We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Utopia in Africa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Utopia in Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We opportunitistically presented ourselves and our young son - keeping our fingers crossed they would be able to accomodate us at short notice. We had a wonderful nights stay. The room was excellent - so many small touches making it feel like a very special experience. We had dinner with the rest of the guests and found our hosts to be delightful. The food at dinner and for breakfast was excellent and the honest bar was well stocked with great wines. Magnificent views from the balcony and pool over the valley - pre dinner drinks as the sun was setting was magnificent. Definately should be on your list of places to visit and relax there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fudgebobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
79
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

My daughter and I booked here to break our long drive from Jo'berg airport to our the next bit of our itinerary which was the Blyde River Canyon area, then Kruger, and found a haven of peace and beauty - you would not know this unique, gorgeous place exists on the outskirts of what seems like quite a large busy town. It manages to feel very luxurious while at the same time feeling charmingly rustic and homely. The owner Patricia was away and had left Utopia in the charge of her good friend Ann who cooked us the best meal we had in the month we were in South Africa - her peach crumble was a dream. We had some things to sort out and Ann couldn't have been warmer or more helpful, which was lovely as we had only been in the country 5 days. The sitting area is which is built on stilts under thatch and looks out over the forest, is gorgeous, and was beautifully lit with candles and lamps in the evening. We were a weeny bit disappointed to find the next night that actually it doubled as a communal smoking area which we would have found difficult to share if the smokers had actually been there, but they weren't so it was fine. But of course if you're a smoker this is a bonus! There were so many lovely touches in every corner of this guest house - both large and tiny. All the rooms were different and lovely (we were allowed little peeps into the others!) with creative furnishings and decor. Breakfast was a lovely experience, in the dining room open to the pretty pool and the elements. And the monkeys in the trees around the pool were a bonus (they were very well-behaved...). We can't recommend this place highly enough. Look on the website. And if you're booking from the UK it's really helpful that Patricia has a UK bank account.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed here during the world cup 2010, our hosts were very helpful and accommodating. We can certainly recommend staying here in nice surrounds.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandMfromMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Excellent room, food, friendly hosts.
Felt very cozy after the Kruger camps' shabbiness.
Nice views of nlspruit from the balcony.
Only minus was the difficulty to access the house because of the changes in the streets' names.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 187147Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Utopia in Africa is the ideal place for comfort and quiet. It is conveniently located to get an early start to Kruger. The house is unique and designed by the owners. The women who tend the house do an exquisite job with the breakfast, laundry, and if you are fortunate, a home cooked dinner. My wife and I felt pampered when we left.

Room Tip: Room with view of Botanical gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbbeamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

What an gorgeous guesthouse! It feels like a fantasy guesthouse with art and curios decorating the public spaces and its location perched over a nature reserve and beautiful decks and balconies to bring in nature. Patricia and Hameed were most helpful with making tour and transport arrangements. Breakfast and supper were terrific! Patricia is a great cook. It was fun getting to know Patricia & Hameed as well as other guests over the yummy breakfast and supper. And Sam is just the cutest and welcoming dig ever!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speedbird282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Utopia in Africa for one night, on our way to a work assignment in Swaziland. We didn't make a reservation ahead of time -- I found the listing in my South Africa Rough Guide and we called from Nelspruit at about 5:00 p.m. on the night of our stay. It was a Monday evening and Patricia, the owner, had just one room available for the very reasonable rate of R450 per person (a summer special).

We couldn't believe our luck when we arrived. This is one of the nicest guest houses I've ever stayed in. The decor was beautiful and tasteful. The room was unique, luxurious and comfortable. The view of the adjoining nature reserve, both from our balcony and from the main deck, was breathtaking. The service was impeccable, the breakfast was delicious, and the owners, Patricia and Hamid, were lovely. We even loved Sam, the dog. He was every bit as charming as his owners.

We stayed in the Guinea Fowl room, which was gorgeous and very romantic. I didn't get the chance to see into any of the other rooms but I'm sure they are equally stunning. Patricia said that she and Hamid did all the design and decorating themselves -- they are obviously very talented.

If are lucky enough to stay at Utopia in Africa, go outside at dusk and listen for the pair of spotted eagle owls who like to perch on the roof.

We were very sad to leave. I can't wait to find another excuse to go to Nelspruit so we can stay there again.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheppard Boutique
Sheppard Boutique
#4 of 19 in Nelspruit
31 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
0.5 mi away
La Roca Guest House
La Roca Guest House
#2 of 73 in Nelspruit
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
283 reviews
6.8 mi away
Tomjachu Bush Retreat
Tomjachu Bush Retreat
#1 of 66 in Nelspruit
166 reviews
1.1 mi away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 73 in Nelspruit
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utopia in Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia in Africa

Property: Utopia in Africa
Address: 6 Daleen St. | Sonheuwel, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Utopia in Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing