We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chimps to be viewed”

Jane Goodall Chimpanzee Eden Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.59*
and up
Full-Day Chimp Eden and Botanical Gardens tour from Hazyview
Ranked #4 of 22 things to do in Nelspruit
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melkbosstrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
233 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Chimps to be viewed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Interesting to view and a good effort to rehabilitate the chimps previously kept in captivity, Personally do not like animals in gages but support the good work being done,

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vorsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    73
    16
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I could never get tired of this experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are anywhere near the Nelspruit area, I would highly recommend a trip to Chimp Eden.

The sanctuary does the most remarkable work with the chimps, the tour is educational, interesting and the facility allows visitors to get close enough to the chimps to observe them without feeling like you are looking at caged animals.

Marc, our tour guide was able to provide relevant and interesting information and he was able to engage with all members of the (human) group.

The gift shop is well stocked with souvenirs and the restaurant provides a small menu for light meals.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank emminicholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent, well run facility with a true sense of purpose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

After being in the bush for a week enjoying animals in their natural setting, I was a bit dubious about seeing chimps in a confined setting. My husband and I were not sure what to expect, but were so pleasantly suprised by the mission, environment and staff of this amazing facility. First and foremost (our understanding of the Jane Goodall Sanctuary - 3 in Africa) is the need to rescue chimps from unsafe settings and attempt to rehabilitate them to join others either at the sanctuary or back in the wild. The other big emphasis is education - and an excellent job is done with the info boards at the beginning and with the staff. Our guide (?name - but he is the son of the administrator) and has been around animals all his life - was amazing. I think he has a calling for this work and the sanctuary is lucky to have him. The chimps put on quite a show and it's all under the discussion of rescuing and saving the animals. The animals seem to be well taken care of. This facility is well run and every safety precaution is taken for visitors and staff. There was a physically disabled person on our tour and the sanctuary staff did everything to make her visit enjoyable. Also, easy for the family with stroller on the tour to get around.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pumpkinhead40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Initiative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

The sanctuary focuses on it's goal and that is to offer a safe haven to chimps. It is great that they have been able to incorporate visits from the public, which I am sure can stress the chimps out. The staff are very efficient and helpful and want to share as much as they can regarding the sanctuary and the chimps. Although it is sad how some of these chimps are treated and it can be quite upsetting to listen to the stories it is worth every minute!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having watched NIna, a chimp from Chimp Eden who had been rescued giving birth on a camera placed in her room and having watched the rescue of many abused chimps being rescued from various parts of Africa on Chimp Eden on Animal Planet, a TV programme, my husband and I decided to visit this sanctuary. We were not disappointed. Our guide, Mark Cronje, was excellent and very informative and it was wonderful seeing all the chimps, many of which we had seen being rescued on the TV programme. There is a very nice gift shop and a restaurant which serves light meals and refreshments.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibbsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jane Goodall Chimpanzee Eden Sanctuary also viewed

 
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Jane Goodall Chimpanzee Eden Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing