We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, definitely recommended”
Review of Hannah Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hannah Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived at the gate around noon and drove up the gravel road to the lodge. Those 7 kilometers took us more than an hour because of all the animals that we spotted. Ostrich, impala, kudu, tsetsebe, waterbuck, warthog, yellow billed hornbill and many others, all right next to the road.

You are not allowed to drive on any other roads in the park. Therefore we opted for a late afternoon game drive. The vehicle is indeed a bit noisy and it was pretty cold, but they provided blankets and saw zebra, giraffe, buffalo and tons of antilopes.

The lodge itself is situated on a hill, with a nice deck where you can watch the sun set while enjoying a glass of South African wine. The rooms are very comfortable, but some are quite a walk/climb from the lodge. Nighttime is spectacular, with millions of stars. Do bring a flashlight as it gets quite dark.

Food in the restaurant was good but not exceptional, usually buffet style. Service overall is excellent. The owner was very friendly too and advised us to drive to Kruger via Orpen Gate. This turned out to be a great tip, as we saw our first leopard just 5 minutes past the gate.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hweegink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 298 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hannah Lodge is literally in middle of nowhere, in the middle of a private wildpark, at approx. a 20-minute drive from Ohrigstad town. And with that it was also incredibly quiet & dark at night, so you could spot some pretty nice stars out there as well.

Check-in was good, we received a nice welcome drink. Suitcases and bags were brought up to the lodges.

The lodges were amazing and pretty spacious. Loved the big beams on the ceiling and the little sort of balcony with view over the park. The bed was great, good sized shower. Everything was nice and clean and I loved the real, warm, African feeling I got here.

The food was good. Buffet for both dinner and breakfast. Quite a lot of choice of meat, salad etc.

Great accommodation, nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lautje1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is the place if you want peace and quietness in a very pleasant game reserve. Staff is very friendly and service is good.You can go on game drives - a very noise experience thru to the vehicle used. Rooms are nice and nothing better than a Gin and Tonic watching the sunset. Food is good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hannah Lodge in Ohrigstad is situated inside a private reservation. Animals are at your doorstep. The rooms are excellent, staff is very friendly, food is great. In short the perfect place for a stay combined with close game drives. Especially the giraffes are great and willing to pose. Go for it you want regret.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The food was superb. We tasted local meats like venison and kudu. It was such a pleasant, relaxing stay. Accommodation was perfect. The evenings were blessed with the sounds of the birds and animals feeding down the waterhole and make sure you rise early to experience a spectacular sunrise.

Room Tip: A room with a view is always best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marshmallowfeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Hannah Game Lodge was magnificent! We only stayed one night and wished we could have stayed longer. Our room was spacious and luxurious, and it overlooked the beautiful property. A definite highlight was the food. Dishes were elegantly prepared and presented, and the flavors were wonderful. We highly recommend this lodge to others, and we wish we could have gone on a game drive through their property. But with only one night stay, we didn't have the time for it. The staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This Game lodge is situated in a prestine rural area. With small game wondering around it is just the perfect one night stop, but dont be in a hurry. Come early and do a game drive. Site has a refreshing pool and the restaurant is also quite good, offering a wide selection to cater for the individual palate

Room Tip: In my opinion all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohrigstad
21.3 mi away
Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge
Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge
#2 of 2 in Pilgrim's Rest
129 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Royal Palm B&B
The Royal Palm B&B
#1 of 1 in Ohrigstad
18 reviews
0 mi away
The Shoe
The Shoe
#3 of 4 in Ohrigstad
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hannah Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hannah Game Lodge

Address: R 555, Old Burgersfort Road, Ohrigstad | Mpumalanga, South Africa, Ohrigstad 1122, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Ohrigstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Ohrigstad
Price Range: $135 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hannah Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Private Nature Reserve embraces more than 8000 hectares of Malaria - free, unspoiled African Bushveld. Hannah offers a Bushveld experience at affordable and realistic rates. Professional, friendly and down to earth service characterizes this warm and peaceful getaway. Hannah is a reflection of Africa in its entire natural splendor, a captivating tapestry of African sounds, smells and colors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hannah Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hannah Game Hotel Ohrigstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing