We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for one or 2 days, basic elements are all there”
Review of Lidiko Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lidiko Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The hotel is a decent place to stay: clean, nice room, nice pool and very close to the national parks.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 369 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2012

The hotel is quiet and well located. The terrace outside and the pool area are nice for relaxation. Rooms are clean and very basic.
Staff was very helpful in finding activities and restaurant.

The Wi-Fi was definitely a great perk.

I would definitely recommend to stay in this hotel for a short vacation, 2-3 nights top.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al3xh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Lovely setting and friendly staff. Unfortunately I agreed with Offemar. The room was large and dingy, very poor lighting. I can see what theme they are trying to portray but the whole decoration makes it very dark and uninviting. The bathroom was large and equipped, I spent more time in there then in the bedroom. Unfortunately it had been raining when we arrived and it made the whole place more dark and dismal.
St Lucia is a lovely place and the Estuary trip is great. We also booked to go to visit a Zulu Village from here and it was excellent. Took you into the world of the Zulu - not commercialised either. Worth a trip.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hollbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Starting our South Africa Trip in Johannisburg to Krüger National Park via Swasiland to Sodwana Bay ending in St. Lucia we stayed the last days at Lidiko Lodge in St. Lucia. By entering this Lodge, you will instandly see, that this is a place, where people work who have only ONE Goal: Make residents happy !!!
The very tasteful arangement und more tha friendly and helpful people at Lidiko Lodge makes it a real place of pleasure.
We will visit again, even if its only for short "hello" and an "espresso"
Thank you so much for staying with you. THE ORTLIEB`s from Germany

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We were in room 16. It is big but dark and empty. The windows were small and had no view at all. The room was very big but had no place to sit. Breakfast was fine, the people nice. I can't judge on the other rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Offemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We were completely delighted with our stay at Lidiko Lodge and would recommend it to anyone. This family owned lodge is a relaxing, delightful spot to use as your base while you explore St Lucia and the wetlands. The rooms are comfortable (although the mattresses are definitely firm and short (if you are over 5' 5") and nicely done. It is a safe and relaxing place to stay. The staff are very helpful and quickly responsive. The family that owns the lodge is very helpful at arranging tours and advising guests about activities. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious! I would definitely go back if I am ever in that part of the world again

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank africatraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We stayed three nights at Lidiko Lodge as part of a trip along game and nature parks. We liked the positive spirited, helpfull and friendly staff. Rooms are spacious, complete en well thought out. We stayed on B&B basis.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanReiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Lucia hotels
0.3 mi away
Elephant Lake Hotel
Elephant Lake Hotel
#1 of 3 in St Lucia
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Kingfisher Lodge
Kingfisher Lodge
#5 of 31 in St Lucia
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
Ndiza Lodge and Cabanas
#3 of 31 in St Lucia
341 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sandpiper Guest House
The Sandpiper Guest House
#4 of 31 in St Lucia
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Lucia Wetlands Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lidiko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidiko Lodge

Address: 95 McKenzie Street | PO Box 68, St Lucia 3936, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > St Lucia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in St Lucia
Price Range: $119 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lidiko Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set above the Great St Lucia Lake, Lidiko lodge is a 4* lodge, centrally situated in the village of St Lucia, surrounded by the Greater St Lucia Wetland Park (iSimangaliso Wetland Park), an UNESCO natural World Heritage Site. Lidiko Lodge offers 16 well-appointed air conditioned en-suite garden rooms decorated in a contemporary Afro-Colonial style. All rooms offer a private patio and lead onto the pool area or bird filled gardens. Free wi-fi is available in all the communal areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lidiko Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing