We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Business!”
Review of Shandon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shandon Lodge
Ranked #13 of 80 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I've stayed at Shandon Lodge previously and am glad I returned to Jane's excellent breakfasts and the tranquility of Shandon Lodge an excellent establishment for the weary traveler. The warm welcome one receives is enough to want to make one to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodgemother, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you Roger, we really appreciate the review and strive to achieve the warmest and friendliest environment for our guests, See you soon, Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 80 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

It is always a pleasure to return to the comfort of Shandon Lodge. The hosts are extremely welcoming and do everything within their control to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. It is truly a home from home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Duncan & Nel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodgemother, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you Duncan and Nel, We absolutely love having you all to stay and look forward to it every year.. happy running, All the best Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The owners are the friendliest people that I have ever met and they make you feel like you are part of the family. The lodge is absolutely beautiful inside and out and the food is outstanding. Loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suzanne & Franc... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodgemother, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Good Morning Suzanne and Francois, thank you for your review - we loved meeting you both and hope we can be of service to you again on your escape from the hustle and the bustle of Moz!
Best regards Jane & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Tony and Jane make you feel so welcome and relaxed, the food was incredible, so many extra little touches such as complimentary port and chocolates, attention to detail, will definitely stay again, thank you

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShandonLodge, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hi Kellie
Fabulous to meet you all and the family, what a fun evening! We look forward to seeing you in 2015! All the best Jane x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very helpful people and much larger facilities than I expected. Secure parking, quiet and clean room. The restaurant suggested by the inn keeper was perfect. The patio area was perfect for a glass of wine or 2.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodgemother, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hi Robert, Thank you for your kind review - greatly appreciated! Such a shame that the weather wasn't kinder to you during your stay but hopefully you recharged your batteries before the next leg of your trip! We hope to see you back in SA again, Best wishes Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have just returned from my trip to SA and had to write to say that Shandon Lodge is absolutely beautiful and I would recommend a stay there. Unfortunately we were only booked to stay one night but I would have loved to stay a couple more days. The lodge is well placed, being around an hour outside Kruger, the staff are very friendly and gave us some very helpful tips and recommendations.
The rooms are lovely and very spacious and the food was very nice. You can see that the owners take great pride in their lodge and are always happy to help.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franvid147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodgemother, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you Frances for your superb review - I also wish that you could have all spent longer with us at Shandon - a really great bunch of friends - I loved the vibe you all created in the house - may this be the first of many trips x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The best of both worlds ! Perfect for the corporate road warrior. Close proximity to the business district. As good if not better for the resort traveller , a chip and a putt from a top rated golf course , and very close to the best national park in the world.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodgemother, Owner at Shandon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you Derrick - we appreciate your support and enjoyed having you here at Shandon, hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
0.7 mi away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#4 of 80 in Nelspruit
156 reviews
1 mi away
Jorn's Guest House
Jorn's Guest House
#6 of 80 in Nelspruit
177 reviews
3.3 mi away
Zebrina Guesthouse
Zebrina Guesthouse
#8 of 80 in Nelspruit
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Deja View Exclusive Guesthouse
2.5 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#11 of 18 in Nelspruit
51 reviews
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shandon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shandon Lodge

Address: 58 Von Braun Street | Steiltes, Nelspruit 1201, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range: $88 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shandon Lodge is the perfect "home" for the business or tourist traveler in the Lowveld region. Ideally situated close to the town of Nelspruit in the quiet and peaceful suburbs with magnificent views across the Crocodile River Valley. This custom-built guesthouse boasts an AA Superior Guesthouse rating and offers the highest standards at reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shandon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing