We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveler rating
298
55
11
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
55
11
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern architecture guest house large pool guest rooms stayed for nights the reserve ocean basket yogurt every morning excellent breakfast warm hospitality wetland park perfect place to stay nice garden spacious room beautiful place red duiker
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 366 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. From reading other reviews, we knew we were in for a great experience at the hotel, and it couldn't have been better. The friendliness of the staff is top notch. The lunch and pool and room were great. I look forward to coming back sometime in the near future and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank K5743SFwilliamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieSerene, General Manager at Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

We are so glad to hear that we lived up to our reputation and that you had a great stay. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2018

Our family (2 adults + 2 teenagers) stayed for 2 nights in the green and yellow rooms and it was a lovely experience. From the early stage of booking through to our departure, the process was smooth and efficient. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, including a variety of fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast, croissants, cheese, charcuterie and eggs made to order. The manager Debbie was extremely helpful with everything from tourist activities, dining recommendations, laundry, etc. She even changed the bedding to accommodate our kids sharing the bed. The pool and garden were excellent for such a small hotel. One minor suggestion would be for the dome lights on the terrace of each room to be switched off at night, so guests can see the animals in the garden better and also not make the rooms unnecessarily light for sleeping.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LondonHolidayhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieSerene, General Manager at Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

It was a great pleasure to host you and your lovely children. Thank you for the lovely positive review. We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay. We shall see what we can do about the terrace lights, thank you for that suggestion. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a few days and had a lovely time. I agree with the other reviews about the breakfast. Superbthe pool was very refreshing and clean. Beautiful place and recommend it to anyone. Warm and friendly hosts.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Mona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieSerene, General Manager at Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2017

Fantastic Guesthouse, modern and tasteful furnishing, big rooms, comfortable and modern bathroom, excellent breakfast, everything is very clean, nice and clean pool, owner gave us a lot of information about where to go and what to do

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank asterix_x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieSerene, Manager at Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2017

What an excellent review, thank you so much for your lovely words. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2017

We stayed at the Serene-Estate Guesthouse in St. Lucia for 2-nights in late Oct ($144). At the Serene-Estate, think modern Dutch minimalism and you can easily envision this boutique hotel, all sleek lines, cool whites, and elegant ambiance. Entry is into the top level which houses the common areas – reception, lounge with a book exchange, piano and stereo system, and the breakfast area fronted by a lawn with a railing overlooking the pool and the nature park beyond. The pool was a nice size, and they had constructed a small water hole in the park out front and left vegetables to attract wildlife (an electric fence kept them out of the pool) – we saw monkeys and small antelopes, although an occasional hippo is rumoured to come by).

All of the rooms faced the pool and park, 4 on the bottom level and the rest upstairs. Ours, among the former, was large, spacious and sleek. The L-shaped room had a broad arm by the door with a large glass-topped desk along the wall that housed the mini-fridge. The other arm housed the bedroom with its king bed, a couple of leather and metal seats, a glass-topped metal-framed table, a luggage rack and a cabinet that housed the safe. Windows spanned the entire front of the room, with a broad modern door leading to the full-width patio with a nice seating area and its views of the park and occasional wildlife. Inside the L, the bathroom was behind a 3/4 wall with access from both sides – very large and modern, with a long vanity and 2 sinks, a large bathtub, spacious shower and separate alcove for the toilet.

The rooms seemed to be named for the colours used to accent the otherwise minimalist decor. Our room's white walls and ceiling, black furnishings and strange asphalt-like rubberized flooring were accented in red – red doors, red duvet cover, a red light that shone up through the glass on the bedside tables.

Breakfast was excellent – cereals, yogurt, a selection of sliced fruit, cold cuts, cheese, a choice of eggs, coffee, tea and hot chocolate. The manager was helpful with planning daily activities (although, as a previous reviewer noted, she could be a bit forceful with her recommendations) and restaurant suggestions. There was parking, but it was not secure – the threat here was from hippos, not humans.

The guesthouse's location in the quiet outskirts of town was excellent – quiet, yet only 3 blocks to the main street and its restaurants and shops (a 5-min walk during the day, but a drive at night because of the danger of the hippos wandering the streets) and quite close to the 2 entrances to the iSimangaliso Wetland Park (note that the park is managed by a local authority, so your Sanparks Wild Card is not valid). And a note on St. Lucia – in planning our trip, we were expecting a sleepy little village nestled on a lagoon far from other civilization. In reality, it is a bustling tourist town with plenty of tacky stores and restaurants and an endless parade of the tour bus visitors who use them. Be prepared.

After staying a a string of colonial houses and mansions during our trip through Africa, The Serene-Estate Guesthouse was a surprisingly refreshing break with its sleek modernism. Not for everyone, but a very pleasant base for exploring St. Lucia and its surrounding wetlands.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ndser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieSerene, Manager at Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely, helpful and comprehensive review. I am sure that our prospective future guests will love reading this as it gives such a well written insight into our property and what we offer. Thank you again and it was a pleasure hosting you, come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews