We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 31 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The peaceful location is delightful. We stayed in the top room which is very large, stylish and well-equipped. The design, furnishings and art are impressive. The garden and pool area are lovely. In the morning several mongoose played in the parkland at the edge of the garden and even ventured into the garden while we were there. Monkeys and small deer appeared too.

The breakfast was impressive. It was presented very artistically, especially the fruit platter. Unfortunately we couldn't eat it all!

The hosts made a real effort to greet us and engage us in conversation. The manager was also helpful and organised a boat trip as well as offering other suggestions. The restaurants suggested were fine too.

We'd recommend Serene to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittySouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 331 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

The guesthouse is located off the main road and thus very quiet and peace ful. The location is good: it takes a few minutes by car and approx. 10 - 15 minutes by foot to get to the main street of St. Lucia. At night however beware of the hippos on the streets. They are large, dark and do not carry safety wests!
The guesthouse is a very well designed, modern building with a (for us) pleasing architecture in a almost minimalist style. The room (Garden room) was spacious; the bathroom just great and there was sufficient space in the wardrobes. Everything worked perfectly.
The garden and pool were very nice and (in the heat when we were there) appreciated.
The staff and owners were very service minded, polite, knowledgeable and a pleasure to talk to. We had some very stimulating conversations which gave us some more understanding of South Africa.
The breakfast alone is worth a stay: lots of fruit, very nicely prepared, something new every day. The meal was much healthier than the average "English breakfast" and gave us a great start for the day.
We enjoyed the stay very much. Had we known about the quality of the stay, we would have planned for at least two more days. Very much recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petrus_Broder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This modern guest house is really comfortable and peaceful. The rooms are very spacious and a lot of attention has been paid to all kind of details in surprising architecture (see photo, coloured windows are amazing!) and good facilities: bath tub and separate shower, big tv set, wifi, very good beds. This makes for a luxurious stay. Breakfast is delicious! Good advice on what to see and do in the area.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view (of garden, park and sea some further away), ask for the top room tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Friendly people, excellent food and 5 star accommodation. Unfortunately the wi-fi internet didn't connect but there was also a 2nd Wi-Fi available that I had to pay for online. There also was no bath plug. I must say I didn't complain at that stage but can be 100% sure they would have fix it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frans K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have visited the little village of St Lucia many times and have stayed in almost every accommodation but did not expect this level of luxury and surprising modernity. Wonderful avant garde architecture that is situated flush up against the bush that surprisingly does not clash but is a lovely contrast. Rooms are probably the most spacious I have encountered and very modern and minimalist but comfortable. Good, fast wireless is part of your stay. I suppose that folks expecting or preferring all-enveloping cushions-all-over comfort will not be too happy here but I loved the space and clean lines.
Breakfast was a treat on the upper deck with each table having a mini-buffet neatly set out. Scrumptious with beautifully prepared fruit and the usual alternatives, a great surprise was all the coffee shop options available from cappuccinos to espressos. Marvelous. I was just so surprised by this level of quality and service in St Lucia. A worthwhile addition to the long list of accommodations in the village. Great base to stay and enjoy the many and varied options available. Try it!

Room Tip: Try and get the Green Room. It is situated on the furthest end of the guest house and as they all op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Exceptionally furnished and large rooms in a beautiful location. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was "looking good", but not the typical SA buffet or hot meal with eggs not according to order on both days we stayed there.
Will definitely stay there again, although it probably is the most expensive of all B&B's in town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank WV_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Lovely place. Great architecture and nice to chill out in a lounge that felt like home. Excellent breakfast that keeps one going until tea time. Also the host called us over to see a hippo 20m behind the house :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.5 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#5 of 31 in St Lucia
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#4 of 31 in St Lucia
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Avalone Guest House
Avalone Guest House
#9 of 31 in St Lucia
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Igwalagwala Guest House
Igwalagwala Guest House
#10 of 31 in St Lucia
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse

Address: 119 Hornbill Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range: $145 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique design: poetic architecture, serene atmosphere, pure quality, maximum convenience challenges for an unforgettable visit The most exclusive newly build guesthouse in St. Lucia is totally different regarding architecture and exclusivity. Minimalistic with a warm atmosphere. Big luxury rooms (50m2 each), a fantastic view into the garden and Wetlands Park with all the birds and animals, the silence, a beautiful large swimming pool and warm Dutch hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing