We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 5:00 AM - 6:30 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Kruger National Park
from $69.26
More Info
from $736.47
More Info
from $684.89
More Info
from $33.16
More Info
Reviews (2,323)
Filter reviews
2,323 results
Traveler rating
1,832
367
85
26
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,832
367
85
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lower sabie self drive crocodile bridge phabeni gate their natural habitat berg en dal wild animals rest camp punda maria bucket list game viewing speed limit big cats self catering spent days cape buffalo sabie river
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 2,323 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2019

I never did a safari before because I couldn't afford it. When I discovered Kruger, I learnt that you can have a great safari experience for a very reasonable price while driving on maintained roads and sleeping in quality accommodation. Just spent 17 days here and would have easily spent 17 more. Will visit again for sure!

I recommend no less than 5 days in the park to have enough time to get the feel of it and see some of the elusive animals.

My only complaint is about the people who visit the park. People who don't obey the park rules and get out of their cars, feed the animals, drive way over the speed limit and many more offenses. It's a real shame that people that suppossedly love nature don't respect it at all.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank SG_hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019 via mobile

It is an amazingly conserved natural habitat with abundant animals, birds, trees and grasslands. The landscape changes from thick bushes to open grasslands and numerous watering holes as you drive through the different routes and between the camps. We stayed at the Skukuza camp which is the largest and very good for wildlife viewing. However, in my opinion, lower Sabie camp is the best place to stay since the Sabie river runs along there and you can actually see buffaloes, crocodiles, deers and many other animals right from the restaurant deck. There's also a very busy watering hole right outside the camp gate where you see animals in action like crocodiles chasing impala, and many species of birds. In Skukuza, we stayed in a bungalow which is actually a cottage and although not luxurious, well stocked with kitchen utensils, BBQ stand, hot water shower etc. Kitchen is either attached or one community kitchen for four bungalows together. There's a large shop within the camp where you get camping gears to vegetables and packed food to clothing and souvenirs. We visited in June and all visitors got to see the Big Five and many more animals throughout the day. In addition to the morning Safari and self drive, don't miss the night Safari to view predators in action and the bush walk with armed forest rangers for a thrilling experience. Camp gates close at 5.30pm in winter. Factor in enough time for driving in different routes, plus game viewing and frequent wait for animal crossing. Don't lose a minute when you're there, never know which animal is waiting around the corner!

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Ritu2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019

Military personnel strop and alight from military vehicles and urinate on the roads IN the park.
The vehicles then SPEED past AT WAY MORE than the speed limits.
Surely the Park rules also apply to them !! - specially seeing they are not on official duties.
This occurred on TWO different days with different military personnel !!
DISGUSTING !!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank ottoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

We did a self drive through the park, from Sabie to Satara to Letaba where we stayed for the night.
Finally fulfilled my dream of visiting Kruger on my third trip to SA. Got to see many animals today (elephants, buffaloes, zebras, impalas, giraffes, wildebeest, lions, hippos) while driving and imagine our delight when some wild animals appeared from the bushes, allowing us to stop by the roadside and happily snap away. Really enjoyable experience and the best safari park in South Africa indeed!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank maradonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019

Arrived early morning 6:00am. By the time we got in 15 minutes later, dawn was breaking with an amazing sun rise. The guide, Suzette, driving the vehicle was so astute and aware of where the animals were likely to be that by breakfast we had seen four of the big five and saw the fifth as we left the car park having had breakfast. Seeing the animals in their habitat was one of the best things we have experienced. So close up too. The animals seemed to know we were there to see them in their own home and so came up really close. Never realised just how prolific the impala are and the guide referred to the as Macdonalds, if you look at their rump it appears to be marked with an M. They are the bottom of the food chain and are food to most of the predators!

The weather was ideal for the tour and the animals helped, when we met up with others in our party, some had seen some of the big five, one group had seen none all in the same time frame as we had seen all of them and some on numerous occasions. Suzette was on the CB radio most of the tour and flagged down other guides who chatted and kept each other up to date with the latest sightings! She also seemed to rule the roost advising other guides that she was coming through and they parted and let her through!

An amazing day, so much so that we returned that evening for the night time safari, so different and we weren’t quite so lucky but still a great experience.

Very highly recommended.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Dave_Kippax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews