in our room, rather than in the shared areas, but this is a monor quibble only. Will recommend it to other travellers, and look forward to out own return

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Guest House is run by a dutch couple which really takes care of their guests. It is nicely located close to the city of St. Lucia with modern rooms. We even had the chance to see hippos in the garden. For our next trip to SA this is definitely one of the places we will visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

it was a realy special trip. the guest house was so fantastic. big room, adequate breakfast, the staff are realy friendly.
the owners are very helpful and friendly. very helpful was the information-folder. fantastic is also the garden.
i can only recommend this guest house

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ursula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Probably the best guesthouse I've been to in South Africa! Only 2 nights there, but it couldn't have been better. First, we arrived quite early (1 pm) and that was no problem. The (South African) manager introduced us to the town and gave all the information we could need for our stay and booked a tour of the estuary for us. Later the (Dutch) owner introduced themselves and they were also super friendly. They even lent us snorkeling equipment for a trip to Cape Vidal.
Location: in the town of St Lucia, nothing is far but this place is not really central, you have to walk a bit to reach the area with restaurants. We were told to watch out for wild animals wandering in the night but didn't see any...
The house has a large garden with a small (cold) pool. The bedrooms are huge, with African decoration. The bed/linen are ok but could use an upgrade. There is a fridge with a bottle of wine and space to store your own drinks. In the bathroom, you get both a shower and bathtub. Free wifi in the lounge.

Room Tip: only few rooms have wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank so_voyage49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Elephant Coast is one of the most wonderful places we have ever stayed, the staff, Myrtle and the owners go out of their way to make your stay memorable, the place is spotless and the breakfast great, we were booked for 3 nights but ended up staying for 5, on one of our extra nights they were fully booked but they managed to accommodate us in one of the guides rooms which was great. Elephant Coast is very easy to locate and the area is fantastic for seeing wildlife which are to many to list here. We saw Hippos in the street at night and when we went to Cape Vidal which is stunning we saw Black Rhinos grazing and many other species roaming free.
Many Thanks to all at Elephant Coast.
William and Tracy

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I really appreciate my stay in this beautiful house in Ste-Lucia. The owners were very kind with us as we arrive very late ( around 21:00h) in the evening without advising them as we did not have any cell phone.
The room was comfortable and we have a private balcony and a living room.
A small fridge was in the room which is very convenient for our own bottles of water.
Breakfast was very dutch and generous; eggs, cheese, juices, fruits, toasts, coffee, yogurt.
A swimming pool was available for all customers. But, the best part of this b & b was the garden with all the monkeys and the hippos in the evening. Easy way to see them very closely!!!!! and safely.
The b and b is very close of the village and the beautiful park named Cape Vidal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.6 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#5 of 31 in St Lucia
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#4 of 31 in St Lucia
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalone Guest House
Avalone Guest House
#9 of 31 in St Lucia
61 reviews
0.6 mi away
Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Coast Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Coast Guest House

Address: Kingfisher Street | Mtubatuba, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range: $73 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Coast Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Coast Guest House offers an elegant "home away from home" experience, our sub tropical garden borders the Isimangaliso Wet Lands Park ensuring that we have a constant variety of small wildlife visiting us daily, adding to your fond memories of St Lucia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Elephant Coast Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing