We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful lodge”
Review of Francolin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Francolin Lodge
Ranked #3 of 73 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful lodge”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Big and nice rooms with open bathroom (bathtub and shower), minibar and balcony. Comfy beds. There wasn't a door to the toilet which was a bit strange and unpractical, but we were overall very happy with the room. The breakfast was good - we had the special of the day.
Try the restaurant for dinner. We went there both days, and it was absolutely amazing!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helgamårten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks you for "Beautiful and peaceful lodge" We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review. The open-plan design of Francolin Lodge was a modern and exciting style that we were aiming for, and while it is not for everyone, the rooms definitely offer style, comfort and quality accommodation. If you are ever travelling through our part of the world again, please visit us again.

Kind regards
Jaclyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    38
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
72
48
6
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Wonderful facilities, great room with a view of Nelspruit and fantastic staff! Nothing was too much trouble for them, and Jaclyn certainly went the extra mile to find local restaurants open on Boxing Day and even booking taxis on our behalf. So if you're travelling to Nelspruit, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Jo - I am only sad that I never actually got to meet you both! "The place to Stay" is certainly high praise which we really appreciate. It was no trouble at all to ensure that your stay with us was perfect and I hope to meet you again on your next visit through Nelspruit.

Kind regards
Jaclyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo Province, Mozambique
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My young family and I stayed at Francolin Lodge for new years eve and had a wonderful time. The rooms are very well decorated, every detail is thought of, even down to the woolen hot water bottle cover ! I only had 2 small problems, the bed was very hard and I agree it would be nicer to have a little privacy in the bathroom. However, it was a very spacious and comfortable room with a beautiful view.
We had the special new years eve 5 course dinner at the Orange restaurant which was delicious, although the portion sizes were a little large for the number of course. Our waitress made sure the kids didn't miss out, ordering them a special spaghetti and icecream. Thankyou for a lovely night. The grounds of the lodge are perfectly manicured and having breakfast overlooking the town was the perfect for the perfect way to start the year. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here for a little luxury.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you Kimbaj for "Beautiful residence" We really had fun hosting you and your family over New Year and i'm really pleased that you had a lovely stay. We have taken you comment regarding the hard beds under consideration and have already taken steps to improve. The open - plan bedrooms of Francolin Lodge is a special part of their design so we are happy that you were comfortable and felt well - looked after.

We hope you host you all again next New Year.

Kind regards
Jaclyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our Family had a most enjoyable overnight stay at Francolin Lodge. The boys (9 & 11) loved the loft room and we found the facilities in excellent condition.
Breakfast on the veranda the next morning was an ideal way for us to round off a most enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks Alan for taking the time to post your review. It was a pleasure to host you and your family and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have you visit us again in the future.

Kind regards
Jaclyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeydew
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

A lovely guest lodge in a quiet part of Nelspruit. Beautifully decorated, spacious rooms with little balconies and small kitchenette and well stocked mini bar. Very comfortable king sized beds. Our only criticism is the open plan bathrooms. I really prefer a toilet with a door. Even the family suite has a similar lay-out. It seems to be the trend these days. Service was very good, received help with luggage and a jug of milk on request within minutes. Good breakfast overlooking the pool area and tropical garden. Take note that the restaurant is closed on Sunday nights but there are restaurants close by. A lovely stop-over to Kruger Park or even for a few nights. The lodge deserves its 5star rating

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ecregulartraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you "ecregulartraveler", we are really pleased to hear that you all enjoyed you stay with us over December. Francolin Lodge was designed with "modern, open-plan" in mind and is mostly well received. We are fortunate in that we can offer an alternative with our sister guesthouse on the same property, so keep this in mind for your next stay.

We hope to see you all again soon.

Kind regards
Jaclyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
2 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2013

For the second time I spent a few days with my family in this spectacular setting.
The excellent treatment began from the time I conducted the booking via internet, the reception and treatment of those responsible for Francolin.
The conditions of the site are excellent, with a warm, safe and brings us to a peace and quiet Location.
Highly recommend for a days rest, both for individuals, couples or families.
Thanks Francolin.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jorge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you Jorge for "awesome stay" We are very happy that your last stay was as great as the first time. We here at Francolin Lodge know fully well that a great stay is not just the accommodation and the location - service and hospitality are an integral part of the the whole package and it is always wonderful to hear that we had it right - right from the start! Thank you, too, for your recommendation and we do hope to host you and your family again in the future.

Kind regards
Jaclyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We love Francolin Lodge. Great location. The rooms are big, very comfortable and stylish. All the staff is very nice and is always willing to help. Just a few steps from one of the best restaurant in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nuno_Viei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
"Feels like home" is such a great review Nuno, as you are all part of our extended family. We love having you all come visit and look forward to catching up.
Thank you and see you soon.

Kind regards
Jaclyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
0.6 mi away
Sheppard Boutique
Sheppard Boutique
#4 of 19 in Nelspruit
31 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 19 in Nelspruit
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 73 in Nelspruit
511 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
285 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Roca Guest House
La Roca Guest House
#2 of 73 in Nelspruit
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francolin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francolin Lodge

Property: Francolin Lodge
Address: 4 Du Preez Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Francolin Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Francolin Lodge is a luxury guest house and boutique hotel situated centrally in Nelspruit. It offers 5 star accommodation and hospitality, with a new, modern design and elegant décor. Francolin Lodge is proud of its own on-site, A La Carte restaurant which also boasts conferencing facilities. This bed and breakfast lodge is the perfect base for both the corporate traveller and families looking to explore the Mpumalanga Lowveld. Being in the hart of Mpumalanga, the leisure traveller has easy access to the Kruger National Park, the Blyde River Canyon, Maputo and Swaziland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Francolin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing