We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“want a serene place to stay ? Serene Estate got all !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 29 St Lucia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“want a serene place to stay ? Serene Estate got all !!”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Contemporary design house with great comfort. Spacious rooms, lot of space. Olga and Hans, their friend Jacqueline are "aux petits soins" to make your stay as unforgettable as possible. Great breakfast. Large swimming pool, and the park. Deers, Vervet monkeys ... and hippos at night. St Lucia is an ideal base to explore the surroundings like Imfolozi (forget Hluhluwe, lack of wild animals, some talk about tuberculosis epidemic), Cape Vidal area and Mkuze Game Reserve.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philpetrus41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    46
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
222
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We were very much impressed by the architecture of the estate. Eveything is quiet new, the rooms are fabulous (others wouldn't hesitate to call it a suite), every room has it's own accent-colour. Bathroom is also very spacious and modern.
The breakfast is served at the table and it includes everything you can wish for (every day a nice fruity surprise). The pool is large, everything was spotless. Certainly worth it's price and a great place to stay when you discover the St Lucia-area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Thanks to Hans and Olga for the hospitality in the beautiful Serene Estate. Excellent breakfast and room. Cape Vidal, St Lucia and the hippos/crocodiles are certainly worth the visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

When we stayed beginning of 2011 in Serene-Estate Guesthouse we felt so comfortable and happy that we decided to come back in December for 2 weeks in order to explore intensively all the national parks of the St. Lucia area and mainly Isimangaliso Wetlands Park, known as former St. Lucia Wetlands that has been inscribed in 1999 on UNESCO World Heritage List.
Our hosts Olga and Hans were extremely concerned about their guests well being and their hospitality can definitely not be topped. The rooms are huge, bright and very stylish with a comfortable terrasse leading to the garden which is a small paradise with a superb pool.

The garden is definitely an oasis of peace and serenity where you can relax and forget grey and freezing Europe.
Each morning breakfast is being served by very professional and lovely personnel at the extended open-air lounge giving view on a beautiful pond with exotic flora ... what a fantastic way to begin again a new day.

The surroundings of St. Lucia have a lot to offer on Eco-Tourism: St. Lucia Nature Reserve, Isimangaliso Wetlands, Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve, Mkhuze Game Reserve and a lot more. As the locals use to say: Krueger Park they have the name but WE have the animals !

Apart from exploring the parks on our own with a rent-a-car, we did book a Turtle Tour, an Estuary Boat Trip to see the crocodiles and the hippos and a nightdrive with EuroZulu and Advantage tours company. We warmly recommend this experience to any visitor as this in an absolutely outstanding experience.

Last but not least to mention that during this stay we were so lucky to see the Big5 in Hluhluwe-Imfolozi Game Reserve, which we never experienced in the Krueger Park. During all our many trips to South Africa we never saw so many animals as this year in Kwazulu-Natal.

Thanks a lot to Olga and Hans as well as to their lovely staff to make our December holiday a success.
We will be back ... very soon !
Monique

Room Tip: All Rooms are nice !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monique_lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hluhluwe, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Our stay was absolutely fabulous, serene estate is undoubtedly the most exclusive and special experience St lucia has to offer, in way's of personal attention by the owners Hans and Olga, it's unique architecture, it's pleasant location, outstanding comfort and not to forget the generous breakfast with illy's coffee!. Serene estate is undoubtedly the place to stay in St lucia!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildebeesEcolodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Fourth time in St Lucia but only the first time at Serene Estate and why did we not find this place earlier. From the welcome till the goodbye wonderfull. After a warm welcome by Olga she get us to our room and he was hug and very clean and nice decorated in light colours like the whole house it was very im pressiveness. Olga give us a lot of good advice about the things to do and the area and was very helpful. The next morning my husband has birthday and Olga and the staff had putt some balloons and confetti on our breakfast table and the staff have sing for him that was very funny. The breakfast was excelent and at last fresh orangejuice. We stay here only for 2 nights but next time we stay longer for sure.
Thanx Olga and Hans again

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markgroeningen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

It was our 3rd stay in 3 years at Serene Estate and each time we are amazed by the beauty and the tranquility of this guest house. the rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The modern design used in the rooms and guesthouse is very unusual for South Africa but all the guests (incl. the south african guests) love it. Olga and Hans are fantastic hosts, always present when you need something, a booking for a trip or to borrow you a coolbox when you go the beach...After visiting 50 accomodations the last years in outh Africa, Serene Guest House has still the breakfast #1, unbeatable...
Only the staffs wearing a kind of uniform was a little too much for my taste :)

Room Tip: No special tip, all rooms are really great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ompile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.5 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
498 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
At Heritage House
At Heritage House
#8 of 29 in St Lucia
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#7 of 29 in St Lucia
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse

Property: Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse
Address: 119 Hornbill Street, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique design: poetic architecture, serene atmosphere, pure quality, maximum convenience challenges for an unforgettable visit The most exclusive newly build guesthouse in St. Lucia is totally different regarding architecture and exclusivity. Minimalistic with a warm atmosphere. Big luxury rooms (50m2 each), a fantastic view into the garden and Wetlands Park with all the birds and animals, the silence, a beautiful large swimming pool and warm Dutch hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Serene-estate Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing