We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, pool on the small side”
Review of Hippo Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Lucia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hippo Hideaway
Reviewed January 21, 2010

I chose this accomodation on just two reviews (plus other good reviews on different site) and on the photos on their website. The rooms were a great size (we had a normal room and a family room), the kitchen was fully equipped, the bathroom had nice gels etc. all you need to take is a hairdrier. The only thing I was disappointed with were the photos of the place, makes it look as though there is a massive lawn and a huge pool which there is n't although the brai area is very large. Reception off at 5 pm. No wifi. Could have had better guidance with excursions. In rooms 2 and 3 the daylight streamed in at 5 am due to thin white curtain. Staff pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANEEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 138 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2009

We spent 4 nights here while exploring the region. The rooms were clean, spacious, and well looked-after as were the public areas. The staff were pleasant and we had a very relaxing few days here.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJF212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

What a great place - right in the middle of St. Lucia, these self contained rooms have all the facilities required for a relaxing stay.

The pool area is lovely as is the the rows of tables to enjoy dinner on after a braai or just chill out with a drink as the sun sets.

There appears to be a range of accomodation options, but the standard rooms with bathroom and kitchen were more than adequate enough. Supermarket across the street for everything you need to rustle up a meal.

Thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londonmammal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 368ursulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nummer 1 is erg gehorig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank Erica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bdh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.4 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
#16 of 31 in St Lucia
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 31 in St Lucia
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 31 in St Lucia
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake St Lucia Villas
Lake St Lucia Villas
#25 of 31 in St Lucia
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hideaway

Address: 70 McKenzie Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Specialty Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range: $90 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Hideaway 4*
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing