We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mariu Guest House... loved every minute if our stay”
Review of Mariu Guest House

Mariu Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mariu Guest House
Ranked #18 of 80 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My hubby and I decided to begin our honeymoon in Nelspruit, and after much research decided on Mariu Guest House. Our gracious and friendly hosts, Ralph & Charlene, made our stay absolutely amazing.... Room number 9, with the awesome bathroom, the delicious breakfasts, all the little finishing touches - from our room, to the garden and the main house, all contributed to a relaxing, romantic stay. We loved every minute of our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larryandmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 99 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

We booked a room for two nights, but left after one night without refund. We did not feel pampered. Our room was on the ground floor, looking straight onto a concrete wall. The room was clean but equipped with only the bare necessities: tiny room, minimal furniture, tiny wash hand basin, tiny towel, etc. The air smelled unpleasant of chemical agent; we spotted no less than four air fresheners on top of the cupboard that we placed outside, leaving the room smelling of moist as well as the wardrobe that we could not use. Rooms are very close to each other, with windows three sides; so no privacy, and you can forget sleeping in with the noise of people and aircon units. The many dogs on the premises add to the ambiance. There is a swimming pool, but it’s located right into the parking lot!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank memberTunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The place is nice and clean. Rooms are beautiful and well furnished. The breakfast box is very handy on the way to Kruger Park. Hosts are helpful and give all necessary tips either for dinner downtown or the best way to enter the Kruger Park.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank francoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived from CT after a very hectic day of travelling .I have to say that the guest house is amazing.breakfest is wonderful and the room we have feels like 5 star accommodation. Rooms are equipped with bar fridges and satellite and is very clean.all our needs were met and there was no hesitation from there side to make our two night stay amazing. Would definitely come back.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jp V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We used the guest house for an overnight stop in Nelspruit. The rooms are well equipped and spacious. All double beds were very comfortable. The only complaint came from 1 person in our group ( we had 4 rooms ) sleeping in the twin room that the single bed was not comfortable at all.
The bathrooms are ok, personally I prefer a shower enclosure, rather then an open shower as I have never worked out not to flood the rest of the bathroom floor and then walk with wet feet into the room. I can certainly recommend this facility and would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Ralph and Charlene are professional and spontaneous hosts - with a wonderfull sense of humour. These days one need to be uplifted by sharp and witty hosts. They met us very friendly on arrival and catered for all our needs. It was the wedding weekend of our son, him and his bestman also stayed at this upmarket venue. The rooms are very neat and good value for money. It's very seldom that what you see on the web is what you get - we got more! Splendid breakfast !
You will see us again and again...
Jacques and Teresa du Preez
Centurion

Room Tip: Our family used 4 rooms, I believe most rooms with showers, our room no 9 had a fantastic bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JQduPreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Ralph and his wife are incredible hosts. We loved everything in their place. Rooms are excellent and every detail is perfect in the place. Ralph was incredible in helping us with directions across the city and precautions...
We'll definetly gona back over

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Pingalsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#10 of 18 in Nelspruit
50 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
#12 of 71 in Nelspruit
148 reviews
1.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Columbus Guest House
Columbus Guest House
#19 of 80 in Nelspruit
27 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 18 in Nelspruit
340 reviews
2 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 18 in Nelspruit
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariu Guest House

Address: 8 Augusta St | Sonheuwel, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range: $70 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariu Guesthouse is situated in Mpumalanga Nelspruit. The guesthouse is nestled on a hill surrounded by indigenous flora with stunning views of breathtaking countryside. The lodge is only minutes away from the excitement that Nelspruit has to offer and center to the many Lowveld attractions, ie the Kruger National Park and scenery routes. We offer 9 luxurious double en-suite rooms with private entrance/balconies and or patios. We invite you to come and relax in your luxurious room, or cool down in our pool while enjoying the splendid garden. Meals if selected will be served to your room so no time is wasted on your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mariu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing