We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Roca nice place to land.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Roca Guest House
Ranked #2 of 78 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

after a long flight ,Munich Johannesburg Nelspruit, we arrived at La Roca. The friendlyness and helpfullnis of all people there made us feel at Home rightaway.We will sure stay longer the next time.parking was a little complicated for me but the "Captain" did this for me at once.The outside area is beautifull we sure got a nice Afrikafeeling.

Room Tip: we had a standardroom, which we really liked.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecile R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for La Roca Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 331 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here twice before and after doing the Panorama Route aroud the Blyde River Canyon to the north.Both times were in room 10 which is on the ground floor at the edge of the escarpment with stunning scenery.
The room was large, well equiped and with an extremely comfortable large double bed. It had both air conditioning and a ceiling fan--very useful in the Nelspruit climate. The bathroom was luxurious with both bath and shower and all the usual soaps ,shampoos, and gels needed. The bedroom had large hanging wardrobes, a safe, and a fridge, plus tea and coffee supplies. One extra nice touch was the emergency light which automatically came on one night when there was a short power cut, removing the need to scrabble around for torches or candles. Neither of us could think of anything needed to improve this room.
The pool area and dining space also had wonderful views and to sit outside having a large choice for breakfast was a great start to the day.
Marlea, the owner, was very helpful in arranging a hair appointment for me at short notice.
Not having seen the other accommodation in Nelspruit I cannot comment, but I woul certainly recommend La Roca to anyone contemplating a visit there

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 both times and would recommend it. Wonderful view from the balcony, bedroom, an...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pilotteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Awesome place, great location. Arrived at about 2pm, taken to my awesome room, had a quick dip in the pool, very refreshing! I spent 1 night, had to leave early so I unfortunately didn't have a chance to enjoy the food or the view of the restaurant!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanvaderwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

i have been traveling to nelspruit for about 1year 6 months, about 7 months ago i was refered to La Roca this place in very reasonable excellent rooms and a great view, ever since La Roca is my home away from home... its quiet away from all the noise ...... Jayce Govender

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayceG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was in this guesthouse during 3 nights with my boybriend and it was perfect! The brekfast is different every mornings with good service!
4 stars for this guesthouse?!! It's not enough! Why not 5 stars?!
You have a magnificient view on the mountains during your breakfast or your dinner, very calm for yours holidays, very nice staff, your room and the pool are very clean, and the food is delicious! There are not flaw!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanief f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We've been traveling to Nelspruit for more than six years and have stayed in most of the guest houses. La Roca is hands down our favorite, to the point where we have arranged our weekend trips around when they have availabililty. It is a little oasis of peace and charm. It is perfectly situated within the city, but you feel like you are in a forest when you walk through the grounds. Really quiet and peaceful.This is a perfect place for anyone traveling alone or as a couple, and for families. The owners, Rob and Marlea, have decorated the rooms with a funky, modern, international flare. Consider staying in the house on the grounds (it is a stand-alone house) with a full kitchen, incredible deck that is like an extension of the living room and amazing sunset views, bunk beds for the kids, and a shower indoors and out! Even if you don't stay there - ask to see it - it is incredible! Besides the stand-alone house, the Butterfly (Asian themed), Moroccan, and Cottage rooms are our favorites. They also have GREAT bedding, the kind where you don't want to get out of bed for a very long time because the sheets and pillows are so nice.

Room Tip: Consider staying in the house on the grounds (it is a stand-alone house) with a full kitchen, incred...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmlloren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at La Roca - home away from home fealing. Great hosts, they really took care of all our needs. Fantastic room, we even had our own patio outside overlooking the nature reserve. Quiet, well managed, delicious food and very comfortable accommodation. Situated close to town, and a big bonus for us was the constant wi-fi in the room. Absolutely no complaints, will recommend and can't wait to visit again. Well done guys !!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
2.3 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 18 in Nelspruit
245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
0.8 mi away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 78 in Nelspruit
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 18 in Nelspruit
306 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#4 of 78 in Nelspruit
144 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zebrina Guesthouse
Zebrina Guesthouse
#8 of 78 in Nelspruit
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Roca Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Roca Guest House

Address: 56 Van Wijk Street | Nelspruit, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range: $93 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Roca Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Roca is an owner-managed 4-star boutique guest house located in an upmarket residential suburb of Nelspruit. Spread amongst 6,000m² of sub-tropical garden, several of our rooms, the breakfast lapa and pool deck enjoy stunning uninterrupted views over the Nelspruit Nature Reserve and escarpment beyond. Conveniently situated only 2Km from the city centre, La Roca is a peaceful oasis within which to unwind from a long days work or to use as a base for exploring the many world class attractions in the vicinity: the Kruger National Park; Blyde River Canyon; Mozambique and Swaziland are all less than an hour away. Offering standard, luxury and executive accommodation, all our en-suite rooms have been individually decorated with attention to detail and each have a private entrance and a balcony or patio. Our approach is professional but our style is with a smile - creating a friendly and warm ambience. Welcome to La Roca - an ideal base for corporate or leisure travellers. You will wish you had stayed for longer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Roca Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing