We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Francolin Lodge - Superior quality and service”
Review of Francolin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Francolin Lodge
Ranked #3 of 71 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Polokwane, South Africa
1 review
“Francolin Lodge - Superior quality and service”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We visit Nelspruit very often, and Fancolin Lodge has become our home from home. The quality of the rooms and the facilities are truely fivestar. The rooms are spacious and luxurious and the layout gives you access to stunning views from every angle. Beautiful trees and gardens add to the tranquility you experience with every visit. Francolin Lodge is on the same premises as Loerie's Call (where we also have stayed over) so you have a choice of accommodation that caters for all your needs. I thoroughly enjoy the outside open areas that are safe and give you the opportunity to enjoy nature and the beautiful environment. Leana, who is the owner-manager is hands on with every aspect of the business. Her professional interest in the quality of our experience is very comforting, and welcoming. I can recommend both Francolin Lodge and Loerie's Call for those who are looking for quality and true hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you Kitryn for your lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences. You both have become like family and we want to ensure that every stay is perfect and our hospitality consistently 5 star. We look forward to welcoming you both on your next stay.

Kind regards
Jaclyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    38
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
72
47
6
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I prefer to stay at Francolins Lodge when I travel to Nelspruit on Business, and have stayed in a couple of different rooms over the last 4 years. I can honestly say that I've enjoyed every room, the quality bedding is awesome, the breakfast superb and the whole property is so neat and clean. And as a lady traveling on my own, I always feel very safe thanks to the setup at Francolins.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you Tessa! We always look forward to your visits...especially Frank. Our regular guests are very important to us and we appreciate you taking the time out to share your views and feedback.
See you soon...

Kind regards
Jaclyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Wow wow wow what a pleasant stay so stunning comfortable luxurious and frienly staff so professional do yourself a davour and go its also such a romantic setting. Its been my second stay here an i will always return. The breakfast is fie star rating with variety the room spacious with the most beautiful bathroom and touches. Thanks guys for again making me feel safe comfortable an right at home. Easy access from airport and close to absolutely everything in town

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurend8222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Lauren - wow indeed. We are always so happy to see the impact we have had on our guests. From our side, it was lovely to have you stay with us again and we are very pleased that your enjoyed our hospitality. Keeping our 5 star standards a constant is what we strive for - glad to see we hit the mark again.

Kind regards
Jaclyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 in the Upstairs/Downstairs room. So clean, welcoming and great views. There is no doors or rooms (just a loft), so don't expect a sleep in with children:) Gorgeous big bath with views (and lovely bath products, what a thoughtful touch). Beds and linen all of the highest quality and the gardens are just incredible....
Breakfast was delicious! Cooked special of the day, complete with lovely dog (Frank), views that are amazing and a charming hostess. Very special stay at around $180AU for a family of 4. Quiet, relaxing and peaceful place with a lovely pool area for Summer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antichfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hello the Antich family. We are very glad that you all enjoyed your stay with us in May. It was our pleasure to host you all and we (Frank included) are looking forward to your next visit...perhaps in the Summer so you can then make full use of the pool area.

Kind regards
Jaclyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

On the way back from the Kruger we spent our last night in SA in this wonderfull place. The room was great, the bathroom was superb. We had diner at the restaurant where the food was divine.

The staff was very helpfull: they posted our postcards for us!

A place where I will definitively go back in my next trip in SA.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benlintrepide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review - we are very happy to have made your last night is SA such a special one. Our staff are here to assist whenever possible. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our shores.

Kind regards
Jaclyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stay with our 5 year old kid and every body enjoy so much. Excellent host, nice and clean. awesome designed rooms with top floor for kid or third\forth person. Its not a sleeper couch but proper additional two single beds. Bathroom are amazing! Very quiet small luxury and excellent hotel. And big swimming pool with help keep busy our child)))

Room Tip: room 9 with second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julialex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancolinNelspruit, Manager at Francolin Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you Julia, our family rooms are designed to ensure that everyone is comfortable, so we are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you all in the Summer months.

Kind regards
Jaclyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We discovered this beautiful 5-star luxury lodge online about three years ago and have been coming back every year without even considering any place else to stay. We take part in the Elands Valley marathon every year and find the lodge an ideal overnight "resting place".

The staff (even the guard at the gate) are always friendly and more than accommodating; they arrange for us to leave for the race at 4am in the morning and we are allowed to come back and have a fresh shower on the day of the race (just before check-out). The rooms are spacious and in beautiful condition and the mini-bar is always stocked with an incredible assortment.

Thank you Francolin Lodge and staff for yet another sublime experience. See you guys next year!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sakkie6yster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelspruit
7.7 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
2.2 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#7 of 19 in Nelspruit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 71 in Nelspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Roca Guest House
La Roca Guest House
#2 of 71 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francolin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francolin Lodge

Property: Francolin Lodge
Address: 4 Du Preez Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Francolin Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Francolin Lodge is a luxury guest house and boutique hotel situated centrally in Nelspruit. It offers 5 star accommodation and hospitality, with a new, modern design and elegant décor. Francolin Lodge is proud of its own on-site, A La Carte restaurant which also boasts conferencing facilities. This bed and breakfast lodge is the perfect base for both the corporate traveller and families looking to explore the Mpumalanga Lowveld. Being in the hart of Mpumalanga, the leisure traveller has easy access to the Kruger National Park, the Blyde River Canyon, Maputo and Swaziland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Francolin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing