We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southern Sun Emnotweni
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Nelspruit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Lovely , clean and easy reached location.
Where can you still walk across the road (if you like with helpful and of
friendly security staff) to a most enjoyable mall and casino.
Lovely gardens, the trees are beautiful, and good food!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinaDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 399 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I had booked at another hotel in White River which when we arrived became a night mare so we were left with very few places to stay as all the BB were fully booked because of a cycle race on the Sunday
We then went to Emnotweni Sun andfrom us walking in at reception the smile and help was great we got a room on the 3rd floor room 0312
Room had great double bed with TV and AC and clean and yes the friendly staff and Buffet meal was great pricenot cheap but it was worth the stay and life saver

Room Tip: We stay on the 3rd floor and there was no noise and it was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coenie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful. Our room was down the passage on the ground floor facing the garden, and therefore it was really peaceful and quiet. Nice aircon to keep the room cool in the hot summer days. Spacious room with two double beds!! We enjoyed the breakfast, even though we missed some dishes as they are not all together. We enjoyed relaxing in the peaceful garden. Walking distance to the mall if you need to do shopping. 15 Mins to Ilanga Mall which has a bigger variety of shops & restaurants. Smaller shopping centers closer to the hotel. I can definitely recommend this hotel for a peaceful sleepover.
Thanks to management & staff.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the garden. They are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very clean friendly staff and food (buffet style) whilst not Gourmet was reasonable and enough variety to please all. We only stayed one night on route to Kruger but after a long journey it was welcoming and relaxing. Despite a great many guests (African nations football) it was quiet, I doubt the same could be said for a european hotel with a lot of football fans staying.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

it was a good stay, from the beginning of AFCON , excellent staff in place, as a Director frequent member, gave me newspapers, internet vouchers daily....am out but will be checking inn again for quarterfinals and semifinals AFCON matches, the food, accommodation perfect and the beds....at the reception staff member by the name Promise was so good and helpful with a beautiful smile...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pule S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We set up camp at this nice hotel during the Group games of the Afcon 2013! It is the usual Southern Sun efficient hospitality! The Chef managed to organize the lads a nshima with chicken in a jiffy which was very welcome! Enjoyed the stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kafula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Warm welcome, all all staff are super. Excellent breakfast, but not so good dinner buffet. We tried the a la carte menu, and we need to go for our third choice, since the first two where out of stock.The corridor to our room had a funny smell but not extended to the room. The TV in the room had poor image quality in most channels.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JosePepeMaputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelspruit
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
2 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#9 of 18 in Nelspruit
253 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#10 of 18 in Nelspruit
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Town Lodge Mbombela
Town Lodge Mbombela
#6 of 18 in Nelspruit
49 reviews
7.9 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#2 of 9 in White River
193 reviews
0 mi away
Panorama Guest Farm
Panorama Guest Farm
#5 of 18 in Nelspruit
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Emnotweni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Emnotweni

Address: 15 Government Boulevard, Riverside Park,, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa (Formerly Emnotweni Sun)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Nelspruit
Price Range: $133 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Southern Sun Emnotweni 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Sun Emnotweni (previously known as Emnotweni Sun Hotel)is a short distance from bustling Nelspruit on the R40 to White River. Only 22km from the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport,40km from the Kruger National Park and 210 km from Maputo, Southern Sun Emnotweni caters for business and leisure travellers alike. A fair blend of nature, beauty and Southern Sun hospitality makes this hotel the perfect location for a relaxing holiday. Southern Sun Emnotweni is situated in close proximity to the Emnotweni Casino and Entertainment Complex, Riverside Shopping Mall, Mbombela Stadium, other local landmarks and more, making it a convenient base for leisure or business travel. The hotel offers relaxing outdoor activities and facilities including a pool and a fully air conditioned fitness centre. The well appointed rooms offer a sanctuary for the traveller, with all the modern comforts required to ensure a rejuvenating and relaxing stay, including air conditioning and a private bathroom. Business travellers can make use of the hotel’s efficient conference venues and facilities while the hotel features a business centre with wireless internet connectivity. 500mb of free wi-fi access per day is available to hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Emnotweni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing