We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reconsider booking at Maputaland!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maputaland Guest House
Ranked #19 of 31 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 18, 2013

As we looked forward to a holiday in St Lucia where we have never been, we were so disappointed in the accommodation at Maputaland. It barely complies to the standard of a two star Bed and Breakfast. As the comment below, I cannot fault the owners but overall it was NOT a pleasant experience and we left earlier than expected.

The towels and linens were worn out. Only our beds were made up and no attention was given to provide us with new towels or to clean the bathroom at all. As they advertise braai facilities we brought meat but to our discomfort we had to share it with their fridge as there was no fridge in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanrumarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 63 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have visited many guest houses in South Africa and consider we can give a reasonable objective judgement on where we have stayed. The only thing about this place that was 4 star were the owners who could not be faulted for their help advice and hospitality.
We assume the rating was done when the guest house first opened as everything in the place was very tired. The beds were very poor and uncomfortable, the furniture was bought in a discount warehouse many years ago. The bathroom was very dated with a shower that must have come out of the ark!
Bed linen and towels was life expired. Cleanliness was not what we would expect from this level of accomodation. Overall some serious money needs to be spent on this place or the rating dropped to reflect the current poor state of the place.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank strawberrypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Maputaland B&B is a fantastic place to stay when in St Lucia. Although we did not have a booking, we were lucky and they had a room for us - we stayed there for 3 nights.
We got a buffalo room that is really nice and cozy, you can feel the personal touch in the smallest things. The bathroom was large (with a bath) and the small pool area was just perfect in a hot day. The breakfast was plenty and very delicious. The B&B itself is situated in the quieter backstreets of St Lucia so the surroundings are really nice. But as St Lucia is a small town, everything is still close by.
The hosts Gisela and Peter really made us welcome. They gave us very good tips about the area, booked some tours for us (you should definitely go whalewhatching and take the hippo-tour), offered us equipment we might need (coolbox, snorkelling equipment etc) and were just great people to talk to. All that made leaving very difficult, 3 nights was just not enough.
So when you plan to go to St Lucia, I would definitely reccommend Maputaland B&B. I know I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Gisela and Peter went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. They made bookings for us and gave us very useful tips which helped us plan our short stay so that we got the most out of it. They were both super nice to our three young boys aged 8,6,5...Our eldest was up and ready for action at 5.30 am the first morning! Together with his second brother and partner in crime, he had a shower, dressed and left his room shortly before six. We heard them having a chat with Peter who was having his morning coffee before we called them back in! Because of the non availability of adjoining rooms, I would say the guesthouse suits guests with older children and couples, however we did keep our youngest with us in our room and there was more than enough space for all of us. Peter and Gisela were very patient and interested in the children even though they did not have to - engaging them in conversations and patiently listening to the multitude of questions and answering them. The breakfasts were also very good with the hot breakfast option and good coffee. Ample parking is available right outside the guesthouse and it is walking distance to the main drag where there are plenty of restaurants. The service in the guesthouse is nothing other than attentive and personal. One of our boys left a pair of sandals in the garden. We were hardly half a day gone before Gisela had gone to the trouble of putting them in the post for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, I wouldn't necessarily agree with the advertised 'luxury' status of the rooms - they are however, spacious and comfortable, and one gets a cafetiere with ground coffee to use at will. Soundproofing could be better, as I listened to guests next door happily snoring! Hosts were very willing to help with an extra blanket (St Lucia happened to be quite cold overnight at the time) and a jump-start for my car, and made minimal fuss whilst being welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Nice rooms, good food, very friendly owners. Loved it! They were very helpful in giving us info on the area and let us stay until 1:00pm the next day so we could shower before our flight back to the US.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mdmoore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in the Buffalo room snd found the decor a bit 'tired' but we had been very spoilt by some of the other accommodation that we had stayed in over the two weeks. We spent 2 nights here to relax and chill out after a very busy 2 weeks away. It was in a great location and the beaches were beautiful. Gisela was a great host and couldn't have been more helpful with advice on what to do and where to go, she even booked us on the hippo and croc boat trip and lent us a cool bag, freezer blocks, beach towels and snorkels for our trip to Cape Vidal!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greb005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.4 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Lucia Guesthouse
Santa Lucia Guesthouse
#6 of 31 in St Lucia
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Igwalagwala Guest House
Igwalagwala Guest House
#10 of 31 in St Lucia
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
Marlin Lodge St Lucia
#16 of 31 in St Lucia
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalone Guest House
Avalone Guest House
#9 of 31 in St Lucia
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkers Cottages
Parkers Cottages
#14 of 31 in St Lucia
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maputaland Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maputaland Guest House

Address: 1 Kabeljou Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range: $74 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maputaland Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maputaland Guest House has 6 individually decorated, air-conditioned rooms with en-suite bathrooms, all with direct access to the swimming pool which is set in our tropical and tranquil garden, perfect to relax and unwind. Open your bedroom door onto the veranda to sit and enjoy the view of our tropical garden which surrounds all the rooms. 2 rooms serve as family units that are perfect for small families. Have a nice refreshing splash in the pool after a long day in the sun or laze around the pool and relax while you are entertained by bird songs. The garden is a bird lover's paradise, and over 500 species have been identified in the St Lucia and Elephant Coast area. Maputaland Guest House has become world-renowned for the warm hospitality of its German, English & Afrikaans speaking hosts, Gisela, Jörg and Penny Orban. With a great knowledge of the area and surroundings, we can help you plan your stay with us and the rest of your journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Maputaland Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing