We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful first impression of South Africa”
Review of Hannah Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hannah Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Zaandam
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful first impression of South Africa”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Hannah Lodge was our first stop on our fly drive vacation to South Africa. What a wonderful way to start!
The hotel is in the middle of nowhere. All you can see as far as the eye can reach is beautiful African nature.
The hotel grounds are beautiful and the cottages cozy and tastefully designed. The pool area is great too. We saw three wild hogs grazing along the side :)
We strongly recommend taking a game drive. It's 110 Rand a person but worth it! We were driven for two hours and saw giraffes, zebras and loads of impalas.
The restaurant has a beautiful deck where you can have breakfast and dinner. Dinner is a buffet and costs 150 rand.
The only minor issues to us were that there was no fridge in the room and no air-con. At night it cools down a lot, but the room was still to hot at night.
We would definitively recommend this place for a overnight stay between Pretoria and the Panorama Route which starts only a few kilometers away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ichristiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    106
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
48
132
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Our 2nd stay of our round trip and very nice one. Before getting to the lodging site we had to drive a through their game reserve, which provided our first encounter with some wild life. Always exiting, so the mood was set. Arriving at the lodges we were welcomed by the staff who were very friendly and helpful. The lodges also look great situated on a hill top, which provided a very nice view. The lodges were very well maintained and spacious. The beds were comfortable as was the shower (quite large). We had some nice furniture in front of our lodge to sit on and enjoy the view. Dinner was great. The provided a buffet with a lot of different dishes all very well prepared. The staff was also very nice, helpful and comfortable serving a large group. This was one of our best stays.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RowenaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzaneen, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Great place to start your holiday in the Mpumalanga/Kruger Park area. The views are breathtaking and the lodge is wonderful. Do yourself a favour and stay at Hannah Lodge. Linda Nel-Tzaneen South Africa

Room Tip: Luxury superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirboo North, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

A beautifully quiet lodge located on a private game reserve. The rooms are comfortable and have interleading doors which is great for a family. The meals were fantastic and all inclusive as part of the package. Used this lodge as a base to view the Panorama area. It does have a large number of game including rhino, the ever present impala and warthog wander freely around the lodge.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Garlick2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weingarten, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

The Hannah lodge is a good start for seeing the wild life in Africa. The lodge is a little bit out of Ohrigstad. On the Reserve they have enough wild life which is excellent to see on the offered game drive. The lodge is build on a hill side over viewing the bush. Sleeping is done in the rundnabel houses which are simple but clean. Eating is in the enormous restaurant and is buffet style and is very good. The

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harry098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgraaf, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2008

This beautiful Private Nature Reserve embraces more than 8000 hectares of Malaria - free, unspoiled African Bushveld. Hannah offers a Bushveld experience at affordable and realistic rates.

Professional, friendly and down to earth service characterizes this warm and peaceful getaway. Hannah is a reflection of Africa in its entire natural splendor, a captivating tapestry of African sounds, smells and colors.

- Great Lodges all have good view
- Everything nice and clean
- Gamedrives no problem
- Food is good

  • Liked — Lodges and the gamedrive
  • Disliked — Opening times bar (till 10' o clock
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelbeer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohrigstad
14.4 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Thaba Moshate
22.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pilgrim's Rest
349 reviews
21.3 mi away
Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge
Mount Sheba, A Forever Lodge
#2 of 2 in Pilgrim's Rest
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Royal Palm B&B
The Royal Palm B&B
#1 of 1 in Ohrigstad
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Shoe
The Shoe
#3 of 4 in Ohrigstad
10 reviews
10.4 mi away
Lapeng Guest Lodge
Lapeng Guest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Burgersfort
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hannah Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hannah Game Lodge

Property: Hannah Game Lodge
Address: R 555, Old Burgersfort Road, Ohrigstad | Mpumalanga, South Africa, Ohrigstad 1122, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Ohrigstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Ohrigstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hannah Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Private Nature Reserve embraces more than 8000 hectares of Malaria - free, unspoiled African Bushveld. Hannah offers a Bushveld experience at affordable and realistic rates. Professional, friendly and down to earth service characterizes this warm and peaceful getaway. Hannah is a reflection of Africa in its entire natural splendor, a captivating tapestry of African sounds, smells and colors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hannah Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hannah Game Hotel Ohrigstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing