We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Nearby Hotels
$59
$52
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nelspruit Lodge(Nelspruit)(Great Value!)
$53
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Promenade(Nelspruit)
$74
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$98
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panorama Guest Farm(Nelspruit)(Great Value!)
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
SUN1 Nelspruit(Nelspruit)
$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
33
77
33
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
77
33
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscheck in was quick and efficientkruger national parkclean hotelwater pressurereception staffbreakfast and dinnershopping centrefresh fruitrooms are nicecomfortable staystayed for one nightfriendly serviceenjoyed my staykfcprokardmozambiquestopover
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 159 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel after crossing the border late and was slightly disappointed by the price compared to quality of service. The rooms are decent hotel rooms but this hotel seemed to be aimed at business travellers

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyrfsa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear tonyrfsa09

Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. Quality is something we are passionate about and welcome any feedback on how to improve in this regard.

The hotel caters for business, leisure and group bookings in terms of location, facilities and rates. I apologise if this is not how you felt as we pride ourselves on being well positioned within the Nelspruit area.

I hope to welcome you back in the future and please contact me at gm@phnelspruit.co.za if you have any queries.

Kind Regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Protea Hotel Nelspruit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Protea Nelspruit is a more up-market hotel with nice rooms and furnishings. The beds are very comfortable.
The stand-out was the quality of the meals. Excellent.
Staff are attentive and friendly.
A good spot to stay to explore this part of the Lowveld or even a short trip into Mozambique.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main road.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoz_ichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Stoz_ichi

Thank you for your sharing your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Protea Hotel Nelspruit.

I can tell you that the chef will be delighted to receive your compliments about the food. The TEAM continues to deliver quality food and fresh produce to ensure that the GUESTS are happy.

Attentive and friendly STAFF is something that we are so very proud of and I will definitely be congratulating them for their exemplary service.

A base to explore the Lowveld we are and we hope to host you again on your next adventure.

Kind Regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Protea Hotel Nelspruit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Travelled to Nelspruit at the last minute for a meeting. Was lucky to get what was probably the last room in the hotel which also happened to be a disabled room. Clean hotel, friendly staff albeit slow in restaurant service. Comfortable beds. Downside is the design of the disabled room which seems to cater for disabled only. I don't think they had planned for disabled guests having able-bodied travel companions or partners...specifically referring to the limited height of the shower. All in all not a bad hotel.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank TSH010GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear TSH010GP

We were only too happy to accommodate you at the last minute.

Our search for excellence is continuous and providing GUESTS with a clean and comfortable place to stay, filled with friendly STAFF is something we are proud of.

I apologise that your service in the restaurant was slow as this does not reflect the standards we are usually known for. I will be sitting down with the TEAM to iron out these concerns.

I have taken note of your comment regarding the difficulties you encountered with the shower and my maintenance TEAM will be looking into fixing the problem.

Your title that we are well suited for business travel is spot on and I look forward to your future trips to Nelspruit.

Kind Regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Protea Hotel Nelspruit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I enjoyed staying in this hotel
-Rooms are clened
-Floors are well maintained
-Passeges are maintained well
-Reception exellent
-Dinning room good condition
-Swimming pools are being cleaned everday and everytime
-Dids facilities galore
-Jumping casltle supplied, for our children, my children need me to bring them again next time,
-They did not want to leave the hotel and it is not the first time going to a hotel but they liked the Protea Hotel we went to in Nelspruit
-The surrounding it is also clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: -Rooms on the South side less noise. -Higher floors have less A/C unit noise -Corner suites are large and sunny
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makola37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Makola37

Thank you for giving us your stamp of approval and for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

Your review highlights our attention to detail and the effort we put in with regards to the maintenance of our hotel. We take great pride in the work we do and that extends to all areas from the rooms, to the restaurant and the service that the STAFF offer. Thank you for taking notice; I will congratulate the TEAM on the great work they are doing.

Family holidays are very important and we are thrilled to hear that your kids enjoyed the jumping castle and therefore don’t want to leave.

We look forward to your next visit with the family.

Kind Regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Protea Hotel Nelspruit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed at the Nelspruit Protea Hotel from 14/12/2012 - 17/12/2012 and can only say that we will definitely be back. As we were celebrating our anniversary we arrived at the hotel to find our room beautifully decorated, champagne and a cute teddy on our bed. The staff are so friendly from the security guard at the boom gate to the housekeepers and restaurant staff. Nothing is too much for them. The breakfasts were delicious!!! Thank you Protea Nelspruit for making our stay so comfortable and memorable.

Room Tip: Our room was an executive suite which was very comfortable and spacious.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilganz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Hilganz

GUEST feedback is very important to us as it enables us to see if we are meeting and exceeding GUEST expectations. In this case, there is no doubt that the STAFF have played their role to ensure that your anniversary was special and memorable. The decorated room, friendly STAFF and delicious breakfasts all form part of true Protea Hospitality.

Thank you for celebrating with us and posting such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

Kind Regards
Jacques Jordaan
General Manager
Protea Hotel Nelspruit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews