We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Experience in the lowveld”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jorn's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jorn's Guest House
Ranked #5 of 70 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nelspruit
1 review
“Awesome Experience in the lowveld”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

When you have to go away for business you miss home, but staying at Jorns is like being at home, the management the rooms the view, the food.... there is just noting that is missing here! Although the Lowveld has alot of accomodation there is nowhere else to stay but at Jorns!! What an awesome experience!! Thank you for the hospitality and the kindness!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendabotha97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rommel444, General Manager at Jorn's Guest House, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Brenda,

Thank you very much for the very positive review - it's truly inspiring words and we take them to heart - always reaching for service excellence and helping our guests to find a home away from home here with us.
We hope to see accommodate you here again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    40
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
58
41
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Have them on speed dial for my monthly business visits! Friendly team and well-trained staff made the experience enjoyable. Love the pool. Food is of great quality and was very impressed with the overall atmosphere and decor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon Remax d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rommel444, Manager at Jorn's Guest House, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you, Leon - for the positive review! We always look forward to welcoming our regular guests back and to spoil them with a superb breakfast before their day of hard work or travel in our beautiful province.
We will soon have spa facilities available to pamper our guests even more - especially those travel weary business professionals will benefit from various spa treatment and massage - tailor made for deep relaxation and stress relief.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very nice place, good location, excellent service and facilities.

I´ve stayed there in my last two visits to Nelspruit, it´s an hidden gem. The place very well located, the rooms are spacious and very comfortable, Jorn and his team are very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDarsam_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
155 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The wife and I stayed only for one weekend night - Jorn's Gastehaus is quite a special guest house at that.

Situated in Nelspruit's southern suburbs, it is centrally situated and only a few minutes drive from Central Nelspruit. The guest house has a beautiful setting next to huge boulders, overlooking the town. The gardens are beautiful and lush and with many interesting room layouts - some are separate from the main building (cottage like).

As the Guest House was full and we had a last minute reservation, we stayed in one of the smaller, standard rooms. Although small, well equipped with aircon, fridge, coffee/tea station, bath with shower and small make-up desk. Everything neat and professional, although I disliked the old-style TV, fitted very high in a cupboard.

We relaxed the evening in their comfortable central lounge with its "honesty" self-help bar. The included breakfast was great and the lounge area with swimming pool make for a stunning and tranquil layout.

Met the owner's wife as well - very friendly and engaging and she, together with the staff, bring a warm hospitality to the guest house. We were really sorry that we only stayed for one night and will most certainly be back in future!

This guest house comes well recommended.

Room Tip: There apartments are beautiful and spacious. There are a few standard rooms however that are small b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiaan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I have been there quit a few times now and each stay is more fun and longer than the previous.My family and I go the 3-5 times a year and have been doing so for the last 3 years.This guesthouse is like our home away from home . I always enjoy my stay because of the very friendly staff and the amazing garden. The rooms are big and very comfy. Make sure to stay there next time you are in nelspruit

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fancytravellerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eMalahleni, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Please experience this when you can! It is a great place to stay. The surrounds are beautiful, the rooms are stunning and the service is outstanding.

Room Tip: We also had the opportunity to stay in the Executive Suit before and this is one of the most underra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MvanEmmenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
255 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

The room was huge with a bath inside the bedroom and the equally spacious bathroom enclosed containing a shower, WC and basin. It was quiet, private and very pleasant to stay there. There is a stocked fridge in the room and coffee making equipment as well as all the other usual things like TV etc. The gardens are magnificent and the path to our room even crossed a Koi pond. The breakfast is marvellous and the decor is very tasteful and understated everywhere. There is a lovely pool and a good view over the city. The owner introduced himself at breakfast and the staff were all very friendly and professional. It was a true haven after a harrowing drive. Thanks for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask to see various rooms. Avoid close to carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarveyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
3.0 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 19 in Nelspruit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 70 in Nelspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Roca Guest House
La Roca Guest House
#2 of 70 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#4 of 70 in Nelspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.7 mi away
Zebrina Guesthouse
Zebrina Guesthouse
#7 of 70 in Nelspruit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jorn's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jorn's Guest House

Property: Jorn's Guest House
Address: 62 Hunter Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jorn's Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a nature reserve, this charming owner run and managed German Gästehaus is situated in a sub-tropical garden with water features, koi ponds, breath-taking mountain views and sparkling swimming pool overlooking Nelspruit. For nature-lovers the graceful landscape cries out to be explored. You might glimpse the overzealous monkeys from the adjacent nature reserve or see a porcupine bustling through the indigenous trees. In the soft evening breeze you can gaze out over the dancing lights of Nelspruit and hear the call of wide-eyed bush-babies. We speak German, English and Afrikaans.Jörn's Gästehaus is a perfect base from which to explore the Lowveld. You are only a short drive away from the Kruger National Park and breath-taking sights such as God's Window, Blyde River Canyon, Bourke's Luck Potholes, historic Pilgrim's Rest and the pioneer village of Barberton. Jörn is a registered SATOUR guide and offers various golf tour packages around Mpumalanga. Nelspruit Golf Course is only a 1-wood and a 7 iron away from Jörns Gästehaus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jorn's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing