We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable”
Review of Hippo Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Lucia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hippo Hideaway
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I've been to Hippo Hideaway a couple of times. It was comfortable and clean, our children loved the area to roam. It was private, yet on the main road accessing amenities easily. I went with my parents and two small children during the slow/rainy season, but it was serene and pleasant. I'm dreaming of going back to Saint Lucia!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carlimitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 138 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

Was abit put off by some for the reviews so was very pleasantly surprised to find the high quality of the rooms. Everything you need to self cater is there and very comfortable. Nice pool and braai area, was very quiet which suited us but guess it could be abit noisy if full of families. Straight across the road are shops and restaurants so nice not to have to drive everywhere. Would recommend

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed at Hippo Hideaway from 25 - 27 August. The rooms are very nice and had everything we required. Our toilet was blocked the night we arrived and we were unable to get hold of anyone through phoning both emergency numbers supplied. The problem was sorted out the following morning though but still very inconvenient as we were unable to make use of the bathroom. We did not see any hippos come up to the grass area during our stay and was great to see security active all around the night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ewald v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrisjoo, Owner at Hippo Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

On behalf of Hippo Hideaway, I must apologise for the problem you experienced with the toilet, as well as the non answering of the emergency numbers. We are trying to track your details but are unsure as to which surname you were booked in under in order for us to offer restitution for a bad nights stay.
Kind regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Clean, comfortable and centrally located on the main street in St Lucia. Four of us were happily settled for four nights and did wonderful trips to Cape Vidal and Imfolozi game parks seeing exciting game. There is a lovely swimming pool, hammocks all around and braai areas outside.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank capetownfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights away with 3 friends. The unit was a self catering, 4 sleeper. There were 2 rooms one with a double bed and the other had 2 single beds. There was one bathroom with a shower and bath. The unit was clean and compact and kitchen had all the utensils required. A daily maid service was also available. These complex is situated on the main road and has ample parking. There are many restaurants within walking distance. We had a wonderful time in the area and this was the perfect base to explore the surroundings.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank dbnsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Lovely stay at this comfortable self catering establishment. We stayed in a comfortable air conditioned 2 bedroom chalet that was clean, neat and tidy and was also equipped with everything we needed.

Beautifully maintained gardens and grounds and the lodge is located within walking distance of restuarants, supermarkets etc. Just the Eskom load shedding that dampened a nearly perfect weekend.

Great place to stay and explore St Lucia.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Ashina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent three nights in saint. lucia. The apartments are well furnished, clean, and we found there everything we needed. The apartments are situated in the main street, only a short walk from all restaurants and shops, just in front of a good supermarket. There is a nice pool with a beautiful view and a play area for children. We stayed in a estuary facing apartment that has a nice garden with a barbecue. The first night we had a family of hippos in our garden!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miliroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.4 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
#17 of 31 in St Lucia
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 31 in St Lucia
466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 31 in St Lucia
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hideaway

Address: 70 McKenzie Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Specialty Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range: $57 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Hideaway 4*
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing