We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loerie's Call Guest House
Ranked #1 of 74 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“great inn”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at Loerie's Call for 2 nights at the start of our South African holiday in the Kruger Park. The Inn is lovely - not quite out of town as we had expected but rather on the edge of Nelspruit. The room was lovely - superbly clean and very comfortable with a good sized verandah to sit and look out. The staff are helpful and go out of their way to help out. I had brought the wrong adapter plug for our toothbrush and Jaclyn brought her own from home for us to use while there! The only negative is their internet connection. We were able to use the wifi for the first dayeven though it was really slow but then the signal was so low on the second day that most websites timed out before they loaded. Other guests commented on this problem as well. There isn't a restaurant on site but they serve a great breakfast. Francolin's Lodge next door has a fantastic restaurant called Orange and we ate there both nights. The food and the service were outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmack51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loeries, Manager at Loerie's Call Guest House, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hi there Brian & Catherine,

Thank you for the wonderful review - we do try our best to be of assistance...especially with a toothbrush crisis! We have to apologise for the intermittent WIFI connectivity - since your visit, we have had extra boosters installed as signal strength in general in this area seems to be poor. The problem seems to have been solved but we do continue to monitor it.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals at Orange restaurant - Francolin Lodge and Loerie's Call are actually sister guesthouses with the same owners for both properties so we have the opportunity of offering prospective guests either traditional or more modern accommodation with an A La Carte restaurant within walking distance...very convenient!

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we do hope you visit again soon.

Kind regards
Jaclyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    90
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
64
258
25
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great, friendly service and excellent facilities. Rooms are well equiped, modern and spacious.

I often travel to Nelspruit and have gone to a number of other hotels and guest houses in the area. But having been to Loerie's Call I won't go anywhere else unless Loerie's Call is fully booked.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loeries, Owner at Loerie's Call Guest House, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi there Vincent,

Thank you for your feedback and be sure to call us as soon as you know when you will be next travelling to Nelspruit - the early bird gets the room! We love to see guest's returning time and time again.

Thank you and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel was excellent, the surroundings and the views were fanatastic. The only problem was that we only had one night at the hotel as we were booked at Kruger, we would like to have stayed a lot longer, The breakfast was the best I have had in a long time - special french toast!

We are intending to come back to the area and we will be staying at Loerie's Call as we would like to sample Franklin Lodge Restuarant which was closed on the day we were there.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, including the extra waiter - Frank.

Terrific from price to very high standard, recommended it already.

Room Tip: If the standard of other romms were like ours and we have no reason to think otherwise, then any roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loeries, Manager at Loerie's Call Guest House, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hi there Stuart,

We wish you could have stayed longer too - and so glad to hear that you enjoyed the new addition to the breakfast menu. We are in the process of adding another one, so we look forward to your next visit and so should you! The Orange Restaurant - under its new ownership has been getting very good reviews, so you definately need to visit them. Let us know and we can make a booking for you.
While all our rooms are individually decorated, they are all kept to the highest standards and just so you know - 8 of our rooms have a spectacular view over the valley.

Take care and see you soon.

Jaclyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is the perfect place to stay. Beautiful views, great service and the warm welcome we get every time makes us want to revisit it every chance we get.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loeries, Owner at Loerie's Call Guest House, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you Ana! We enjoy the regular visits from you and your family and always look forward to the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very nice und quite place overviewing Nelspruit. Coming from Europe it was for us the perfect place to stay on the way to or back from Kruger. The team was very friendly (including Frank, the dog) and very helpful (we had trouble getting our luggage from Johannesburg airport). The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. Even the so called standard room is great. In german we would say "klein aber fein".

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Loerie's Call Guest House, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Hi there Edith and Egbert,

Thank you for your lovely review and the wonderful pictures you posted - a Loerie's sunset is something everyone should get to see...especially in person!
We are always happy to help with unforseen mishaps and we were glad to assist with re-uniting you both with your luggage.
We too think our "standard" rooms are quaint and cosy...our way of making sure our guests feel at home. If you have started planning your next trip to our shores, we do hope you plan to visit up our way.

Best wishes
Jaclyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The Loerie's Call is a 5-start establishment at a 3-star price. Beautiful setting, welcoming staff, great service, scrumptious breakfasts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paule M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Loerie's Call Guest House, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you Paule,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. We strive to offer outstanding service and value for money at competitive prices. Feedback from our guests is one of the tools we use to meet our goals, so thank you again for your recommendation.

Kind regards
Jaclyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

They have thought of how to make you relax, I was on a work assignment, so just to leave the place was not easy! I was given Room 8, well I think they want to keep me coming back!! The view of the town below and the "hill" in front of you is really outstanding! The products used even for your bath are really exciting, fresh and different, so i soaked in the tub with bath salts, what can a girl do! Then you have a gown wrapped in a plastic wrapping in your wardrobe, how do you even wake up in the morning after that. The breakfast spread is amazing, and a pleasure, i had been travelled for two weeks so I was feeling a bit jaded, I certainly got my groove back after this place. What can I say, a balcony for your smoking pleasure! The Orange Restuarant next door had spectacular views of its own, so a very well thought out place, its out of town on the N4 to Malelane so you do feel that you are out of the hustle and bustle of town and you are in your own small universe. Truly beautiful! Ohh, did I tell you about the size of the bathroom, well you can park a car in there!!

Room Tip: I got Room 8, just too beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Loerie's Call Guest House, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Well what can we say but THANK YOU! We are thrilled that your stay with us was so wonderful and we do hope you "keep coming back!"
We strive to give our guests the best and most relaxing experience possible - even if they are here for business. Your experiance shows us that we are on the right track...thank you for posting your comments. We are looking forward to treating you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheppard Boutique
Sheppard Boutique
#4 of 19 in Nelspruit
33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
0.0 mi away
Francolin Lodge
Francolin Lodge
#3 of 74 in Nelspruit
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Roca Guest House
La Roca Guest House
#2 of 74 in Nelspruit
324 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
290 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#4 of 74 in Nelspruit
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loerie's Call Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loerie's Call Guest House

Property: Loerie's Call Guest House
Address: 2 Du Preez Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Loerie's Call Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loerie's Call is an exclusive five star Guest House perfectly situated in Nelspruit for today's business and leisure traveller. Situated high above Nelspruit with panoramic views of the surrounding Crocodile River Valley. Loerie's Call offers nine private, individually designed and decorated en-suite rooms, set in beautifully landscaped gardens with prolific birdlife. This owner-managed establishment offers a large swimming pool, on-site gourmet restaurant and secure parking. Your first visit to Loerie's Call will certainly not be your last. We look forward to hosting you in the heart of the Mpumalanga Lowveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Loerie's Call Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing