We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but great stay”
Review of AmaZulu Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AmaZulu Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Short but great stay”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My stay at amaZulu was short, only two nights, but this guesthouse is very well manage by a fantastic woman who take care of you, who come to see you and discuss about a lot of things, I was alone but I always felt like home... It's also very clean, and you sleep very well, this is a very quiet area at the end of the main road.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Okins2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    69
    39
    6
    6
See reviews for
41
100
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Perfect for a few nights stay.
Rooms clean and comfortable.
There were issues with other guests Air con. Does seem to be a problem in some rooms.
Breakfast was OK but hot plate didnt keep the hot food hot.
Great restaurants around to eat in.
Watch out for roaming Hippo's in the street at night. "Take a torch".
Happily go back here again.

Room Tip: I was in room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubadiving247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I am not putting the Amazulu lodge in a bad light but the beauty salon gave us a very bad experience of unprofessional people trying to make a good buck out of hard working holiday makers.
a joke of a massage done by persons who were not qualified, a very bad experience

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocoholic32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

After a hectic few days travelling around Durban and the South coast meeting friends and family for the first part of our holiday, we had arranged via booking.com to stay at Amazulu Lodge in St Lucia, Kwa-Zulu Natal and in the Greater St Lucia Wetland Heritage park, called now iSimangaliso Wetland Park.

Before arriving I had emailed and Dianne, had also given me information literally within 5 minutes of my request about a possible trip I had been thinking of booking before we went to the Huwlwe Park since we only had three full days and four nights…in the event too little time, too much to do!

The journey from Durban along the North Coast was easy driving on the toll road and quite relaxing on a sunny Tuesday afternoon and we found the lodge in Mackensize Street The man and first street you come across after cross the only bridge very easily.

On arrival, we were warmly welcomed by Robyn on reception, who whilst we checked-in informed us of the Riverboat Hippo and Croc cruise and that we could make the 4 pm cruise. Only a 150 yard walk from the Hotel to the Jetty! This turned out to be great advice and along with the rest of the tourists we cruised the river seeing many of the Hippo and other animals on the edge of the riverbank with a relaxed and authorities guide….a few of his more witty and interesting observations about the lifestyle of the hippos we have repeated to everyone we meet.
The Lodge itself was lovely and had lovely African feel with the rooms being spacious and large bath to relax in. Our room was close to the large open breakfast area built in the shape of a Rondaal. A lot of thought has gone into the whole authentic, but modern look of the lodge. The breakfast and staff were very friendly and helpful and most importantly were cheerful without being overly intrusive, even such that the gardener doing his daily work would avoid being anywhere near you if you were about to drift off overlooking the pool!
Each evening , again after Robyns advice, we drove over to the Deep Sea fishing Club to have Sundowner after a short 6 minute drive (we had tried to walk it and then realised on first day it was a lot further than we were expecting). Having sundowners outside the club, which overlooked the estuary meant we could watch the sunset and listened and occasionally see hippos out in the river….very African and enjoyable…

Every restaurant in St Lucia we went to was good value and the with the Rand at a low point against the pound (approx.. 17 SA Rand/£) compared to the rate of last year of 12, we found we treated ourselves and never needed to skimp!

Meals includes starter for two great main courses, beer and bottle of wine, finished off (as it became a habit ) with Irish coffee and Dom Pedros (icecream and alcohol!) , all of which came to more often than not less than £30. One night we splashed out and it came with tip nearer to £40..wow for two!

For the shopper, there are quite a few shops and we found one good African shop near the Sand and Dune restaurant, who were helpful and negotiated, albeit they successfully up-sold me to the more expensive book on Zulu culture

St Lucia was a lovely place and you could walk to the restaurants from the lodge, it took 5 or 7 minutes to walk the main area from the Lodge. You could also walk back, but beware late at night for wandering Hippos! We never saw any, but suspect they wouldn’t be around until very late at night, luckily for us. The rule of thumb is “Give way to Hippos and avoid”!

Regrets, well for the Lodge I wished the internet which was available easily in the nice reception, extended to our room. However, we have emailed this and I’m sure this is easily rectifiable with a booster of some sort (although there are also at least two internet cafes we saw, but didn’t need).

As for St Lucia, we will definitely be going back trying to spend a bit more time, since whilst we crammed a lot in with a snorkelling visit to Cape Vidal and the Wetland park where we saw zebra, antelope, plenty of monkeys and buck, but no big game on our one journey through.
Dianne put me in touch with the horse safari trip and I did a beach hack, which went around lake looking for crocs (they move away from the horses I’m told!), with coincidentally Dianne’s son, who was a great lad full of interesting stories.

My only regret, is that I did this on the last day, and after speak to Dee, I would have loved to go on the longer horse safari amongst the game…. Definitely going back to SA next year and St Lucia is high on the return list, although we will spend more time there at Amazulu and next time aim to get to the big 5 park ( Wetland doesn’t have all big 5, more a Big 4!) at Hluhluwe).

Room Tip: We picked a room overlooking the swimming pool, which was a great place to sit and relax at the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed at Amazulu Lodge for 2 days and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful.The pool area is a great place in which to relax.The lodge is very conveniently situated ,with a short walk into St Lucia to restaurants and Shops,and also the embarkation landing for the tours of the estuary.
It seems to us this is a perfect place to stay for a day or a week if your looking for a place to relax and chill out.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious and Rondaval style with an very African feel.The pillows were a little hard w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m02wadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed there for three days. Everyone was really friendly, giving us good advide on where to go and what to do in st. Lucia. Everything was perfect. Just make sure you check in before 6pm as there is no one at the reception afterwards.
I

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arbel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We did a ZA-roundtript and this hotel was a great place to relax for one or two days between all this traveling. We hat a nice and clean room next to the pool (we came here in winter, so we could not try it). The breakfast was great. The wifi only worked at the main room and the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.2 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lidiko Lodge
Lidiko Lodge
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Kingfisher Lodge
Kingfisher Lodge
#5 of 32 in St Lucia
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmaZulu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmaZulu Lodge

Property: AmaZulu Lodge
Address: 107 Mc Kenzie Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Specialty Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AmaZulu Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your AmaZulu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing