We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views. activities and tranquility”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pilgrim's Rest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at Crystal springs for two nights but by the first day, we realized that we should have stayed for a week! The Lodge is set on a beautiful piece of land and is laid out in a way that you do not feel claustrophobic... the only down fall is that the chalets are a distance from the main reception and activities and one needs to use the car to drive to reception but we decided that this could quickly be overcome by taking out mtb bikes with us next time to get around. The chalets are lovely and have everything that a person would need (including a wood burning fire). Each chalet is on the edge of the cliff and the views are fantastic as well as being able to see some wildlife at night (Zebra and Kudu).
The only real disappointment was the restaurant and both times that I ate there turned out to be a disaster - the food is not great and the staff requires additional training on how to serve and take orders.
My tip is to bring your own food and bring cash as the closest shops and ATM's for cash is 27km's away in Graskop. Our next trip to Crystal springs is planned already for November 2014!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 296 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

Superb views over the gorge and great walking trails made for an enjoyable weekend getaway. With the changeable weather and spells of thick mist, it is advisable to pack warm clothing and rain gear. We found the units to be clean and well stocked and the complementary firewood was a bonus. Beware the baboons and monkeys!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank GlenT222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

What a lovely weekend at this excellent setting. Neat, clean and well maintaned units. Much to do for our children (gameroom, put-put ext) aswom hiking trials , 4x4 route and lots of wildlife. We will be back !

Room Tip: Sellect the size according to the size of your family
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robbie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We has a lovely long weekend at Crystal Springs. It's location is great for touring around the area.
We were completely unaware that there is a game reserve and wonderful hiking trails on the property. We will definately go prepared next time to make use of these facilities. The chalets are very clean and comfortable with lovely views. We will definately book there again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcelle09_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay. Excellent. Unit was clean, well maintained and well serviced. Kids had a great time - plenty for them to do. Sites of the Lowveld all within driving range.
Restaurant wasn't that great as per previous reviews - service poor.
However, that aside, overall was great - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have enjoyed our midweek stay tremendously! Excellent hiking trails, lots of game and awesome view from cottage! Service outstanding with some lovely macadamia brittle gifts every day after cleaning our cottage ! Wonderful spa treatments with professional therapists! Will go back anytime!

Room Tip: All of them well situated!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dancingqueen98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights at this resort on recommendation from a friend. We were not disappointed at all, besides the magnificent views from each unit, the units are well maintained and there is plenty to do. The resort facilities however are all some distance from the units resulting in daily commutes by car being necessary. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilgrim's Rest
4.2 mi away
Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge
Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge
#2 of 2 in Pilgrim's Rest
122 reviews
8.9 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
598 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pilgrim's Rest
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
9.1 mi away
Sheri's Lodge & Backpackers
23.8 mi away
Aan de Vliet
Aan de Vliet
#5 of 13 in Hazyview
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge

Address: R533 | Vygeboom Farm, Pilgrim's Rest 1290, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Pilgrim's Rest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pilgrim's Rest
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Springs has achieved the perfect balance between pristine natural scenery, wildlife and holiday resort. Whether you are looking for a romantic, adventurous or relaxing break, Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge is the perfect choice. This picturesque location has an all year round charm that keeps travellers coming back. All holiday lovers will enjoy Crystal Springs’ spectacular cliffs and gorges, forests, murmuring streams, plunging waterfalls, grazing wildlife, luxury accommodation and vast array of onsite facilities and activities. What to do at Crystal Springs…For the young and young at heart we offer a games room, mini golf, tennis, squash, trampolines, jungle gyms, outdoor pools and an outdoor heated pool. For the adults we have a clubhouse with a gym, indoor heated pool, Jacuzzis, a sauna, a steam bath and a beauty salon. For nature lovers we offer walking trails, game drives, guided nature walks and game viewing hides. Crystal Springs is conveniently situated for easy access to many of Mpumalanga's most amazing tourist attractions. From the historic town of Pilgrim's Rest to nearby Sabie and Graskop; to the spectacular Blyde River Canyon, God’s Window and Bourke's Luck Potholes. The world-famous Kruger National Park - home to the Big Five – is only an hour’s drive from the resort.The Tourism Grading Council of South Africa awarded Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge with a four star grading. RCI has awarded Crystal Springs Gold Crown Status.Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge is a VRS managed resort.GPS co-ordinates:24º 51’ 51’’ S30º 42’ 41’’ E ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crystal Springs Mountain Hotel Pilgrim`s Rest
Crystal Springs Mountain Lodge South Africa/Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing