We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thee best! I will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
Piggs Peak
1 review
“Thee best! I will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

My stay at Old Vics was relaxing and pleasant! By far the best place I stayed in Africa. The entire Inn feels so homey and the views are beautiful. Dave and Bella were such a pleasure to work with. They were accommodating at every point of our stay and went far above and beyond what I could ask from any hosts. I hope to be back with my family some day and do a trip to Kruger Park!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thanks Amy for taking time to write a review,and thanks for staying with us.Hope your travels are going well.Thanks Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    39
    16
    7
    9
See reviews for
18
37
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here at the Crazy Kangaroo's part of the accommodation in a dorm room for a couple of nights at the beginning of August 2012. Had the whole room to myself on the first night and only one other person stayed there on the second. Clean room and bathroom, had a very comfortable stay here. Bella was extremely accommodating and always offered to take me around Nelspruit with her on her errands (however this probably wouldn't happen during busier times of the year!).

The pool had just been re-marbled and was looking fabulous. The location itself is wonderful, almost like a tropical animal sanctuary, as well wild african cats roaming around. Lots of little details that have been well thought of really brought the place together in my opinion, with a lovely breakfast area and pretty decorations all around for example.

All kitchen facilities were in great condition and the living room space (inside and outside) were nice. It was extremely reasonable in price for the facilities available.

All in all I had a great stay here at this family run hostel and if i'm ever in the area again would re-visit most definitely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vateet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank for taking time to write a review.I am really happy you enjoyed your stay here,thank you.Hope the rest of your travels were great and that you enjoyed South Africa.thank you Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were on our way to Johannesburgh and it was a public holiday that weekend, so options where to stay were pretty rare. When we wanted to check in, a girl called Happiness was showing us the facilities. She wasn't happy at all, very unfriendly but yet still helpful. We parked our car in front of the guesthouse and told her that we wanted to leave for dinner. Nevertheless she told the couple arriving after us that they could park their car behind ours and literally blocking our way.
When we wanted to leave for dinner, the other couple had to drive their car out of our way. As we returned from dinner, we again let Happiness know, that we wanted to leave early in the morning. She showed us a spot where we could park our car. The morning after, she had to wake the same couple again, so they could drive their car out of our way.
Beside this little story, the place has seen better days. Everything is pretty run down and when I took a shower in the morning, I noticed a frog hopping out of the shower-cabin.
I would NOT reccomend this place as I'm sure there are better B&B in Nelspruit for less money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gamadava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for staying at our BACKPACKERS,we are on a nature reserve and sometimes it is very hard to keep these small creatures out,it part of been in the bush,sorry.As for the car parking you are always welcome to park on our pavement some people request to park inside and tell our staff they will move their car as soon as requested (they know they parking people in but they are quite happy to move the car a 5 minute delay.)
We are a four star backpackers with a nature feeling to our place we are rated by grading council which will not let us have the four stars if we were not up to standard.
Please note we are a backpackers.
Thanks for staying with us and I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.Thanks Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel is a little far, but if you call them, they pick you up. The place is very charming, in very good conditions and the tour we took was very good. Our guide Ted was the most remarkable about all the place. He was very experienced, very kind and responsible about wild animal. We´d love to have another guide like him.
About the place, rooms are very nice and the environment is really good. We only met one of the owners, Bella,a really nice girl, friendly and cared about customers. On the other side, Hapiness a girl who was in charge those nights, was a little tough and unfriendly. Wi Fi was not working and a laptop was available but really expensive. Restaurant food is really expensive for a place like that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcposada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with us.I am glad that Ted looked after you well and that you enjoyed your tour with us.Thanks for taking time to write a review.Thanks Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chirk, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I've tried to be as fair as possible reviewing my recent stay here. There is no doubt that this hostel is very picturesque. It has a beautiful pool area, raised decking with comfy sofas and the rooms and kitchen are to hostel standards. I am afraid though that this is where it ends. This hostel demands full payment before arrival and will not under any circumstances issue a refund! They do not offer a secure payment system such as paypal and wanted us to email our credit card details to them! The owners run two hostels from the same site so even though you book the Old Vic you may find yourself in the cheaper "Crazy Kangaroos" next door. When we arrived we where told we had been 'upgraded' to The Old Vic which was very frustrating as, to our knowledge, this is what we had already booked. Our room did not have a lock. This is something that is very basic and essential in a hostel! The toilets and shower are situated right next to the office and you have to walk through the communal area and check in area to get to them. They do not allow you to bring your own alcohol and insist you buy from their 'bar' at extortionate prices (think London pub prices). This hostel does not offer collection from Nelspruit as advertised. In fact, this was the only reason we booked with them. They are situated about 10 min drive outside Nelspruit so you'll have to take a taxi costing around R70. Before arrival we had arranged to be taken out to the airport to collect our hire car. When we got to the hostel we where told it would cost us R300 for the 15 min trip. This is clearly taking advantage of international travelers whom the owners seem to believe are loaded as R300 is a lot of money. Furthermore, we had to wait an hour to leave as the owner had things to do beforehand.The journey there and back would have actually cost them no more than R50 in time and fuel. They do not offer maps of the local area. The hostel is situated in the suburbs and unfortunately we where driving around for over an hour trying to find our way back. There are no signposts on main roads and nothing to direct you at all. It was honestly like being trapped in a maze. Parking is very limited. If you are the first car you will be parked in! This clearly does not suit travelers that need to be away early in the morning.
We would never return to this hostel and cannot recommend it but hope that this review will help fellow travelers make an informed decision.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thanks for taking time to write this review,as you have stayed with us you will see that there are Trip Advisor signs up and we love reviews good or bad.We knew we were going to get a review like this from you.
It is you personal option to see things the way you do.How ever a few facts should be pointed out that alcohol may not to be brought on to a property that sells alcohol and has license to do so.That is the law of our country.Our bar price are very reasonable 20 rand for 750ml beer!!.2 You were upgraded from a 10 bed dorm to a tripple private room you only paid 130 rand each a night.
3The rooms all have locks (this is a fact) we just take a 50 rand key deposit which is refunded in full on the return of the key we have lost a lot of keys
4 The airport is 35 kms away and takes 30 minutes to get there an hour return,we have taxi numbers everywhere you were welcome to use a taxi for the same price.The trip is from 200 to 300 rand with a taxi.
We also would love to point out that our blankets went missing in your room when you checked out we tried to get hold of you you gave us the wrong details.
Hope that the rest of your time in South Africa was good and that you go back to UK with fond memories.Thanks Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

The owner is rather full of himself, his wife not that friendly. Location is not convenient for visiting anything if you don't have a car, so backpackers beware. (owner's response: "Why don't you have a car?") There is a nice small walk nearby, but watch out for dogs. Outside, the pool is dirty and everything smells like cat urine. I do not rate "poor", because when there were very few other guests, the owner upgraded us to a nicer room.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thanks for staying with us,we do know that we are 4kms from the city centre and that no hostels are in the citycentre.
We thank you for taking time to write about us 4 months after you stayed with us.We only wish we could have helped you while you were here.The pool water is clean however it does need to be remarbled (in the winter months) and thus looks dirty. I hope you have enjoy the rest of your travels in South Africa.
Thanks Dave

I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

I travelled to South Africa for my girlfriend's 30th birthday and we started the trip with a 3-day tour to Kruger Park.
After looking for several tour guides around the web - I ran into many good reviews on Old Vic and Kruger Flexi Tours, plus the prices seemed much more reasonable than others found on the web.
We decided to go for it and we're VERY HAPPY WE DID SO!

From the first moment, when Bella took care of our booking and all special requests,
When Happiness opened the gate for us and helped us with getting in, parking, took care of our meals (Yummy!) and of course, last but not least - Crazy Dave which took us on a perfect 3-day tour to Kruger Park (Elephant Trumpets tour) and took care of everything from A to Z.
Dave, and the staff, were all warm, welcoming, taking care of all of our special requests and making sure we see every possible animal (along with the Big Five of course...), eventually becoming a friend.

I would recommend to Anyone flying to South Africa to book a tour with Dave, and stay at the backpackers in the night before the tour (and possibly the night after the tour), it's fairly cheap, the food is great, and most important - it's easier to leave around 04:45 am when you're already there :)

Dave, thanks again from the depths of our hearts, that trip will definitely stay with us for life!

Room Tip: We chose the en-suite rooms, price seemed worth it but that's just a personal preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zvika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
2.6 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 19 in Nelspruit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Promenade
BEST WESTERN Hotel Promenade
#13 of 19 in Nelspruit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
2.2 mi away
Zebrina Guesthouse
Zebrina Guesthouse
#7 of 70 in Nelspruit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bundu Lodge
Bundu Lodge
#4 of 64 in Nelspruit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Vic Traveller's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Vic Traveller's Inn

Property: Old Vic Traveller's Inn
Address: 12 Impala Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Vic Traveller's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the South African Lowveld like never before ……Kruger and More caters for the international traveller visiting Southern Africa. Our accommodation is suitable for South African sport groups, families, couples and single travellers. We are situated in Nelspruit, the capital of Mpumalanga, and will accommodate you with real South African hospitality. Crazy Dave (who did the travel thing himself for 4 years) and Bella believe in comfort and value for money. We Offer: Accommodation Travel Desk Tours in and around the Big 5 countryside. Car Rentals Adventure Trips . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Old Vic Traveller's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing