We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blast from the past!”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pilgrim's Rest
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Staying in Pilgrim's Rest and the Royal Hotel was like taking trip back in time. If you are looking for modern hotel with all the trimmings, then the Royal Hotel is not for you. However, if you want a nostalgic look back in time when men were trying their luck at finding their fortune with gold, then this is the place for you. For us we felt like we had been put on a wild west movie set and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Having had our booking for two nights cancelled by a hotel in a neighbouring town, we were told to come here and from the get go the service was excellent. The rooms have a nostalgic charm, but if you are not a fan of soft beds (I am), then you will not love the sleeping experience. But in general would recommend this hotel, especially if you have children, who love the wild west feel of it all!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyrfsa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 387 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were disappointed to see that this beautiful town, lost its old world charm. The town was not busy at all and we could wonder everywhere. To many informal people and stalls that sell their African goods. The idea of a historical town depicting the life at the time are lost with the African influence and car washers. The sweet shop, general dealer and museums are worth a visit. The old historic hotel bar has lost its charm with all the bank notes with names all over the walls.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vorsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I visited Pilgrims Rest 17 years ago and vowed to return to stay in the Royal Hotel. It is a real step back in time to the days when the gold panhandlers were busy trying find their fortune.
The Hotel is the cherry on the top of the town.
Arrived by car to be greeted by the bell boy who insisted on taking bags to my room and had the manager move his car to enable us to park right outside. My room was like something from an old western movie, a big double bed with victorian frame, and at the end of the room a curtained off area where my bath and basin were situated, separate toilet off to the side with door. The room was immaculate, old fashioned furniture beautifully kept, parcel of fudge and parcels of soap in wrapping paper. Nothing modern to be seen. This theme is throughout the hotel and restaurant next door which serves great breakfasts and well presented and cooked evening meals. I ordered fish and chips which arrived in a newspaper parcel served on a large dinner plate, just like the old days. I also spent a fair time in the pub, just off the hotel entrance where I kept with tradition and supped my beer and chatted to the friendly locals. The staff were lovely, so helpful, polite and efficient. Even the chambermaids were dressed in customary victorian uniforms.
It's more than a hotel, it is a 100 year old fun park, but real not plastic. A must visit if you have a taste for something entirely different.

Room Tip: Only know my room, number 10 however I suspect they are all spotless and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CroquetDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Not the fanciest hotel you could stay in, but we enjoyed the old school nostalgia of the place. This hotel is old and has loads of history, but not for someone looking for a slick modern hotel. It has a great location in the middle of town, and I enjoyed the pub.
Dont worry about the ghosts, they seem friendly!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big_Red_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

new years day lunch at the royal had a buffet on offer for R120 or an overpriced menu.
i did have a look at the normal menu which looked very well priced. we all had the buffet and a zonneblom pinotage also for R120.
beef, gammon, prawns, mussels, pasta, soup, breads, salads, quite a variety.as buffets go an average spread not wow, but lovely day in an old hotel on the veranda watching people strolling through the old gold mining village.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filip l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Shocking Experience! Wow! We could not believe our eyes when we got to this dilapidated hotel. The wooden floors had a hole so big, we were scared that our kids were going to break their legs walking through there.

Secondly, what was supposed to be a Victorian chair had an arm rest that looked like it had been plucked out and no one had cared to fix it.

The smell in the hotel was moldy and not welcoming at all.

The receptionist was not aware of all of the above. Shocking!

Needless to say that we did not go any further than seeing the rooms. We took pictures of the dilapidated structure to alert all about this dump.

The hotel grading body should visit this place and strip them off whatever stars they possess. A real shocker of a place.

The inconvenience caused to us was immeasurable especially as we were traveling with kids.

I would not recommend this Royal Dump!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mutsh-Thrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The accomodation at the old bank house, used for lodging hotel guests is fantastic. the rooms are kept in their Original style regarding furniture. there is a sitting room, bedroom and bathroom. only negative point is that the shower is not fixed to the wall, and that you need to find the best temperature for the hot water yourself.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the old bankhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erwin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilgrim's Rest
5.5 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 2 in Graskop
625 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge
Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pilgrim's Rest
145 reviews
22.7 mi away
Blyde Canyon, A Forever Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
24.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
24.5 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Main Road, Pilgrim's Rest 1290, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Pilgrim's Rest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pilgrim's Rest
Price Range: $84 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Royal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Pilgrims Rest
The Royal Hotel South Africa/Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing