We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The small Zoo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elephant Coast Guest House
Ranked #4 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The small Zoo”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have been staying for 2 nights at the Elephant Coast Guesthouse, we really enjoyed our stay here. Very nice and helpfull couple, you can get lots of information from them, they even book the excursions for you if you ask them. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The garden holds lots of animals and even a Hippo. We didn't catch the Hippo ourselves but the night before we arrived it visited the garden according to the other guests. So when you are looking for a clean and decent place to stay you should really visited this guesthouse, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frost_More
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    70
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
107
273
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a familyroom with double bedroom and double bathroom. Great patio, helpful owners, nice and very clean but cold pool(it was wintertime) and the breakfast on the terrace was really great with a delicious yoghurt granola as a starter and after that freshly fried eggs. Alfred and Ciska: you are both wonderfull hosts, the former-owners could be proud of you! Thank the girls too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob and Jes v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the end of June during the week the new owners were being oriented by the former owners, who were returning to the Netherlands. The now-former owners demonstrated outstanding service, which I imagine the new owners will continue. We had no sooner checked in the first afternoon than they made all the arrangements so that we could join an evening cruise on the St Lucia estuary with Shakabarker tours. We also got helpful information on restaurants and horseriding. The breakfast on the terrace was lovely. Only real issue was that it took a bit longer than expected to check out due to some confusion around the bill.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the lower level facing into the back garden and pool have their own patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breitscheid, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

P E R F E K T - no more words can describe how it is!
We had a gorgeous Honeymoon!
The breakfast ist very good, also the service and the neighborhood.
So you have to stay at the elephant oast guesthouse!
Regards from Marcel and Nicole

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Sipping wine and watching Hippo's at night. You have two of the best parcs of south africa nearby and the gated community of st lucia has some okay restaurants. We suggest the portugese one. Dutch are really friendly Theo take the time to explain and this is their passion so that reflects the vibe. Rooms are Nice, we had a private balcony. Its closeby the beach and more further from the center of st lucia, but that is no problem since it takes you 8 minutes. We suggest taking the Hippo private tour sturing sundown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted_and_Chantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My partner and I just got back home from a gorgeous weekend at St Lucia. It felt extra special because of the warm welcome and amazing hospitality we receivied from the team at the Elephant Coast Guest House. The place was cosy, sophisticated and private which gave us the breakaway we were after. Definitely happy to recommend the Elephant Coast Guest House!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sade A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

- the owners are very cordial and have good tips
- one of the nicest guest houses during our trip from Johannesburg to Capetown
- big and nice furnished rooms
- good breakfast
- we already booked again for 2013 and will stay one night longer

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chr z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Whalesong B&B
Whalesong B&B
#8 of 29 in St Lucia
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#9 of 29 in St Lucia
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Coast Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Coast Guest House

Property: Elephant Coast Guest House
Address: Kingfisher Street | Mtubatuba, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Coast Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Elephant Coast Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing