We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loerie's Call Guest House
Ranked #1 of 78 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2009

We visit Loerie's Call about once a month when traveling through the area, and we adore it. It's a beautifully kept and peaceful place with great rooms. The service is excellent--it's family-owned, so everything has a very personal touch. (And the family Great Dane, Frank, will usually greet you when you arrive.) The grounds are so nice, and we've spent plenty of afternoons sitting by the pool or on the lawn with a good book.

We eat well here, too. We always look forward to the breakfasts outside. They offer a continental breakfast of fruits, meats, cheeses, toast, juice, yogurts, etc, and they follow that up with a hot main dish. (Next door is Orange, what I'd argue is the best restaurant in Nelspruit. Their food, service, and ambience are as nice as we've had in some of the nicest restaurants in the States, but at a dramatically lower price.)

We haven't stayed on the Francolin Lodge side of the development, but we've seen the rooms. They very modern and minimalist -- a look I love -- but I don't think I'd stay there because the bathrooms are not completely separate from the main room. I've never understood bathrooms that aren't totally private, but I know some people prefer an open floor plan like that. If you want that, stay on the Francolin side. If you want a more traditional room -- very comfortable, well decorated, and spacious -- stay on the main side.

Overall, it's a place we adore and we always look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjmm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 542 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed at Loerie's Call one night before entering the Kruger park.

The room was spacious and well furnished and had a nice balcony overlooking the outskirts of Nelspruit. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom as well was nice, with a big shower.

The pool area is really nice as well as the garden. Unfortunately it was a bit cold for us to have breakfast outside but we would have loved it. Breakfast is rich and we liked both the buffet and the cooked plate. The owners are kind and arranged our plans for dinner.

I would recommend Loerie's Call for both leisure and business travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleonora_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2007

Am only just getting around to putting reviews on for a trip to South Africa/Mozambique last year. We spent 3 nights at Loerie's Call and simply loved the place. It's a beautiful guest house in a fantastic location on a hill above Nelspriut. The owners were very helpful suggesting restaurants (would recommend the Ocean Basket for huge prawns) and things to do (botanical gardens and sudwala caves are worth a visit), they even organised take away pizza for us on one night! Our room was huge and we had a balcony with a view over the city which provided a brilliant vantage point to watch an afternoon thunderstorm. Must also mention the breakfast, not the standard B&B fare, but everyday something special and a bit different.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ifa448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

My wife and I have just returned from South Africa and our trip included a 2 night stay at Loeries Call Guesthouse in Nelspruit which we booked through their website.

From the moment we drove through the gates into the beautiful tropical gardens we knew we had made the perfect choice.

The guesthouse is situated just on the outskirts of Nelspruit which is only about 45 minutes drive from the southern gate of the Kruger so it makes for an excellent springboard for a park visit or as we did,a lovely rest after a hectic couple of days big-5 hunting!

The views over the valley are wonderful especially from the beautifully furnished luxury rooms which are well worth the small extra payment.
Everything about this place is perfect - the lovely pool and pool house, the dining area under the open veranda ,the rooms themselves, the gardens and of course the views.

There is a 24 hour security guard who will happily wash your car for you and to cap it all the hosts and owners are a really great couple who have built the complex up themselves over the last 15 years or so. They have managed to strike the perfect balance between being lovely genuinly friendly hosts (even taking and collecting us from a local restaurant in the evening) but without imposing on your privacy in any way at all.

If you are in the area this is the place to stay but the 2 nights we stayed here all 9 rooms were full so prebooking may well be advisable.

This is one of the fairly rare 5 star guesthouses we saw listed and may be a little more expensive than the normal 4 star accommodation but as far as we are concerned Loerie's Call is worth every star and every penny!!

Also within 15 minutes drive are the excellent botanical gardens which are well worth a 2 or 3 hour visit.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank N&MWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank lally_intravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loeries, General Manager at Loerie's Call Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank FrancoisCaro78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loeries, General Manager at Loerie's Call Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: para mim foi perfeito
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drazuzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loeries, General Manager at Loerie's Call Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#10 of 18 in Nelspruit
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
0.8 mi away
La Roca Guest House
La Roca Guest House
#4 of 78 in Nelspruit
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Francolin Lodge
Francolin Lodge
#2 of 78 in Nelspruit
234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#3 of 78 in Nelspruit
146 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#3 of 18 in Nelspruit
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loerie's Call Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loerie's Call Guest House

Address: 2 Du Preez Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range: $109 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Loerie's Call Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loerie's Call is an exclusive five star Guest House perfectly situated in Nelspruit for today's business and leisure traveller. Situated high above Nelspruit with panoramic views of the surrounding Crocodile River Valley. Loerie's Call offers nine private, individually designed and decorated en-suite rooms, set in beautifully landscaped gardens with prolific birdlife. This owner-managed establishment offers a large swimming pool, on-site gourmet restaurant and secure parking. Your first visit to Loerie's Call will certainly not be your last. We look forward to hosting you in the heart of the Mpumalanga Lowveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Loerie's Call Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing