We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere, great stories and the best cappuccinos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pilgrims Pantry

Pilgrims Pantry
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great stories and the best cappuccinos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Of all the places in Pilgrim's, this is your best bet for breakfast or lunch. The home made pies are divine and the pancakes are a long shot better than what is offered at the more well known spots in Graskop and Sabie.

The stories told by the hostess are very interesting and gives you a great feeling of the town.

I've been there quite a few times over the years and I've never been disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RuanVanDerMerwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Country cooking at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

After arriving in Pilgrims rest Upper town after 3pm, we quickly discovered why Pilgrims is such a dozy town. We could not get a meal anywhere. We were then guided to downtown where we were told to try Pilgrims Pantry. And as they say everything happens for a reason. After being warmly welcomed by Sharon the owner we were seated. My wife hade the spinach and feta pancake and I had a home made steak and pepper pie. We finished off with the now infamous cheesecake ( see pic ) and had a great late afternoon experience. The shop has many little ceramics and stuff to look at, all made on the property. Highly recommended, home made country cooking. Enjoy and say that we referred you.

Helpful?
3 Thank Clive Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pottery and Pancakes at the Pantry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Staying at Crystal Springs up Robbers Pass we decided to lunch in Pilgrims Rest some 10 kms away. We decided on Pilgrims Pantry in Downtown Pilgrims Rest. Great choice . The savory pancake with a feta and spinach filling was superb and the beef burger was a great homemade beef patty. Élna the hostess told us a lot of the history of the area and how Robbers Pass got its name. The details relate also to the name of the business next door, The Highwaymans Garage. We were encouraged by Sharon the owner to visit the Potter next door and the Pottery and Stainglass Shop next to that . We did just that . We watched Charles the potter work his magic and at the shop we saw lots of beautiful pottery . We bought 4 coffee mugs as a gift for our daughter . This restaurant and Pottery Shop is a "must" visit for anyone in the area

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitsy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponieskrantz, Owner at Pilgrims Pantry, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thanks so much for the review. Much appreciated. We try to do our best and will continue to be of great service, homemade wholesome food within a great atmosphere and tons of stories about Pilgrims Rest and its past. Until next time. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kruger National Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere, great stories, and TASTY food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Wow - After a day trip gone wrong (we took a trip to Sabie to try Petena's pancakes - epic fail) we were hungry and chose to visit a very cute little place on the side of the road in Pilgrims Rest. Best decision of the day!!

The beautiful setting is enough to make you happy - a garden atmosphere with birds all over, and old school style long benches for seating.

The restaurant itself was built as a home in the early 1900s so it holds a lot of history, which the lovely hostess will tell you all about. There are so many great stories that she shares with you over your meal or as you order or pay.

We ordered a home made pepper steak pie and a home made ginger beer (him) and a prego roll with an orange juice (her). Both meals were tasty, generous and looked beautiful. They were served with a myriad of sides (chips, beetroot salad, normal salad, coleslaw). The bread that my prego was served on was absolutely delicious; crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.

There is also a very cute pottery studio and store with the restaurant.

5/5 for Pilgrim's Pantry.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LodgeTrackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilgrims Pantry also viewed

Pilgrim's Rest, Mpumalanga
Pilgrim's Rest, Mpumalanga
 
Pilgrim's Rest, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Pilgrims Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing