We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place.”
Review of Jorn's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jorn's Guest House
Ranked #6 of 80 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very nice place, good location, excellent service and facilities.

I´ve stayed there in my last two visits to Nelspruit, it´s an hidden gem. The place very well located, the rooms are spacious and very comfortable, Jorn and his team are very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDarsam_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 174 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

The wife and I stayed only for one weekend night - Jorn's Gastehaus is quite a special guest house at that.

Situated in Nelspruit's southern suburbs, it is centrally situated and only a few minutes drive from Central Nelspruit. The guest house has a beautiful setting next to huge boulders, overlooking the town. The gardens are beautiful and lush and with many interesting room layouts - some are separate from the main building (cottage like).

As the Guest House was full and we had a last minute reservation, we stayed in one of the smaller, standard rooms. Although small, well equipped with aircon, fridge, coffee/tea station, bath with shower and small make-up desk. Everything neat and professional, although I disliked the old-style TV, fitted very high in a cupboard.

We relaxed the evening in their comfortable central lounge with its "honesty" self-help bar. The included breakfast was great and the lounge area with swimming pool make for a stunning and tranquil layout.

Met the owner's wife as well - very friendly and engaging and she, together with the staff, bring a warm hospitality to the guest house. We were really sorry that we only stayed for one night and will most certainly be back in future!

This guest house comes well recommended.

Room Tip: There apartments are beautiful and spacious. There are a few standard rooms however that are small b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christiaan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I have been there quit a few times now and each stay is more fun and longer than the previous.My family and I go the 3-5 times a year and have been doing so for the last 3 years.This guesthouse is like our home away from home . I always enjoy my stay because of the very friendly staff and the amazing garden. The rooms are big and very comfy. Make sure to stay there next time you are in nelspruit

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fancytravellerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Please experience this when you can! It is a great place to stay. The surrounds are beautiful, the rooms are stunning and the service is outstanding.

Room Tip: We also had the opportunity to stay in the Executive Suit before and this is one of the most underra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MvanEmmenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The room was huge with a bath inside the bedroom and the equally spacious bathroom enclosed containing a shower, WC and basin. It was quiet, private and very pleasant to stay there. There is a stocked fridge in the room and coffee making equipment as well as all the other usual things like TV etc. The gardens are magnificent and the path to our room even crossed a Koi pond. The breakfast is marvellous and the decor is very tasteful and understated everywhere. There is a lovely pool and a good view over the city. The owner introduced himself at breakfast and the staff were all very friendly and professional. It was a true haven after a harrowing drive. Thanks for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask to see various rooms. Avoid close to carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarveyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

First the good. Beautiful 4 star facilities with a beautiful 4 star view of Nelspruit in a beautiful 4 star garden setting. Our room was huge and stunning (except for the pregnant bare brested carved wood torsos -- which were a little strange). Everything almost 5 star but just lacking in some quality details. So why the mixed review.? Well, the woman that checked us in made us incrediably uncomfortable. She was more concerned in our driver's German heritage, her German heritage and the owner's German heritage than she was concerned in her guests (us). It was bizzare to scarry. We didnt sleep that evening. As absolutely beautiful as it was, no way I would return. Buy hey, if you are German you might love it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rommel444, General Manager at Jorn's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for the honest review. We sincerely apologize for not living up to our goal of service excellence. You may be interested to know that Jorn's is now under new management and we truly hope to accommodate you once more and to host you with the exceptional hospitality and attention to detail that we have become known for over the last 20 years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
51
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
0.8 mi away
La Roca Guest House
La Roca Guest House
#4 of 80 in Nelspruit
349 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#2 of 80 in Nelspruit
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 80 in Nelspruit
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Zebrina Guesthouse
Zebrina Guesthouse
#8 of 80 in Nelspruit
183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Francolin Lodge
Francolin Lodge
#3 of 80 in Nelspruit
253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheppard Boutique
Sheppard Boutique
#10 of 80 in Nelspruit
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jorn's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jorn's Guest House

Address: 62 Hunter Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range: $94 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jorn's Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a nature reserve, this charming owner run and managed German Gästehaus is situated in a sub-tropical garden with water features, koi ponds, breath-taking mountain views and sparkling swimming pool overlooking Nelspruit. For nature-lovers the graceful landscape cries out to be explored. You might glimpse the overzealous monkeys from the adjacent nature reserve or see a porcupine bustling through the indigenous trees. In the soft evening breeze you can gaze out over the dancing lights of Nelspruit and hear the call of wide-eyed bush-babies. We speak German, English and Afrikaans.Jörn's Gästehaus is a perfect base from which to explore the Lowveld. You are only a short drive away from the Kruger National Park and breath-taking sights such as God's Window, Blyde River Canyon, Bourke's Luck Potholes, historic Pilgrim's Rest and the pioneer village of Barberton. Jörn is a registered SATOUR guide and offers various golf tour packages around Mpumalanga. Nelspruit Golf Course is only a 1-wood and a 7 iron away from Jörns Gästehaus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Jorn's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing