We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Allowing smokers to smoke in public dining and swimming pool areas as well outside rooms spoilt it for us”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hippo Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hippo Hideaway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Allowing smokers to smoke in public dining and swimming pool areas as well outside rooms spoilt it for us”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Hippo Hideaway was great, we had already planned our next trip but have canned that as we now believe that smoking was encouraged with ashtrays in tables outside the rooms. With smokers showing no consideration for others including children in the communal dining area and swimming pool area. We could not even sit outside our rooms nor leave doors open as smoke from our neighbors would waft into our room. (They ignored our requests to smoke elsewhere)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KojacB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    46
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
54
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BANGALORE
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We travelled to Saint Lucia and stayed in Hippo Hideaway for 3 nights. We were 2 families, though given two rooms far apart, enjoyed our stay thoroughly. Nice location, decent amenities (the lovely hammocks stands out though), good and comfortable for family stay. Spar is just opposite side of the road added benefits as we can pick up necessary groceries as and when we need it. One night 2 Hippos came grazing which boosted our excitement multifold. I found the pool is little smaller in size in comparison to number of rooms and guests. Overall our stay was very pleasant and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGuru_Arun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My Hubby and I weere lucky to confirm 2 nights at the Hippo Hideaway a few wks back.

We were pleasantly surprised that for the quoted price per night we were greated and treated with soo much care and respect.

Cottage 1 is perfect for couples who would like to enjoy quite quality time. It does not open into to the wonderfully constructed central recreation area.

THe romm amenitites are of quality and apt for self-catering requirements. YES, contrary to previous reviews. The air conditioner was 100% functional and QUITE.

The kitchen was fully stocked. Bathroom clean and presentable. Shampoo, Body Wash Lotion a honey / olive blend that had pleasant fragrance to it as well.

The linen and styling had na ethic touch to it that I loved. African Elegance I would say.

The Lodge is centrally located and yet quite!. Spar across the road which is also the main road.

We did not have any problems, but my only gripe was that the car park was not secured by gate.

Would I recommend the place? OF COURSE!!

Will we be back? YES!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ_Uma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My parents and my husband and I stayed here for three nights. The first night we arrived around 8:30 PM. I had called earlier in the day to let them know our arrival time and was assured that the security guard would have our key. Instead, he had no idea we were supposed to check in and we had to stand outside waiting for 10-15 min while he called the manager Elaine. She put us in room 3 which was a 2 bedroom "chalet". The sink in the bathroom leaked all over the floor whenever we used it and the AC outside my bedroom window kept going on and off very loudly all night and waking us up. Apparently the corner units have the ACs for the entire row of rooms right outside the windows. The following morning after complaining about the water all over our bathroom and the AC, we were switched to room 18, another 2 bedroom "chalet". This one was disgusting. The shower would not drain and the water collected up to your ankles or higher. Elaine sent in a maintenance person to plunge it and there was sewage all inside the shower- clearly the shower had not been properly maintained. Even after the plunging though the shower did not drain well and there were maintenance and housekeeping staff in and out of our room all afternoon. We finally just told them to go and we dealt with it for our last night there even though it smelled like sewage in our bathroom. I elected not to shower our last day just to avoid having to use the disgusting shower. In addition, our TV did not work and the kitchen was infested with ants- we couldn't even leave food out for 5 minutes without ants being all over it. This place should NOT be rated four stars- at most it would be 2.5 stars compared to any of the other places we stayed on our trip. To top it all off, my father (visiting from the United States) complained to Elaine and got very poor treatment. She blamed the housekeeping staff rather than taking responsibility and also made comments such as "people don't usually complain about the AC", focusing on the minor things we had reported rather than the fact that we couldn't even shower in our unit. We asked to talk with the owners and she said that they live in Durban and "have full time jobs as accountants so they were probably busy in meetings", implying that our complaints were irrelevant. After insisting, she finally called the owners and agreed to refund us for one half of one of our nights there. However, even when she informed us of this she continued to blame her housekeeping staff for the problems and implied that we had overreacted. Don't waste your time or money on this place. It's not well maintained and the service is horrible.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RushinaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

My family and I spent 3 nights in 2 self catering "chalets". I would simply call them "rooms" as they are not independant units like "chalets" are meant to be and I was a tad disappointed when I got there.
The enquiry/booking/checking in was a breeze. Candice & Fortunate, who I was emailing/speaking to over the phone, were very efficient with their correspondence. The rooms were clean, spacious, comfortable and equipped with all the essentials that one can think of. They were serviced very efficiently by friendly staff on a daily basis, which was a great plus point - one can always do without chores on holidays! The property is very well maintained and the location is very central; all shops, restaurants and amneties are just walking distance from here.
On the downside however, I can see how we wouldn't have enjoyed our stay as much had it been a busy time! The braai area is right in front of the rooms at either ends of our row of accommodation, so we were literally braaing in front of someone else's room. Also, during our stay, we had the pool to ourselves, but I can imagine how crowded it could have got. Another thing is that there is only one airconditioning unit for the entire area and it is in the open plan kitchen/lounge area. It does keep the bedrooms cool, however, on doing this, the kitchen/lounge area gets very cold, so you can't have someone comfortably sleeping the bedrooms and simultaneously have another guest enjoying dinner/tv without either one freezing or baking!
Oh, and we also were lucky enough to see 2 hippos grazing right outside our rooms on our 3rd night! It was thrilling to see them so close, munching away at the grass! I think they only come up to the estuary facing rooms were we stayed (we specifically asked for these rooms as suggested by reviewers on tripadvisor). By the way, these rooms face the estuary although you don't have views of the estuary as it is blocked by natural vegetation. And we didn't know about the pier that led to the river, so we missed out there!
Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Hippo Hideaway, but I wouldn't recommend it for people who prefer more privacy.

Room Tip: Choose the estuary facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0v1ngf33t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

A bunch of friends stayed in one of the self-catering units. The kitchen was very well supplied, and it's easy to buy groceries from the Spar across the street. Unit was neat and comfortable except we had an invasion of flies into our bathroom that was kind of gross (though they didn't bite). Easy parking. Owner was very kind and accommodating to requests. A good base from which to explore St Lucia. And we SAW A HIPPO in the backyard on the first night :)

Room Tip: We enjoyed the rooms farthest away from the main road. This is where the hippos come also!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jos9143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed in a 2/1 self-catering unit for 3 people. The location is smack-dab in the middle of St. Lucia so you can walk to the restaurants, Spar and ATM across the street, crafts market, and the boat ramp. It's not even too far to walk to the beach. Follow the signs to the bayou, then cross the boardwalk to the beach. It is about 3 km each way.

HH has the units arranged around a central courtyard with tables and hammocks. There is also a nice pool area with padded lounge chairs and umbrellas.

The front office has paperback books and DVDs for free use.

The hippos do come up in the back yard along the river at night, and you may see them some nights. The resort has security guards day and night, although it does not seem like a dangerous area or town.

Although the resort is on the river, you cannot see the river because of the vegetation along the banks.

The best part of the resort is the manager, Elaine. She is so helpful and friendly. When the power went out one day (in the whole town), she arranged for hot water for coffee for everyone in the courtyard. She also made sure we knew when the hippos were up so we could see them. She also made reservations for us for horse riding and the hippo boat tour, and she recommended local restaurants to try.

I highly recommend this resort and the town of St. Lucia.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTWmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.1 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lidiko Lodge
Lidiko Lodge
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AmaZulu Lodge
AmaZulu Lodge
#8 of 32 in St Lucia
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hideaway

Property: Hippo Hideaway
Address: 70 McKenzie Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Specialty Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Hideaway 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hippo Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing