We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificant!”
Review of Lidiko Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lidiko Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificant!”
Reviewed October 1, 2010

My husband and I along with our 13-year old son spent 2 fabulous days at the Lidiko Lodge in St. Lucia. The accommodations were amazing. Lidiko Lodge has done a beautiful job of renovating their property into a tropical oasis. The entrance from the main street is charming and secluded. Once inside the interior courtyard, you feel as though you have been whisked away to a tropical paradise. Lidiko Lodges has several charming spots to sit and relax, soak up the sun, or read. The lodge even has an outdoor firepit for cozing up to a fire on chilly nights. The morning breakfast buffet was fantastic with a wonderful assortment to select from. We loved staying here and if we should ever find ourselves back in St. Lucia we will most definately stay with our friends at Lidiko Lodge! As a side note... we thoroughly enjoyed our walk to the ocean, seeing the hippos, and the silly monkeys - what a treat!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deblively
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    103
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
115
148
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Family of 4 from Canada taking in the World Cup. We stayed 2 nights in 2 rooms: great accomodations: very clean, friendly staff, great breakfasts, awesome small swimming pool and great location. We stayed in 6 hotels/BBs in our trip; this was in the top strata. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pricewaterhousecoope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We booked several rooms for a family gathering; the rooms themselves are of a reasonable standard, though they are quite dark and do vary in standard, one we booked in particular was in grave need of a bathroom refit! On our arrival when I opened the mini bar a can of coke exploded (a can which had been in the neglected mini bar a while had frozen and the lid had been blown clean off across the room, thankfully it missed my 2 year old daughter but there was a lot of Coke on the floor) the staff laughed at what I though was a serious hazard, even when the less that hospitable owner inspected the following morning there was no apology. Generally, the hospitality was not up to the standard we have come to expect from B&B’s in South Africa, the reception area (easily the nicest part of the Lodge) was closed and locked at 7pm every night meaning there was nowhere to sit inside after that time. Nearly everything we asked for at Lidiko received a grumpy response from staff just small things like an extra towel for our baby, blankets for the beds, poached eggs or toast at breakfast seemed, things which would not have been a lot of trouble in other places seemed hard work there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank woodster26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I travelled from the UK to St Lucia as a single woman and was intially anxious. However, I soon discovered I couldn't have been in better hands. St Lucia is a beautiful and safe place to stay, but Lidiko Lodge made it an incredibly happy and memorable 3 day stay. The business is family run and from the minute I arrived I felt I was treated like part of the family. Nothing was too much trouble. The manager and owners couldn't have been more friendly and went to great lengths to make sure my stay was nothing short of perfect. All members of staff were equally friendly and welcoming. The lodge was beautifully presented. My room was very clean, spacious, tastefully presented and comfortable. The pool area was beautiful, set in a well planted and tended garden area - all very peaceful and relaxing. The reception area was welcoming with plenty of space to relax, read a book, admire local art and craft. The eating area was equally pleasant, with wonderful views across the front gardened area - an excellent location to relax in the evening with a drink and watch the sunset. Local restaurants were recommended for eating out in the evenings, and the short 3 minute walk to them made eating out effortless. Despite my short stay, the manager swiftly arranged for me to be able to enjoy a boat tour of the estuary, a day safari to the stunning Hluhluwe-iMofolozi park, a night safari, whale spotting, and a beautiful 30 minute walk leading to the vast and stunning beach of the Indian Ocean. All of these trips proved to be staggeringly beautiful and provided me with sightings of the big 5 and so much more. Lidiko Lodge was like home from home. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liz14208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Lidiko Lodge is a very pretty property, with tastefully decorated rooms and lush tropical exteriors. Management and staff are very professional and friendly. My only complaint is that the room had somewhat of a damp smell, at least when I was there during winter. The room has no heater, which isn't an issue for comfort because St Lucia is never very cold but may leas to dampness settling in during winter months.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vancouver_DAD_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Travelling with a group of footie fans, we were really impressed by this stylish Hotel. The staff team were exceptionally attentive, though not intrusive; the rooms were spacious and thoughfully equipped; the breakfasts were delicious; and the pool area was simply delightfull. Certainly the best place we have stayed in South Africa.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Footiefan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

I would recommend Lidiko Lodge to anyone who wants to use St Lucia as a base to explore the local area, including Cape Vidal and Hluhluwe-Imfolozi game reserve. We are a British family (currently living in Joburg) with two kids aged 5 and 10, and our idea of a holiday involves not sleeping in the same room as our early rising kids, so the "family unit" at Lidiko Lodge was fantastic as the two rooms (each with ensuite in the one we stayed in) had a door that you could close between them. The rooms were very clean, everything worked as it should and it was a nice touch to have a fridge. Service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble from the friendly staff who were happy to offer advice on tours to local restaurants (my advice, take their advice in terms of restaurants, the only night we decided to do something different to it we were very disappointed!). The breakfast was a highlight of the day - perfectly scrambled eggs, fantastic home made bread and excellent coffee really set us up for the day. The whole lodge has a lovely feel to it, from the welcoming reception area to the lovely breakfast terrace to the terraces outside the room. The kids loved the pool! We used our 8 night stay to go to Cape Vidal (twice) which was beautiful but take lots of snacks and get up early if you want to go on a public holidays, H-I once (we saw a herd of 80 elephant - which has to be a major highlight), plus lots of trips to the local beaches, walks in the surrounding area and of course the ubiquitous hippo-croc tour (which was actually surprisingly good!).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familiasinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.3 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 32 in St Lucia
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lodge Afrique
Lodge Afrique
#3 of 29 in St Lucia
487 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lidiko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidiko Lodge

Property: Lidiko Lodge
Address: 95 McKenzie Street | PO Box 68, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lidiko Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set above the Great St Lucia Lake, Lidiko lodge is a 4* lodge, centrally situated in the village of St Lucia, surrounded by the Greater St Lucia Wetland Park (iSimangaliso Wetland Park), an UNESCO natural World Heritage Site. Lidiko Lodge offers 16 well-appointed air conditioned en-suite garden rooms decorated in a contemporary Afro-Colonial style. All rooms offer a private patio and lead onto the pool area or bird filled gardens. Free wi-fi is available in all the communal areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Lidiko Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing