We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Business!”
Review of Shandon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shandon Lodge
Ranked #13 of 79 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I've now stayed at Shandon Lodge numerous times in the past six months and can call it my home away from home with extremely comfortable facilities and excellent meals prepared by Jane. It is peaceful and welcoming just what a weary traveller need after a long day behind the steering wheel. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: The rooms that look onto the pool are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forester93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodgemother, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for your review - always good to see return guests! Thank you for your continued and valued support, x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 79 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

My stay at Shandon Lodge was great, the host was friendly and the room was spacious and impeccably clean. The services as well as breakfast was A grade. I would stay there again when I am in Nelspruit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tsholo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodgemother, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review - these comments are very useful to our future travellers and help us strive to achieve the highest standards. Regards Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

A most welcoming environment, with superb facilities. Set in a magnificent suburb. I enjoy the comfort of the rooms, the friendly service and feeling of being 'part of the family'. It is always a pleasure to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodgemother, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you Lorie, We always enjoy your visits to the Lowveld, have a wonderful and well deserved Christmas Break, Much love Jane & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I've stayed at Shandon Lodge previously and am glad I returned to Jane's excellent breakfasts and the tranquility of Shandon Lodge an excellent establishment for the weary traveler. The warm welcome one receives is enough to want to make one to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodgemother, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you Roger, we really appreciate the review and strive to achieve the warmest and friendliest environment for our guests, See you soon, Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

It is always a pleasure to return to the comfort of Shandon Lodge. The hosts are extremely welcoming and do everything within their control to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. It is truly a home from home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Duncan & Nel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodgemother, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you Duncan and Nel, We absolutely love having you all to stay and look forward to it every year.. happy running, All the best Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The owners are the friendliest people that I have ever met and they make you feel like you are part of the family. The lodge is absolutely beautiful inside and out and the food is outstanding. Loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suzanne & Franc... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodgemother, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Good Morning Suzanne and Francois, thank you for your review - we loved meeting you both and hope we can be of service to you again on your escape from the hustle and the bustle of Moz!
Best regards Jane & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Tony and Jane make you feel so welcome and relaxed, the food was incredible, so many extra little touches such as complimentary port and chocolates, attention to detail, will definitely stay again, thank you

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShandonLodge, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hi Kellie
Fabulous to meet you all and the family, what a fun evening! We look forward to seeing you in 2015! All the best Jane x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
3.3 mi away
Zebrina Guesthouse
Zebrina Guesthouse
#7 of 79 in Nelspruit
177 reviews
1.9 mi away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 79 in Nelspruit
559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#4 of 79 in Nelspruit
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Roca Guest House
La Roca Guest House
#3 of 79 in Nelspruit
343 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheppard Boutique
Sheppard Boutique
#10 of 79 in Nelspruit
44 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 18 in Nelspruit
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shandon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shandon Lodge

Address: 58 Von Braun Street | Steiltes, Nelspruit 1201, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range: $76 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shandon Lodge is the perfect "home" for the business or tourist traveler in the Lowveld region. Ideally situated close to the town of Nelspruit in the quiet and peaceful suburbs with magnificent views across the Crocodile River Valley. This custom-built guesthouse boasts an AA Superior Guesthouse rating and offers the highest standards at reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shandon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing