We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Roca Guest House
Ranked #2 of 73 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
“Unforgettable !”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was in this guesthouse during 3 nights with my boybriend and it was perfect! The brekfast is different every mornings with good service!
4 stars for this guesthouse?!! It's not enough! Why not 5 stars?!
You have a magnificient view on the mountains during your breakfast or your dinner, very calm for yours holidays, very nice staff, your room and the pool are very clean, and the food is delicious! There are not flaw!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanief f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    77
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
62
157
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uganda
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We've been traveling to Nelspruit for more than six years and have stayed in most of the guest houses. La Roca is hands down our favorite, to the point where we have arranged our weekend trips around when they have availabililty. It is a little oasis of peace and charm. It is perfectly situated within the city, but you feel like you are in a forest when you walk through the grounds. Really quiet and peaceful.This is a perfect place for anyone traveling alone or as a couple, and for families. The owners, Rob and Marlea, have decorated the rooms with a funky, modern, international flare. Consider staying in the house on the grounds (it is a stand-alone house) with a full kitchen, incredible deck that is like an extension of the living room and amazing sunset views, bunk beds for the kids, and a shower indoors and out! Even if you don't stay there - ask to see it - it is incredible! Besides the stand-alone house, the Butterfly (Asian themed), Moroccan, and Cottage rooms are our favorites. They also have GREAT bedding, the kind where you don't want to get out of bed for a very long time because the sheets and pillows are so nice.

Room Tip: Consider staying in the house on the grounds (it is a stand-alone house) with a full kitchen, incred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmlloren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemba, Cabo Delgado, Mozambique
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at La Roca - home away from home fealing. Great hosts, they really took care of all our needs. Fantastic room, we even had our own patio outside overlooking the nature reserve. Quiet, well managed, delicious food and very comfortable accommodation. Situated close to town, and a big bonus for us was the constant wi-fi in the room. Absolutely no complaints, will recommend and can't wait to visit again. Well done guys !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The managing owners charm and attention to detail is only exceeded by the lovely room designs and setting overlooking a wild conservancy area. It sure doesn't seem like an in town stay which was perfect for us as we were there for over 1 week recuperating from surgery in nelspruit. Super breakfast, lovely staff and really beautiful rooms. We had a tub with a view, an outside shower , big flat screen and full kitchen! We stayed in town on another visit at a hotel and it was awful compared to this. We shall always return to la roca! Try it- youll like it

Room Tip: Spend a few rand extra to stay in the executive which is a full blown apartment or enjoy the thatch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle East
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This weekend was our second stay at La Roca and it didn't disappoint. The rooms are clean and the beautifully finished bathrooms are immaculate. We love discovering what the theme will be for each room. Our first stay, under Sean's management, was Moroccan inspired, and best of all the room has it's own space and gate for parking. This time we stayed in a more African room. Each room had all the amenities. The pool area has an outdoor bar and a lovely view of the Nelspruit Nature Reserve. Best all of all we enjoy dinner or breakfast under the boma (thatched roof) area, which also overlooks the game reserve. Their breakfasts are always good and the ingredients used are always fresh and good quality. For dinner, they have two meals--one for adults and one for children.

Room Tip: If you want to eat dinner at the guesthouse on your first night, especially after driving from Preto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Arrived after a long drive (10 hours) from Tofo, Mozambique, and were met by the fantastic hostess and her staff who set the tone immediately for a pretty much perfect stay. Our rooms were immaculate and very spacious - much like the entire property! The pool area is stunning and exactly what we needed to cool off with a few beers from the bar. The recommendation for dinner was spot on and breakfast the next day was truly decadent (pancakes with bacon, camembert and walnut syrup - don't mind if I do!).
We did not have to leave until 2.30pm and our hosts were incredibly accommodating in letting us use their lovely pool area and keeping us well stocked with drinks.
A very special spot with great staff, wonderful hosts and 2 dogs that really like toes!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdarkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great place to stayed, we went there for vacation, and had a great time, the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The dining area has a great view of the Nelspruit Reserve, it is relaxing to sit around the swimming pool and read, while the kids enjoyed it. Kids made us to promise we will go back there each time we visit Nelspruit. Delicious breakfast.
Staff is helpful to recommend and make reservations for eating out, if you feel like going somewhere else.
Close to shopping areas and medical facilities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorena44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheppard Boutique
Sheppard Boutique
#4 of 19 in Nelspruit
31 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
0.6 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 73 in Nelspruit
510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#3 of 73 in Nelspruit
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Utopia in Africa
Utopia in Africa
#2 of 66 in Nelspruit
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Roca Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Roca Guest House

Property: La Roca Guest House
Address: 56 Van Wijk Street | Nelspruit, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Roca Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Roca is an owner-managed 4-star boutique guest house located in an upmarket residential suburb of Nelspruit. Spread amongst 6,000m² of sub-tropical garden, several of our rooms, the breakfast lapa and pool deck enjoy stunning uninterrupted views over the Nelspruit Nature Reserve and escarpment beyond. Conveniently situated only 2Km from the city centre, La Roca is a peaceful oasis within which to unwind from a long days work or to use as a base for exploring the many world class attractions in the vicinity: the Kruger National Park; Blyde River Canyon; Mozambique and Swaziland are all less than an hour away. Offering standard, luxury and executive accommodation, all our en-suite rooms have been individually decorated with attention to detail and each have a private entrance and a balcony or patio. Our approach is professional but our style is with a smile - creating a friendly and warm ambience. Welcome to La Roca - an ideal base for corporate or leisure travellers. You will wish you had stayed for longer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Roca Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing