We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome sea view!”
Review of Ingwenya Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ingwenya Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed at Imboniso with a couple of friends due to a last minute upgrade (we were supposed to stay at Hluhluwe) and it was a shame we were staying there for such little time (just two nights).
Barend was very nice and helpful as we faced some trouble with our turtle tour bookings but, in the end, it all worked fine and we had a great time. The turtle tour is a must!! Jeff, from Zululand was our guide and I couldn't be happier with all the info we've got and all that we've seen.
Imboniso is very spacious and well equipped - we only had trouble with the braai knives and the mattress...they could be a bit better.
It seems like Imboniso was not renovated, yet, like the other units, but who cares when you have that sea view? We just couldn't get enough of it.
Unfortunately, we didn't see any hippos by the pool at night but we've enjoyed it immensely in the mornings.
Nala, the labrador, was always around and made the experience unforgettable!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank de1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 146 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2011

I booked at this lodge directly via their website, altough there were no photo's available (which should sent off alarm-bells already). On the day we arrived we received some sms-messages with a description how to get to the house we booked. At arrival (we left 05:15 and arrived around 16:45) we were 'welcomed' by 2 annoying stray-dogs. Not by the owners, managers or staff.... When we came into the room we almost fainted as it was very hot inside, just 1 bedroom with airco and a living room (app. 1,5 by 3,5 metres). There was a sleepingcouch for our 2 boys (2 and 4 years old) in the living room, no airco, no light (only electricity wires in the ceiling), 1 small table with a microwave on it -so too small to eat on with 4 persons- and a very small plank with an electric stove which was 'the kitchen'.
I paid a deposit of R2250 for 5 nights for this so-called self-catering appartment, but we were so dissaiponted in what should be a nice stay in St. Lucia, that we contacted the owner and asked her if we could get an upgrade. In stead of showing some understanding the reaction of the owner was very blunt, blaming us for booking directly via internet! He could not arrange something for us, so we left and went to Monzi Country Cottage which was lovely! The room we got is a total rip-off: R4500 for 5 nights!! We are the most disgusted by the rude reaction of the owner.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amukelaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarendH, Owner at Ingwenya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2011

Be sure that when you book something online, it is exactly what you want. If you are not entirely sure send a booking request to the establishment where you ask for more detail.

Ingwenya Lodge offers a variety of accommodation solutions at an affordable rate.

Due to our extreme popularity, no other units was available as an alternative for the guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

This has been one of our best weekend getaways in a long time. From the moment we arrived, we realised that this was a safe place to be.... and we were not disappointed.

Our kids could play freely on the jungle gym and trampoline, without us having to be there to watch them. The swimming area was great for little people to make use of and to burn off excess energy. The view of the estuary and sea were breathtaking. Seeing hippos in the neighbours garden at night was a rare sighting for us, but completely normal for the residents. We were told by our hosts that the hippos often come into the gardens at night and have even come in winter to drink from the pools. This must be an awesome experience!!!!

The units are very well maintained, very clean and very comfortable with all the necessary appliances to make ones life easier. The air conditioning throughout was also very welcomed, especially on those hot muggy days.... I have to commend the staff at Inqwenya Lodge to be so super efficient at their duties and extremely friendly, yet completely unobtrusive.

The location of the lodge is awesome, right on the border to reserve and within walking distance to the estuary, where hippos and crocs laze in the sun. Trails with wildlife are also a 3-4 min walk from the resort.

Would I visit again... YES ... if the owners can handle my noisy kids again..... Would i recommend the resort... DEFINITELY YES!!!

Illse Wilson (Durban).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Illse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed at Ingwenya Lodge for a week, and found the location to be great - nice and centrally located between the beaches and the town center. It's at the end of a quiet street, and we had twice daily visits from the monkeys and saw bush babies every night.

The avocado trees were dropping ripe fruit daily - a delicious "extra" for us, but be careful - the marauding monkeys also drop half eaten green ones, which can cause damage to cars and people. We chose to park away from the trees.

Just a word of warning to parents with children: my daughter (6, and very used to big dogs - we have 3 boerboels) stroked one of the dogs on the property (looked like a black Labrador) and promptly got bitten on the arm. As with all dogs, do not let your kids play with strange dogs unattended - no matter who assures you that they are friendly!

On the whole, the unit was pleasant. We could not use our own DSTV card for the decoder (since it's a PVR-decoder), so could only watch very limited channels. Other guests can maybe chack the suitability of their DSTV cards before leaving home.

The kitchen was spacious and reasonably well-equipped, although I would have expected (as it is supplied) the dish cloth to not have holes in it, and would have appreciated a fresh one midway through the week.

The same can be said about the towels. Although they were fresh on arrival, the humid climate makes drying a very slow process, so they turned sour and smelly after the first to days. When I asked for fresh ones, the cleaning lady just shrugged and hung them over a make-shift string in the bathroom. I eventually hung them over the clothes horse, but this could only be set up in the lounge (the other rooms had limited space), as leaving them outside at the mercy of the naughty monkeys would have been looking for trouble. Maybe the cleaning ladies can place the towels in the sun for a while every day, maybe while they are cleaning the unit?

The kitchen sink tap had a leak (2 drops per second), which were also ignored by the staff, even though I mentioned it repeatedly and asked for someone to come have a look at it. The rate of water loss is about 64 liters per day - a massive waste in a water-scares country!

We suspected pilfering by some of the staff - we twice returned from outings and noticed that food (eggs, vegetables, packets of soup) had disappeared in our absence. This could not have been the work of the monkeys - the one day they DID get in, due to my own negligence, they made a MASSIVE mess and stole eggs, bread and fruit - anything and everything the could lay their hands on. Also, a note on the monkeys: they are pretty aggressive and will attack small children if provoked. They are not cute playthings - they are wild animals with sharp teeth!

The trampoline and jungle gym in the big garden was a lovely distraction. Maybe the owners can invest in some outdoor furniture - there is plenty of space to socialise and eat outside.

All in all the accommodation was pleasant enough - but it could be great if attention is paid to small details.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solospiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarendH, Owner at Ingwenya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2010

None of the issues were reported to management at the office.

Staff had to close windows and clean up unit (in the absence of guests) on more than one occasion as monkeys raided unit for food, including vegetables and eggs which makes up an important part of their diet.

Normal green towel policy are followed and are changed midway in a 7 day stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Ingwenya Lodge is one of the few properties in St. Lucia that has a see view, is situated outside of the actual town area where most other self catering acc can be found, so you really get that 'away from it all' feeling. The units face a lush bush, allowing for bird viewing right from your deck.
The unit was serviced daily, so at the end of each day we could return to a clean, neat and tidy home.
The owner goes out of his way to offer suggestions of places to visit and things to see, is incredibly knowledgeable about St. Lucia and the iSimangaliso Wetland Park and is keen to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, without being intrusive.
The unit is well equipped - microwave, two plate stove, fridge with freezer, TV, DSTV, braai on the deck - and even 'extras' that are frequently not found at self catering places - like towels, wine glasses, full braai set, clothes horse.
The Lodge is within easy walking distance of the town, and scenic forest walks. The pleasant walk to the beach is along tree lined streets through the quiet resedential area, with monkeys meeting you along the way, and along a forest lined street with birds aplenty!
I would recommend this lodge to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ctene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

I really recommend Ingwenya Lodge if you plan to visit St. Lucia. The place is just wonderful - beautiful view, nice garden with a pool, comfortable rooms with big kitchens. There are plenty of birds and every morning I saw a kingfisher siting on the branch just opposite my window.
The hosts are very friendly and you really feel like visiting old friends, when you are there.
The house is situated in a very peaceful area, at the end of the road, so you can hear only birds and frogs there. However, you are still close to the city centre - only 10 minutes walk to the main street of St.Lucia.
We spent there 3 days and I wish to be back to this place again.
Dorota Kardasz
Warsaw, Poland

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OmalangaDoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Ingwenya lodge was breathtakingly beautiful and peaceful. We will definitely come again and will also recommend Ingwenya lodge to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkremnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.1 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 31 in St Lucia
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Eden St Lucia
Little Eden St Lucia
#7 of 31 in St Lucia
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. Lucia Safari Lodge
St. Lucia Safari Lodge
#16 of 31 in St Lucia
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingfisher Lodge
Kingfisher Lodge
#5 of 31 in St Lucia
191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maputaland Guest House
Maputaland Guest House
#19 of 31 in St Lucia
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ingwenya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingwenya Lodge

Address: 163 Hornbill Str, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Specialty Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range: $59 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ingwenya Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge's name "Ingwenya" derives from the Zulu word for crocodile. It was quite logical to choose a name for our lodge indigenous to Zululand, in this first world heritage site of South Africa. Ingwenya Lodge is situated on the "outskirts" of the residential area of St Lucia, nestled in the heart of the iSimangaliso Wetland Park. The property borders the nature reserve with a view of both the sea and the estuary, a very unique privilege in St Lucia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ingwenya Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing