We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tapas with the girls” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saffron Restaurant

Saffron Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 83 Restaurants in Nelspruit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Saffron is a spacious, contemporary and relaxed restaurant.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great tapas with the girls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We asked the waiter to create a custom menu for a group of 8 girls, gave them a budget and away they went. The food was delicious and it was just the right amount for the group. Highly recommend.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Owner at Saffron Restaurant, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. I am pleased we were able to take care of your needs and hope to welcome you back next time you are in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    53
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelspruit, South Africa
2 reviews
“Personalised service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Be sure to ask Steve Moore to guide you through the tapas-style menu. The bite-sized portions are perfect if you enjoy a lazy Spanish style of eating. The food is always freshly prepared, and each bite is a taste sensation. The wine list is also excellent considering Steve's background in the wine industry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MelPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Owner at Saffron Restaurant, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
I really appreciate your words of recommendation and rest assured we will continue offer high levels of food and service. I look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Tapas, good vino and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Had a great meal at Saffron recently. We were visiting for a weekend break, and found Saffron thanks to TripAdvisor. Ordered a few tapas, and didn't expect the food to be as delicious as it was. Very impressive in presentation and taste, the food was quickly served, and all the waitrons were super friendly. Location is also great, as it is just outside the CBD, so very central, and very relaced.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greykie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Owner at Saffron Restaurant, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Customer feedback is exceptionally important to us and I appreciate you taking the time to comment. We continually make changes to both menu and wine list so you can be assured of a new experience when you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayton, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had our wedding anniversary dinner at the restaurant. This was our first visit and was not quite sure what to expect. This was a gem of a discovery. The food was excellent and the service great. The chef knows which tastes to pair together. The beef carpaccio with basil pesto was fenominal and then there was the dessert tappas. I will never order dessert at this restaurant unless it is the tappas dessert. Thank you Steve and team that you made the evening so special and I am looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alrentia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We found the restaurant on Trip Advisor and decided to stop by on the way back to Johannesburg for an early dinner. We had such a great time and the food was fantastic! The service was great and the waiter on the day and manager were accomodating (considering the kitchen wasn't open when we arrived and they had to make a plan for us) and friendly. Love love love the place and will definately be heading back soon:-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tee Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Owner at Saffron Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I thank you for your comments and appreciate your feedback. We strive to offer great value for money and service so all comments are gratefully received. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Restaurant also viewed

Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
 
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Saffron Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing