We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfekt place for a visit of iSimangaliso”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Böblingen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfekt place for a visit of iSimangaliso”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The location of St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse is quite nice for iSimangaliso. The gate to the nature reserve is about 15 mins away from the guesthouse. The CityCentre of St. Lucia is pretty close and can be reached by foot. At night you can see hippos in the streets. Pretty cool. The Hosts of Wetlands GH are very friendly and help whenever they can. The rooms a very good and pretty clean as well! We had a great stay there and a clean Car in the morning!!! ;-) Thanks a lot!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DocAlexM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinHolman, Manager at St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hello Alex, thank you for your review. It was our pleasure hosting you. We hope you are back to enjoying your German engineering on the autobahn and we look forward to drinking a glass or two of wine with you should you ever return. Warm Regards the Holman Clan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    57
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
116
224
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

All the amenities of a 5 star establishment plus the personal touch, the Holman family go out of their way to make sure that their guests are at home, and their every need is seen to. On New Year's Day most restaurants were closed, The Holman ' s made a dinner buffet that ensured their guests got to eat when everything was closed. The information to see the wetlands park was an excellent suggestion as the park is a jewel, we spent 3 days exploring the park, thank you Holman family for your excellent service and fantastic breakfasts and New Year's Day dinner. We will be sure to recommend your bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinHolman, Manager at St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Rob and Brody, thank you for your review. It was great having you both and seeing you again. The success of the New Year's Day dinner must be shared with your culinary insights. The cold beers and the brandy will always be on ice should you want to come this way again. Wishing you all the best with your new endeavours for 2014 The Holman Clan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

what a beautyful stylish house.
kind welcome with a drink.
we had a wunderful big charming clean room with balcon and the swimming pool in front of us.
The place is in walking distance to the restaurant.
fine breakfast on the balcony was great.
the only negative thing: we got told on long discussion that we have to see the wetland park but we had our own plans. It seem that he couldn't understand us!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gregor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at St Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse. This is with no doubt the best option for a stay in St Lucia. Colin and his parents are really fantastic and very helpful hosts! Delicious breakfast, clean & spacious rooms, beautiful house and a very quiet neighborhood.
We think St Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse offers 5-star service with the carwash, welcome drink, laundry service and last but not least the fantastic picknick-box.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinHolman, Manager at St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Julle inset beteken baie vir ons, waarder, dankie. The festive season is in full swing here in St Lucia. Our normally quiet town is a buzz with tourists from all over South Africa and the rest of the world. The hot days and warm nights have made the pool and the beach a welcomed stop. In the last 10 days our guests had 6 leopard sightings on the road to Cape Vidal. Wishing you, Lukas and your families a happy new year. Warm regards the Holman Clan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had a wonderful few days here with faultless accommodation. The hosts couldn't do enough for us and gave us so much detailed information about the area. Reading all the other reviews will give an accurate idea as to how good this place really is.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandcns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The two nights spent at St. Lucia Wetlands were a true delight. The hosts greeted us warmly with a drink, then showed us to our rooms. Nothing prepared me for the elegance of this B & B. The grounds are immaculate and lovely; the lodge itself is beyond anything I expected. My room was wonderful with two double beds which were very comfortable, wardrobe, and a gorgeous, luxurious bathroom with shower. Breakfast was a wonderful display of food with delicious coffee. It could be eaten out on the balcony or in the dining room. In the lobby was a very comfortable lounge in front of a warm fireplace. Brochures of area locales to visit were there, as well as books on the flora and fauna of the St. Lucia Wetlands area. Laundry service is provided. I would more than highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birder57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We spend the last two nights of a five week trip to South Africa at St Lucia -- the perfect end to a great trip The management had been very helpful in planning and were helpful with more suggestions when we got there. Having our car cleaned after having been bogged on a muddy dirt road was a wonderful touch.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.4 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whalesong B&B
Whalesong B&B
#7 of 29 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse

Property: St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
Address: 20 Kingfisher Street | Kwazulu-Natal, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the midst of an exceptional World Heritage Site, St Lucia Wetlands Guest House is the ideal destination for those travelers looking to find tranquility and comfort whilst exploring the magical beach, estuary, and game parks around us. Our guest experience begins with welcoming drinks and a comprehensive orientation of the area. Highlights amongst the many activities in St Lucia and the surrounding areas include a sunset boat cruise down the estuary, featuring an abundance of hippos, crocodiles, and bird life; a day-trip through South Africa's first World Heritage Site, a "Big Four" game park known as the iSimangaliso Wetland Park; and of course our beautiful beaches along the Indian Ocean in St Lucia and at the renowned Cape Vidal. At the house, our guests find a dedicated team committed to providing an excellent experience for each and every guest, all the while allowing them privacy and exclusive use of the house, its balconies and patios, lounge, pool and garden. We take pride in our full breakfast, served daily, with options for every visitor's tastes. Indeed, South African hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing