We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in St Lucia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Luxury in St Lucia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

So much attention to detail has made Wetlands such a wonderful place to stay. First impression is its setting, in a lovely quiet tree lined street. The guest house is surrounded by a most beautiful garden planted with exotic plants, lovingly tended by Hettie. Immediately Colin is at hand to help with the luggage, serve a welcome drink and explain the amenities. Every room is full of character from the 4 poster bed in the bedroom, the spacious shared lounge and the remarkable upstairs veranda for breakfast. There is so much to do locally. Colin's suggested itinerary of a day exploring the extensive game park, walking the local forest trails and taking a boat ride on the estuary for close encounters with hippo and crocodiles makes for an unforgettable experience. A minimum of three days is necessary to take it all in. Even the hired car was pampered daily with a good hose down by the gardener. Come the evening there is a fine selection of fruit, sweets and sherry to follow a meal out at a local quality restaurant. It is difficult to think of anything else the family could do to enhance the comfort and interest of the stay.

Room Tip: The front room adjoining the lounge overlooking the garden was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizziesbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    57
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
114
218
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fochville, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Thanks to the people of St Lucia Guesthouse for the pleasant time we had staying with them. Very clean and need. Fantastic breakfast. The owner and his wife are just waiting to see if their guest need anything. So friendly , feels like home. I was so surprice when we find the lady of the house waits up for all her guest to be safely in their rooms before she goes to bed. One word - SUPER.

Room Tip: The rooms that goes out on to the swimmingpool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inasnyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and really loved it. It's in a great location, our room was brilliant - big and felt quite luxurious! - the owners were so lovely (they couldn't do enough for us and really made our honeymoon very special) and it's in a great location. It was quiet, but close enough to walk into the main street to go and eat dinner (probably a 10 minute walk). There is a driveway to park on too. It felt very safe and the room itself is very well kitted out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hettie H, Manager at St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hi Katie, thank you very much for your review. It was our pleasure to host you and Rich on your honeymoon and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay here in South Africa. We look forward to doing it again on one of your many anniversaries in the future. Regards Colin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I could go on and on about this property. What's not to love? The home is warm, spacious, tastefully decorated and set in lush tropical gardens that are the pride and joy of the proprietress. The rooms are thoughtfully appointed and in immaculate condition, including well-provisioned and spotless en suites. The owners are thoughtful and welcoming far beyond the service levels of comparably priced properties without a hint of insincerity or fawning. We could have stayed a week. Or two. We would go back in a heartbeat. The family suite was perfect for us (two couples , one gay, one straight, all in our late 50's/early 60's). If anything, we felt the rooms were under priced (perhaps that's just SA, but, really... what a deal this spot was from every perspective). We were caught in a torrential rain and brought dinner in -- our hosts set out plates and silver in the dining room -- we felt perfectly at home. Sherry and chocolates in the living room later that evening. Breakfast on the terrace? Again, perfection. Given that the wetlands are perhaps SA's most well kept secret, this very well might be the perfect destination.

Room Tip: We had the family suite downstairs -- felt like we were alone in the building. It really is two sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hettie H, Manager at St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hello Mark, thank you very much for the kind words you used in describing your stay here at St Lucia Wetlands Guest House. You have layed down a gauntlet, a challenge we will endever to maintain. On your next escape from SF to our shores we hope your sejour here is a bit longer. Regards Colin and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This has to be one the best guesthouses that we've stayed at in South Africa. My parents, husband and I spent 2 wonderful nights here and were greeted with a very warm welcome and a drink. We booked the family unit which consisted of 2 double bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a lovely patio overlooking the pool. Both the bedrooms and bathrooms were well decorated and very comfortable. The 2 bedrooms are separated by a little corridor which affords you enough privacy between the rooms. We thoroughly enjoyed the buffet breakfast, which has lots of good choices. Our hosts offered us an informative description of the area and the activities on offer, which we found to be very helpful. Our dirty car was also washed on both mornings of our stay. I would rate this guesthouse very highly and recommend it for a comfortable stay in St Lucia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKTTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hettie H, Manager at St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hi Shalene, thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure hosting your family while South Africa dominated in the cricket. Unfortunately your departure ended our winning run which I am sure made your Colin and my Nat very happy. Regards Colin and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antakya, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

St. Lucia wetlands guesthouse is very easily on top of my favorite places to stay. A charming guesthouse, with beautiful decor that blends old world charm, modern comforts, antique furntiure and beautiful african art. The guest house owners are charming hosts - they regale you with the history of St. Lucia, guide you on things to do, even make arrangements for your trips to the Park and safaris - and should you desire privacy disappear quietly. The guest house is also close to the Parks, the beach and the wetlands. Definitely the place to stay if you are St Lucia bound.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chantoearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here in June. A beautiful, peaceful house. Owners very friendly and helpful and, as everyone else mentions, the breakfasts on the deck are excellent.
St. Lucia is also a great little town, convenient for Cape Vidal and Hluhluwe Umfolozi Game Reserve, and you can see Hippo's just by walking down near the beach.
Like to go back with my family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanAdrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.4 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whalesong B&B
Whalesong B&B
#7 of 29 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse

Property: St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
Address: 20 Kingfisher Street | Kwazulu-Natal, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the midst of an exceptional World Heritage Site, St Lucia Wetlands Guest House is the ideal destination for those travelers looking to find tranquility and comfort whilst exploring the magical beach, estuary, and game parks around us. Our guest experience begins with welcoming drinks and a comprehensive orientation of the area. Highlights amongst the many activities in St Lucia and the surrounding areas include a sunset boat cruise down the estuary, featuring an abundance of hippos, crocodiles, and bird life; a day-trip through South Africa's first World Heritage Site, a "Big Four" game park known as the iSimangaliso Wetland Park; and of course our beautiful beaches along the Indian Ocean in St Lucia and at the renowned Cape Vidal. At the house, our guests find a dedicated team committed to providing an excellent experience for each and every guest, all the while allowing them privacy and exclusive use of the house, its balconies and patios, lounge, pool and garden. We take pride in our full breakfast, served daily, with options for every visitor's tastes. Indeed, South African hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing