We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mariu Guest House

Mariu Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mariu Guest House
Ranked #16 of 70 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Mariu staff goes the xtra mile for their guest, can recommend it. Very close to the MediClinic. Had to leave early in the mornings and breakfast was ready at 6h00. Also it is very safe.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZulekaKnoetze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    21
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
34
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Best place to relax after a hard day's work, the reception is welcoming, its in a quiet neighborhood and at Mariu you can be guaranteed of a good night's sleep.I'd definitely recommend the guesthouse to some of my IT professional colleagues who will be visiting Nelspruit in the near future. Well done guys!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chivasa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denfield, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very tranquil place hidden in the area! Very nice place to stay, very comfortable and very welcoming hosts!
We stayed here on a business trip for the railways and enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere!
Well done!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed at Mariu for one night on our way to the Kruger park. Ralph and his dogs gave us a warm welcome and showed us to our beautiful room. The room was very clean, spacious, nicely decorated and had a beautiful balcony where we could sit in the evening sun. Ralph also provided us with great tips and information on where to eat and how to continue our journey. Breakfast was lovely, we sat outside on the patio and were served a nice cooked breakfast. Great value guesthouse, would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed at Mariu for one night on our way to the Kruger park. Ralph and his dogs gave us a warm welcome and showed us to our beautiful room. The room was very clean, spacious, nicely decorated and had a beautiful balcony where we could sit in the evening sun. Ralph also provided us with great tips and information on where to eat and how to continue our journey. Breakfast was lovely, we sat outside on the patio and were served a nice cooked breakfast. Great value guesthouse, would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Had another pleasant stay with Ralph at this great little place in Nelspruit. Rooms are comfortable, and spotless, and a warm welcome is provided not just by Ralph but by the family pets too. Breakfast on the verandah with birdsong and greenery all around is something special. This will be my regular 'spot' in Nelspruit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xefina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Ralph and Ricky realy made something beautfull. The house, the rooms, the terras, the breakfast and offcourse the enthousiasm from the moment you enter the gate.
We only had one night to enjoy our stay in this beautifull guesthse where we felt so welcome and at home.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlhenrverh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
1.1 mi away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#4 of 70 in Nelspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.6 mi away
Columbus Guest House
Columbus Guest House
#20 of 70 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.5 mi away
Zebrina Guesthouse
Zebrina Guesthouse
#7 of 70 in Nelspruit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harmony Guesthouse
Harmony Guesthouse
#33 of 70 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nelspruit Lodge
Nelspruit Lodge
#6 of 70 in Nelspruit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.4 mi away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 70 in Nelspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariu Guest House

Property: Mariu Guest House
Address: 8 Augusta St | Sonheuwel, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariu Guesthouse is situated in Mpumalanga Nelspruit. The guesthouse is nestled on a hill surrounded by indigenous flora with stunning views of breathtaking countryside. The lodge is only minutes away from the excitement that Nelspruit has to offer and center to the many Lowveld attractions, ie the Kruger National Park and scenery routes. We offer 9 luxurious double en-suite rooms with private entrance/balconies and or patios. We invite you to come and relax in your luxurious room, or cool down in our pool while enjoying the splendid garden. Meals if selected will be served to your room so no time is wasted on your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mariu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing