We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelling East coast? Don't miss Kingfisher Lodge at St Lucia”
Review of Kingfisher Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingfisher Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Thank you, Michelle, for a lovely few days. We missed the two hippo having an argument on the lawn one night as we were blissfully asleep in our very comfortable room! The wild life at St Lucia is legendary and we loved your family of vervets who never failed to amuse. The garden's red duikers seemed to become less timid and the bird life is fantastic. Don't forget binoculars and a camera and come for as long as you can!

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank jbrownwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 180 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2011

We were scheduled for a 6 day photo safari farther north and decided we' d try for St. Lucia as a stop if we were successful navigating and driving on the opposite side of the road. When we pulled into the town, it had a great vibe and being a photographer I visited the photo store ran by Eugene on the left midway through town. (side note, it's very well stocked and he's a great resource should photo/electronics issues evolve). He made a few recommendations and we were fortunate to hit Kingfisher with a bit of insight having seen others available. My wife loved the setting and I greatly appreciated Michelle's energy so we had our first night in South Africa figured out. She was more than a great hostess, she was an awesome tour guide and I felt like I was getting a bit of a history and cultural experience thrown in for good measure. We were fortunate to be able to stay for two nights as we delayed going to the Safari to experience more of St. Lucia's charm and Kingfishers comfort. Since we got in about 3 PM Michelle advised us to visit the Ski Boat Club just up the road from her and it turned out to be our best Croc and Hippo viewing of all, including the boat tour we took on our return visit to Kingfisher. (Yes, we liked it so much we came back for two more nights after our safari.) There were adorable Bush Baby monkeys I could photograph easier than our stay at ZuluNyala, although, I gather they are quite a nuisance to property owners. On our return visit it appeared they were going to run the town, it was like Jimanji, the movie with Robin Williams, too dang cute. En route the next day we encountered a group, or tribe, or gaggle, troop,or whatever you call a dozen or so mongoose crossing the road to Kingfisher. This lodge is at the end of the main road in St. Lucia and joins a walking trail which was another cool thing we enjoyed. Note the memorial to the 22yr. old who failed to heed the warning of NOT swimming in the estuary. Michelle has prepared an excellent primer on do's and don'ts- we referred to it for activities, dining, and sites to much success. Since she's been there for some 30+ years I felt I was really 'hanging with a local'. ;-)
While we would have stayed longer on our return visit from safari we were unfortunate in that we had not made an extended reservation, so, we enjoyed two more nights before my wife had to 'give up her lovely white room'... she thoroughly enjoyed the netting around the bed and we were celebrating a bit of an anniversary, so, all the better. Which reminds me, on our first visit whie we were getting our legs after 14 hours on the plane from JFK and our first experience driving opposite the US, I was haggard and confessed to Michelle a bit of trepidation with safety, getting round, etc. and wanting things to be special for my wife. She put me at ease, gave me some more tips, and promptly insisted I take a bottle of South African champagne she had in her fridge to enjoy with my wife with her compliments.... how great is that?
Their landscaping is great, you can have you privacy while being very accesible to others, the pool, etc. if you wish. When we get together our next visit we'll be staying there a week, (with a reservation!)
Oh yes, as were unable to stay another night due to previous bookings so she and Saddie went about finding us a lovely B&B closer to the airport as were needing to catch our flight homeward the next afternoon. It was called St. Annes and it was also great and only 20 minutes from the airport!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LanceMahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

drive into st. lucia and follow the main road all the way to the end and you will find kingfishers lodge (the last house in south africa before the mozambique border according to the owner...). nice spacious rooms all with their own terrace and a lush garden with plenty of monkeys, mongoose roaming around during the day and hippos drinking water from the pool at night. we liked it so much we ended up extending our stay...

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcdeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

This place is located at the end of St Lucia directly at the river. Our first impression was quite nice as this place has a special flair and you have the feeling that you are in the middle of the nature. We saw meerkats in the garden as well as small monkeys and a red duiker. Unfortunately, we got quite disappointed during our stay. The room was very dirty. The manager told us they got a new cleaning lady but even after cleaning the room a second time the room was not clean at all. Joints in the shower were still musty, glasses had lipstick rests and we had a long hair on the bed table. The owner just retired and the new manager is just doing business as usual. It's quite sad as this place has great potential but it's just not benign.
...and one thing that is really special: It's quite common that hippos coming from the river are walking in the garden and front garden during darkness. When you want to enter your cottage you need to pass the front garden. So we thought this is quite creepy and we didn't like it but maybe you are more a kind of an adventurous person!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ulfmertens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

If I could do that over and over it would be complete. What a Spectacular stay with spectacular surrounds. I loved the simplicity and the lack of over-bearing staff. It was simple and to the point with great surrounds and fantastic hospitality. Wish it was groundhog day and I could do it over and over again. Michelle is simply marvellous

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardHyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

I have stayed at Kingfisher Lodge two times in different rooms. I can only say that this is a fantastic place to stay. The rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious and very comfortable.
The staff is friendly. Michelle, the owner, is a great lady! We had some problems with our car and she helped us a lot, thank you Michelle!
When I come to St Lucia next time I hope the Kingfisher Lodge will have a room available for me and my husband. And I also hope the Hippo is still coming to drink from the swimmingpool.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargarethaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We also stayed at Kingfisher lodge on our way from Kruger to Durban.

We agree with the previous post, we were also in room seven and certainly would not describe it as luxury, just basic. We had to go straight back to the shops to buy toiletries, face washer, fresh milk etc. The fridge was empty and minimal tea bags & coffee supplied, the lounge area is actually outside on patio not in the room.
Maybe we were just lucky but we toured South Africa for 3 weeks, and this was the only accommodation that did not supply these basics.

However as mentioned it was clean and in a lovely setting and certainly the areas in the the main house were luxurious, and the hippo that visits of a night is a great novelty. Breakfast was in a lovely setting with a garden view.

We also saw hippo in the main street at night when we ate at Quarterdeck restaurant, two simply strolled past the restaurant and up the main street grazing along the way, a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thesandmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.3 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#4 of 29 in St Lucia
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lidiko Lodge
Lidiko Lodge
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Lodge

Address: McKenzie Road | 187, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range: $76 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Lucia is the gateway to the beautiful iSimangaliso Wetlands Park, declared South Africa`s first World Heritage Conservation Site in 1999. St Lucia Kingfisher Lodge is situated at the edge of town which means that whilst the shops, restaurants and other amenities are only a 10 minute walk away, the lodge`s delightful gardens blend seamlessly into the surrounding Gwalagwala Forest. The lodge has extensive shady gardens with a wide variety of trees. St Lucia Estuary can be viewed from the end of the garden and the start of the walking trail through the Gwalagwala Forest is next to the front gate. This proximity to nature means that the gardens are home to a wide variety of birds and are often visited by animals such as hippos, various antelope, bush babies and very occasionally leopards. A small swimming pool is available for the exclusive use of guests. Guests are welcome to relax either on sun loungers in the garden, under a poolside shaded area or in the comfortable lounge in the main house. All room rates include a delicious full breakfast which is served in a light and airy dining room offering views of the gardens and estuary. Accommodation at St Lucia Kingfisher Lodge: We offer six unique and private rooms. Each room sleeps two and is equipped with air-conditioning, mosquito nets and a bar fridge for your comfort and convenience. All rooms have en suite facilities and a private shaded patio area. Other facilities at St Lucia Kingfisher Lodge: - Bar Fridge in each suite - Traditional Zulu hair braiding by the experts (go home with a new hairstyle) - All our Suites are non-smoking - Smoking on the patio is permitted - Internet Facilities - Free WiFi - Secretarial Services i.E.: Confirmation of flights, arranging tours/safaris etc ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Kingfisher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Hotel Saint Lucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing