We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall an enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingfisher Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kingfisher Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“overall an enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

Set in lovely gardens at the very end of St Lucia the lodge is away from the hectic centre, but close enough to get to the restaurants easily. Our room was large and had a comfortable bed, but the dark ceramic tiled floor made the room a bit dark, and the wardrobe was a bit ricketty.The bathroom had a bath and shower, but several of the fittings were broken, and the grouting mouldy in places. However it was perfectly servicable, and we slept well
Breakfast was taken in the main house,which was beautiful.The verandah looked over towards the estuary, and it was delightful to watch the duikers skipping around on the lawn. The choice of food was good, with eggs bacon etc cooked to order.
Michelle was a welcoming host,and the information booklet in the room written in her idiosynchratic style was very helpful.
Overall we were pleased we chose the lodge, but a few little changes to the bedroom would make it perfect

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Levoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    55
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
31
105
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

Just returning from our trip ti SA we are still impressed by the different sites we have seen during our trip. The kingfisher lodge was a perfect location for our small family. Big clean rooms, very nice and pleasant surrounding, very good and rich breakfast and extremely kind people.
The location is very good - you can walk into the town and reach the beach also in a couple minutes by car.

I can recommend this place without any restrictions

Thanks to our hosts and we will come back certainly

Peter, Uli and Max

Room Tip: via internet or phone
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peterulimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston on the Green
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

Thank you, Michelle, for a lovely few days. We missed the two hippo having an argument on the lawn one night as we were blissfully asleep in our very comfortable room! The wild life at St Lucia is legendary and we loved your family of vervets who never failed to amuse. The garden's red duikers seemed to become less timid and the bird life is fantastic. Don't forget binoculars and a camera and come for as long as you can!

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank jbrownwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

We were scheduled for a 6 day photo safari farther north and decided we' d try for St. Lucia as a stop if we were successful navigating and driving on the opposite side of the road. When we pulled into the town, it had a great vibe and being a photographer I visited the photo store ran by Eugene on the left midway through town. (side note, it's very well stocked and he's a great resource should photo/electronics issues evolve). He made a few recommendations and we were fortunate to hit Kingfisher with a bit of insight having seen others available. My wife loved the setting and I greatly appreciated Michelle's energy so we had our first night in South Africa figured out. She was more than a great hostess, she was an awesome tour guide and I felt like I was getting a bit of a history and cultural experience thrown in for good measure. We were fortunate to be able to stay for two nights as we delayed going to the Safari to experience more of St. Lucia's charm and Kingfishers comfort. Since we got in about 3 PM Michelle advised us to visit the Ski Boat Club just up the road from her and it turned out to be our best Croc and Hippo viewing of all, including the boat tour we took on our return visit to Kingfisher. (Yes, we liked it so much we came back for two more nights after our safari.) There were adorable Bush Baby monkeys I could photograph easier than our stay at ZuluNyala, although, I gather they are quite a nuisance to property owners. On our return visit it appeared they were going to run the town, it was like Jimanji, the movie with Robin Williams, too dang cute. En route the next day we encountered a group, or tribe, or gaggle, troop,or whatever you call a dozen or so mongoose crossing the road to Kingfisher. This lodge is at the end of the main road in St. Lucia and joins a walking trail which was another cool thing we enjoyed. Note the memorial to the 22yr. old who failed to heed the warning of NOT swimming in the estuary. Michelle has prepared an excellent primer on do's and don'ts- we referred to it for activities, dining, and sites to much success. Since she's been there for some 30+ years I felt I was really 'hanging with a local'. ;-)
While we would have stayed longer on our return visit from safari we were unfortunate in that we had not made an extended reservation, so, we enjoyed two more nights before my wife had to 'give up her lovely white room'... she thoroughly enjoyed the netting around the bed and we were celebrating a bit of an anniversary, so, all the better. Which reminds me, on our first visit whie we were getting our legs after 14 hours on the plane from JFK and our first experience driving opposite the US, I was haggard and confessed to Michelle a bit of trepidation with safety, getting round, etc. and wanting things to be special for my wife. She put me at ease, gave me some more tips, and promptly insisted I take a bottle of South African champagne she had in her fridge to enjoy with my wife with her compliments.... how great is that?
Their landscaping is great, you can have you privacy while being very accesible to others, the pool, etc. if you wish. When we get together our next visit we'll be staying there a week, (with a reservation!)
Oh yes, as were unable to stay another night due to previous bookings so she and Saddie went about finding us a lovely B&B closer to the airport as were needing to catch our flight homeward the next afternoon. It was called St. Annes and it was also great and only 20 minutes from the airport!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LanceMahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

drive into st. lucia and follow the main road all the way to the end and you will find kingfishers lodge (the last house in south africa before the mozambique border according to the owner...). nice spacious rooms all with their own terrace and a lush garden with plenty of monkeys, mongoose roaming around during the day and hippos drinking water from the pool at night. we liked it so much we ended up extending our stay...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcdeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

This place is located at the end of St Lucia directly at the river. Our first impression was quite nice as this place has a special flair and you have the feeling that you are in the middle of the nature. We saw meerkats in the garden as well as small monkeys and a red duiker. Unfortunately, we got quite disappointed during our stay. The room was very dirty. The manager told us they got a new cleaning lady but even after cleaning the room a second time the room was not clean at all. Joints in the shower were still musty, glasses had lipstick rests and we had a long hair on the bed table. The owner just retired and the new manager is just doing business as usual. It's quite sad as this place has great potential but it's just not benign.
...and one thing that is really special: It's quite common that hippos coming from the river are walking in the garden and front garden during darkness. When you want to enter your cottage you need to pass the front garden. So we thought this is quite creepy and we didn't like it but maybe you are more a kind of an adventurous person!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ulfmertens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

If I could do that over and over it would be complete. What a Spectacular stay with spectacular surrounds. I loved the simplicity and the lack of over-bearing staff. It was simple and to the point with great surrounds and fantastic hospitality. Wish it was groundhog day and I could do it over and over again. Michelle is simply marvellous

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardHyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.7 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#1 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
0.8 mi away
Whalesong B&B
Whalesong B&B
#7 of 29 in St Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Lodge

Property: Kingfisher Lodge
Address: McKenzie Road | 187, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Specialty Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Lucia is the gateway to the beautiful iSimangaliso Wetlands Park, declared South Africa`s first World Heritage Conservation Site in 1999. St Lucia Kingfisher Lodge is situated at the edge of town which means that whilst the shops, restaurants and other amenities are only a 10 minute walk away, the lodge`s delightful gardens blend seamlessly into the surrounding Gwalagwala Forest. The lodge has extensive shady gardens with a wide variety of trees. St Lucia Estuary can be viewed from the end of the garden and the start of the walking trail through the Gwalagwala Forest is next to the front gate. This proximity to nature means that the gardens are home to a wide variety of birds and are often visited by animals such as hippos, various antelope, bush babies and very occasionally leopards. A small swimming pool is available for the exclusive use of guests. Guests are welcome to relax either on sun loungers in the garden, under a poolside shaded area or in the comfortable lounge in the main house. All room rates include a delicious full breakfast which is served in a light and airy dining room offering views of the gardens and estuary. Accommodation at St Lucia Kingfisher Lodge: We offer six unique and private rooms. Each room sleeps two and is equipped with air-conditioning, mosquito nets and a bar fridge for your comfort and convenience. All rooms have en suite facilities and a private shaded patio area. Other facilities at St Lucia Kingfisher Lodge: - Bar Fridge in each suite - Traditional Zulu hair braiding by the experts (go home with a new hairstyle) - All our Suites are non-smoking - Smoking on the patio is permitted - Internet Facilities - Free WiFi - Secretarial Services i.E.: Confirmation of flights, arranging tours/safaris etc ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingfisher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Hotel Saint Lucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing