We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durban
1 review
“Good Hospitality”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We really enjoyed a stay here, especially the owner's hospitality is impressive to us. At the breakfast, he already prepared a child chair for my son.
The only thing I mind is a water boiler, it looks a little old, so we didn't use it. If it were renewed, this place would become better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daiji S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin H, Manager at St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us even though it was a bit on the short side. Thank you for your review. Warm Regards, the Holman Clan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    59
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
120
235
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kloof
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Friendly folk, always feel welcome, have been going back there one a year for the last 6 years, such a lot to do in St Lucia! Cape Vidal a must! The beaches are safe and clean and our 3 year old just loved the flat beach that was recently naturally created at the northern beach in St Lucia.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NeilMeyer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin H, Manager at St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you Neil for your review. It has always been a pleasure hosting your family. My folks would say that you have become part of our family. Wishing you all the best. The Holman Clan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

An excellent place to stay when visiting the iSimangaliso Wetlands Park/St Lucia area. Great breakfast. Owners very accommodating with good local knowledge and advice.
Highly recommend. Will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin H, Manager at St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you Margaret for your review. It would be our pleasure welcoming you back as the Sherry and the bottle of Red are always ready for a night cap. Wishing you all the best in the Lowveld. Warm Regards, The Holman Clan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Every details of the decoration of the room was nice. The advices about what to do in st.lucia were useful. The kindness of Colin& Derek. We were hungry when seeing the buffet for breakfast. Thanksalo

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nathalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

From the moment you are greeted on arrival and until you leave the hosts are very warm and friendly. We have been staying here for over ten years and have always been made to feel at home.
Breakfasts are great with a large variety of both hot and cold food.
This is just a very nice place to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: All rooms are to a high standard, most rooms have there own outside space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john195636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in early January for three nights. The friendliness of the welcome on arrival left us in no doubt about our decision to stay here. We had a lovely large bedroom with all the mod cons. Breakfast was a delight with a large array of hot and cold foods which could be taken inside or on the balcony overlooking the pool. Hettie,Derick and Colin were delightful hosts who took the trouble to advise on how best to use our limited time in St. Lucia Estuary. They prepared a takeawy breakfast on a morning we went on a game drive. They provided complimentary soft drinks which were appreciated after a day exploring the area.
We have stayed in many Guesthouses in South Africa over the last twenty years and St. Lucia Wetlands is right up there with the best. We hope to return to this fascinating and magnificent part of South Africa.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwayJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

People visiting St Lucia shouldn't doubt were to stay .. This is the place to be: extremely friendly hosts, always ready and available to answer your questions and needs ... When visiting the Isimangalisu wetlands national Park, they even prepare you a cooler box, snorkeling gear, etc.. They really think of everything .. Besides, the rooms are very nice and clean, and breakfast has all you need.. Highly recommendable ...

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BartOlivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.4 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
166 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whalesong B&B
Whalesong B&B
#9 of 29 in St Lucia
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse

Property: St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
Address: 20 Kingfisher Street | Kwazulu-Natal, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the midst of an exceptional World Heritage Site, St Lucia Wetlands Guest House is the ideal destination for those travelers looking to find tranquility and comfort whilst exploring the magical beach, estuary, and game parks around us. Our guest experience begins with welcoming drinks and a comprehensive orientation of the area. Highlights amongst the many activities in St Lucia and the surrounding areas include a sunset boat cruise down the estuary, featuring an abundance of hippos, crocodiles, and bird life; a day-trip through South Africa's first World Heritage Site, a "Big Four" game park known as the iSimangaliso Wetland Park; and of course our beautiful beaches along the Indian Ocean in St Lucia and at the renowned Cape Vidal. At the house, our guests find a dedicated team committed to providing an excellent experience for each and every guest, all the while allowing them privacy and exclusive use of the house, its balconies and patios, lounge, pool and garden. We take pride in our full breakfast, served daily, with options for every visitor's tastes. Indeed, South African hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing