We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly relaxed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Roca Guest House
Ranked #2 of 77 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfectly relaxed”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

La Roca Guesthouse is situated in a beautifully green suburb less than 2km away from the Nelspruit city centre. The backyard and dining area overlook beautiful, green mountains, the surroundings are quiet and peaceful; perfect for some downtime.
The rooms are functional and warm; they have a sitting area as well as a luxurious bath and shower. There's a balcony area with even the standard rooms which I enjoyed for most of the afternoon. The rooms exceeded my expectations.
My overall experience was just lovely and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the second floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purity N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    80
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
64
161
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have had the opportunity to stay with La Roca recently during our stay in Nelspruit and what an experience. The initial feel was that of "other" lodges but to the contrary it was out of this world. I have also noticed that they have been awarded thge Trip Advisor Winner 2013 for the region and can concur.

The food and cuisine is unique, special and pretty good with variety every day and new "menus' ready when you are seated letting you know what you are going to be treated with.

The staff truely are a huge plus to La Roca, interested in your day's activities and pleasently helpful organizing your breakfast or supper.

They are at your begging and calling ready to assist.

The accommodation is stylish and has flair that realy touches all your senses. The ambiance is just great and has no room for improvement, with soft music, gentle lights plaing on the pool's water next to the giant rock (La Roca) casting its image into the water.

The staff also welcomed us on our arrival with a smile taking our luggage to our beautifully situated room overlooking the Bombela Mountains and gorges.

I have taken wonderful pictures during our stay and will upload them soon, so all reading this review please return to this site for an awesome picture of the best place I have stayed.

Room Tip: Room 9 is a definite "must" and be sure to request ROOM 9 on booking your stay with La Roc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KobusV156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I've been in La Roca once and it was very nice.
I went with my girlfriend, we were in need of relaxation and we could get it.
It's a very quiet place, enjoyable and the service is good. The rooms are confortable, clean and if you opt for a luxury one you'll enjoy to have a relaxing foambath.
We tried the dinner in there, apart of being romantic the food was very nice.
So, I recommend anyone to go there and I don't see the opportunity to go back again.

Kind Regards to all La Roca Staff

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbatsana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
689 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

La Roca is nestled in a leafy suburb next to a nature reserve. What an exceptional setting! Besides the panoramic view from our room and bathroom, we were treated like royalty.
We phoned on the day of our arrival, and was offered a good rate. The room itself is stylish, with modern but functional decor and is equipped with good quality linen, towels and mattresses. The bathroom is a sanctuary with a large tub and spacious shower. The bathroom amenities are luxurious and ample.
The occupancy of the guest house was remarkably high with about 75% of the guesthouse booked.

Wanting to sample some local cuisine influenced by Mozambique, we opted for the Portugese restaurant Costa do Sol – one of the oldest restaurants in Nelspruit. We savoured sardines, catembe, prawns and enjoyed excellent service and good food.

Back at La Roca we had a good night’s rest and were warmly welcomed to a beautiful breakfast room in the morning. Besides a breakfast buffet with fresh fruit, cereals, homemade muffins, toast, yoghurt, cheese and cold meats, La Roca had freshly brewed coffee and a variety of teas available. We were offered the chef’s specialty dish of the morning – a breakfast tortilla filled with scrambled eggs, bacon, mushrooms, peppers and topped with feta. It was one of the best breakfast dishes we every enjoyed – ample, tasty and very innovative.

Check out was smooth and with a smile.
We loved La Roca – and would love to return to this guesthouse built amongst the rocks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kardoesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemba, Mozambique
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a gem of a guest house. The value for your money is fantastic. It has a beautiful view, the rooms are very tastefully done and the food is just that slight step above to please the comfort foodies as well as the more modern taste bunds. It is clear the minute you walk into the rooms that it is run by people who just care about beauty and excellence. The tubs are HUGE and the beds are super comfortable. The rooms are spacious and would easily fit a nice family.

I was sad that I only had two days there and I can't wait to bring my husband here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiaMancuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We booked this guest house for a one night stopover in Nelspruit. The price was reasonable and the manager a pleasure to deal with when making the reservation. The rooms are not brand new, but everything was in working condition and the room was spacious with everything we needed. It also had a minibar with a better selection of drinks than most 5* hotels!
The breakfast room is stunning and service perfect. The 'Bushveld Blend' coffee was really good and I liked the fact that you could make your own coffee using the pots provided.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I decided to spend the weekend of our first wedding anniversary at La Roca and we had a beautiful, tranquil and relaxing stay. The guesthouse sits on the hillside just above Nelspruit with stunning views over the Lowveld. Service at La Roca, from the moment you make a booking to the moment you check out is excellent and attentive to all guests needs. We stayed in Room 12, a luxury room in the garden. The room was large, beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. If you stay there in the winter (May-September) make sure you take slippers as the stone floor is little cold - although the room itself isn't. Breakfast is one of the highlights at La Roca. Served on a beautiful veranda with spectacular views there is a choice of very imaginative, not to mention delicious, "specials" everyday or guests can simply order whatever they like "al la carte". For the techies, La Roca has an excellent and FREE wireless network which is permanently on (this is unusual and a very pleasant surprise).

We have previously stayed at La Roca with our two children in a family room and can also easily recommend the guesthouse for family stays.

La Roca fully deserves to be rated exceedingly high on Trip Advisor and is certainly amongst the best guesthouses in the Nelspruit area. We will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Baobab_Tree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
2.3 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 18 in Nelspruit
241 reviews
0.8 mi away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 77 in Nelspruit
524 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 18 in Nelspruit
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#3 of 77 in Nelspruit
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheppard Boutique
Sheppard Boutique
#9 of 77 in Nelspruit
36 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zebrina Guesthouse
Zebrina Guesthouse
#7 of 77 in Nelspruit
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Roca Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Roca Guest House

Property: La Roca Guest House
Address: 56 Van Wijk Street | Nelspruit, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Roca Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Roca is an owner-managed 4-star boutique guest house located in an upmarket residential suburb of Nelspruit. Spread amongst 6,000m² of sub-tropical garden, several of our rooms, the breakfast lapa and pool deck enjoy stunning uninterrupted views over the Nelspruit Nature Reserve and escarpment beyond. Conveniently situated only 2Km from the city centre, La Roca is a peaceful oasis within which to unwind from a long days work or to use as a base for exploring the many world class attractions in the vicinity: the Kruger National Park; Blyde River Canyon; Mozambique and Swaziland are all less than an hour away. Offering standard, luxury and executive accommodation, all our en-suite rooms have been individually decorated with attention to detail and each have a private entrance and a balcony or patio. Our approach is professional but our style is with a smile - creating a friendly and warm ambience. Welcome to La Roca - an ideal base for corporate or leisure travellers. You will wish you had stayed for longer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Roca Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing