We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax in Paradise”
Review of Iketla Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ohrigstad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iketla Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Relax in Paradise”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We were given to understand that Iketla means "relax" & there is no better way to describe it! The Lodge & its surrounds are truly part of nature & the ambience of the place is one of sheer indulgence.
The rooms are built out of the local rock & have stunning views & are very well appointed. The vista is superb & at night there are no lights or other "man-made" distractions to spoil the panorama!
Albert & Hennielene are consummate hosts & their team provide excellent & unobstrusive service. The breakfast & dinner was excellent & the atmosphere was most convivial with an interesting collection of guests from around Europe.
The Lodge is perfectly situated to enjoy the so-called "Panorama Route" which takes in the Blyde River Canyon, God's Window, Graskop & Pilgrim's Rest. This makes a wonderful day outing.
Another fine attraction is their superbly laid out hiking trails. These well marked trails take in the highlights of their property & the birdlife is fantastic. Its well worth to book another day just to make the most of these. We also saw our fair share of animals on the hike too!
Well worth a visit to kick back & relax!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberthennielene, Manager at Iketla Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Tony & Alma. Thank you very much for the lovely review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit - you are welcome anytime! We hope to see you again in the near future, and next time, stay a few days longer. Kind regards, the Iketla-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    53
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
34
169
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We visited Iketla for a one night stop-over on 6 January 2014.

Iketla is situated close to Orighstad, conveniently between the northern regions of the Kruger National Park, where we holidayed, and the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport. On our way, we stopped at the JG Strydom tunnel, where we managed to see the Taita Falcon!

Ikethla is a small lodge with only eight rooms. It is owner-managed by Albert and Hennielene, who are good hosts, friendly and efficient. The rooms are comfortable and clean.

Iketla is is a rich bird area and we heard many bird species from our room, including Black Cuckoo and Flappet Larks. We also identified,among others, White Winged Widowbirds and Purple Crested Turaco on our walk, which we enjoyed thoroughly.

Had we known what we would find at Iketla, we would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberthennielene, Owner at Iketla Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thanks for your review and kind words, Martin. We always enjoy keen birders. We look forward to welcome you and Janice and your friends back at the lodge in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We slept one night here. The owners themselves were not present, so we were welcomed by the couple that has been in service.
It was our last night of the holiday, so we had looked forward to a pleasant evening with the family. However, because we were the only guests the couple came uninvited to sit. Although it was a very pleasant evening, we found it strange that they did this.
However, the hotel itself is beautiful! Lovely rooms with great views! Also nice that they have created different stroll-routes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willemien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberthennielene, Owner at Iketla Lodge, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Willemien

Thank you very much for your review - we appreciate all comments. We, as owners, were not on the premises but our managers have been with us for more than 18 months and we have always had very complimentary feedback on our service and interaction with guests.

We are small lodge and service is personalised - more often than not we try to join our guests for dinner. It just gives us that extra feedback on their experiences in South Africa and builds a more personal relationship. It is a great pity for us that you did not enjoy this part of our product. As a norm, if guests prefer to be on their own, we obviously accommodate them. Such a pity that the managers were not made aware of your preference for a private dinner.

We apologise if you found this intrusive, but a very big thank you for all the other compliments. Hope to see you back at Iketla Lodge soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bülach
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

On the way from Kruger Park to Johannesburg (2nd to 4th October 2013) our friends and we spent two wonderful, relaxing and comfortable days in the Ikleta Lodge. Hennielene and albert are great and very attentive hosts. More than that - the daily culinary dinner in a cozy atmosphere earning 5 stars. Unfortunately we could not stay longer, our South-Africa-trip-schedule allowed us no extension.

We - Jonathan, Susan, Peter and Monika from Switzerland (Bülach) send a big thank you to Hennielene and Albert and the entire team of the Ikleta Lodge for their great hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberthennielene, Owner at Iketla Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Vielen Dank!! Your feedback on your stay at Iketla Lodge is greatly appreciated and we shared your kind words with all our staff members. We are just doing what we enjoy and that is, amongst other things, to interact with our wonderful guests. Thank you again and we hope to see you back at Iketla Lodge in the near future. Albert & Hennielene and the Iketla Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is THE PLACE to stay when you (tourist) are travelling to of from the Kruger Park Area to Johannesburg (or direction). An oasis of peace and tranquillity in a wonderful setting, run by the most dedicated people in the business ! Attention to detail is extraordinary and you are really taken care of from the moment you arrive, till the moment you (have to) leave. It is a place (and a "family") you will never forget.
Our visit was cut short after one day because of a serious electricity problem (not at the Lodge I may add, but in town where a big transformer had exploded). The first evening in the Lodge we had a superb dinner by candle light (superb !!!) The second day however, the power was not back and as precaution the owners booked all of their guest in a nearby Lodge for they could not offer the comfort and service they would provide. Imagine this gesture and display of pro-active thinking and handling ... Not at all necessary, but greatly appreciated. A great place, with excellent personal service and truly committed staff to match !!! GREAT

Room Tip: There are no better rooms, all rooms are best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herman Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberthennielene, Owner at Iketla Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and very kind words. Again, our apologies that you had to move to another lodge due to the electrical problem. We are happy to report that the problem was solved quite quickly and that we can again look after our guests in the best possible manner. We really look forward to your return to Iketla Lodge and South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Iketla at the end of our South African trip in April 2012. We've discovered a wonderful place even though we didn't have the chance to fully enjoy the place and the surroundings as one member of our group was at the hospital in Nelspruit.

Our morning walk was a wonderful experience, very different from ther rest of the trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cphilipona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Without doubt a wonderful place to pass the time, and use as a base for touring that area.
The view from the room of the valley was wonderful, the room excellent including the outside shower. We ate dinner in the restaurant each evening and the food was outstanding. The service mentall round was faultless and would recommend anyone to this excellent establishment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMG15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohrigstad
24.9 mi away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
562 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hannah Game Lodge
Hannah Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Ohrigstad
265 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Royal Palm B&B
The Royal Palm B&B
#1 of 1 in Ohrigstad
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Blyde River Canyon Lodge
Blyde River Canyon Lodge
#23 of 104 in Hoedspruit
225 reviews
23.8 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 19 in Hoedspruit
180 reviews
23.2 mi away
Zur alten Mine
Zur alten Mine
#2 of 15 in Graskop
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iketla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iketla Lodge

Property: Iketla Lodge
Address: Off R555 | Ohrigstad - Burgersfort rd, Ohrigstad 1122, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Ohrigstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Ohrigstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iketla Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic retreat with spectacular scenery and unspoilt nature. A 4-star, luxurious, small and intimate country lodge, near the Blyde River Canyon. Ideal base for exploring the Panorama Route. En-route to the Kruger Park. Accommodation in spacious stone-built cottages with private patios and views. Swimming pool, walking trails and guided walks on this 540 ha private reserve. Some wildlife and excellent bird life. DB&B, traditional SA food, superb company & a peaceful environment. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing