We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place before Kruger”
Review of Mariu Guest House

Mariu Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mariu Guest House
Ranked #17 of 78 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were in Marie Guest House on march 2013. We were there before and after our 4 days-safari in Kruger National Park and it was an excellent choice.
The house is nice, charming, spacious and has lot of small details that give it a wonderfull decoration touch.
Ralph and Charlene (the owners) are absolutely polite, very friendly and they helped us and adviced us a lot in our staying.
They are very dedicated in their business and they know very well how to deal with guests!
We were very much confortable with them.
We absolutely recomend this guest house!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laly_Viajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Mariu Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 99 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived on the 28th of March this yr frm Botswana.The lady was kind but out of nowhere the husband came and threw us out calling us names.imagine we drove more than 400km and we were not familiar with the town.He threatened to call the cops and we had to flee the place as we were afraid of what they might do to us.we had to goggle for road lodges and fortunately we found 1.
they refused to give us back our money saying we did not book through them,to our suprice we recived an email yesterday and the owers have reported that we damaged their lawn and we have to pay R1800 for that.the funny thing is we were on the pavement just by the reception.We got in our car and drove off.If thats how black guests are treated then SA still has a long way!!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank betty312583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The start of our 23 day South African tour began with four nights at the Mariu Guest House. Charlene & Ralph are awesome Hosts. First class hospitality, great breakfasts. The day we toured Kruger National Park, Charlene packed us a breakfast and lunch that was most enjoyable. Ralph gave us very good advice on roads to travel on to maximize our 1 day tour of Kruger - we were thrilled with all the animal sightings. The weather was perfect for our trekking day. Great location to stay at for visiting Kruger, Blyde River Canyon and the Lowveld Botanical gardens. Very close proximity to restaurants.
Serge & Dianna G. Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19,431,945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Being a regular traveller, I was totally surprised at the lack of hospitality received from the host. Unfriendly welcome, parking is a HUGE problem and the room was sub-standard, supposedly "paraplegic friendly" but without the necessary to be classified as such. One has to guess which bottle is used for shampoo and which is body wash. No privacy in room as windows have see-through blinds and all the guests are on top of each other. Do not expect me to visit again - but then, I suppose that is exactly what the host would want. Seems to be a money making establishment without the necessary skills to operate it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TruPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed at Mariu in March 2013. Sharlene and Ralph are meticulous hosts. Nothing appears too much trouble. The rooms are small, the bathrooms are basic and lack privacy and the floor coverings are sparse, but the area is quiet and a quality bed provides top sleep quality. The guest house is a bit out of town and we had difficulty finding it. Perhaps written directions from the main highway Madiba Drive intersection would be helpful as part of the booking sheet. We paid 750R per night which we considered good value for the package.

Room Tip: Zest Restaurant at the I'langa Mall Shopping Centre was surprisingly good value for money.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadika47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

its a place like home..where everything is clean and tidy..nice and secure place to stay,relaxing and cozy.breakfast was fresh with freshly baked muffins.
one of the places that you will keep a very good memory about and definitely will go there again if i decide to return to nelspruit for another visit to this beautiful part of south africa.
i am a smoker so i used to smoke outside the room like i do at my home and because of the atmosphere outside my room i miss smoking there in the evening:)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eslam Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for one night before our trip to Krueger Park, and it was definitely a nice stay. The house is charming and beautiful, situated in a very cozy neighborhood, and the rooms are quite spacious and clean. Breakfast is very good, with plenty of options. The owners will do everything they can to make your stay better, with good tips just like the restaurant they recommended us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#10 of 18 in Nelspruit
46 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#3 of 78 in Nelspruit
144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nelspruit Lodge
Nelspruit Lodge
#5 of 78 in Nelspruit
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Bundu Lodge
Bundu Lodge
#7 of 70 in Nelspruit
317 reviews
1.5 mi away
Zebrina Guesthouse
Zebrina Guesthouse
#7 of 78 in Nelspruit
155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
#10 of 70 in Nelspruit
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariu Guest House

Address: 8 Augusta St | Sonheuwel, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range: $52 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariu Guesthouse is situated in Mpumalanga Nelspruit. The guesthouse is nestled on a hill surrounded by indigenous flora with stunning views of breathtaking countryside. The lodge is only minutes away from the excitement that Nelspruit has to offer and center to the many Lowveld attractions, ie the Kruger National Park and scenery routes. We offer 9 luxurious double en-suite rooms with private entrance/balconies and or patios. We invite you to come and relax in your luxurious room, or cool down in our pool while enjoying the splendid garden. Meals if selected will be served to your room so no time is wasted on your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mariu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing