We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home-really fun knowledgeable and helpful staff,clean, lovely pool-safari is a must!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Funky Monkeys Backpackers & Safaris
1 review
“Home away from home-really fun knowledgeable and helpful staff,clean, lovely pool-safari is a must!”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Have been going back to funky for 10 years and am always delighted-excellent location, really clean and friendly amazing pool - i am addicted!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    5
    8
    11
See reviews for
3
9
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I stayed here last year whilst on a trip to SA. from the minute you walked into the place everyone was friendly and made you feel welcome.
the weather at the time was horrible so we spent the evening listening to music and watching tv and making the of the bar. We ended up having one of the best nights of the trip!!!!! good laugh.
the place is what I expected it to be, the bed was comfy, the room was clean and so was the bathroom.
the only negative i have is that someone ate my food. it is a trust situation. but you dont expect people to help themselves to your food... but that is not a fault of the place, just the people staying there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtown1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I stayed for several days in September 2011. The overall staff service was
extremely poor, with the desk staff often drunk and very grumpy with hardly
a word of help.
I had R 3000 worth of clothing stolen and when i complained and intended to
take the matter further i was dragged out by some bouncer guy directed by
the owner to " push me around a little" He beat me up and warned that i
should " not make any more trouble or else"
the incident was reported to the police and a theft case and assault
were laid against Lorna Carter and her backpackers.
There was also a complete open door policy at the backpackers that allowed
any local or outsider to frequent the bar and venue without any security in place.
The incident was also covered by the local media

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Victem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nelspruit hotels

Straubing, Bayern, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Wonderful time, its a familar atmosphere,
you can meet the hole world and you ll find good friends
and also you can reach swasiland and mosambik
and you can have a drink with netto, lebo,tim or hendrew they are always friendly
and the cleaner woman also wonderfull and sometimes they have guests like
Robby or Sascha you can have fun with these guys ,and the Music at the Bar is great
you can hear the funky monkey cd 1-4 with great hits.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sascha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

In a desperate tentative to see the Kruger park between 2 business flights at Joburg (one saturday, the other monday), I arrived at Nelspruit with very little time and nothing planned. After struggling at another expensive hotel where they were pushing me hard to check in with no safari guaranteed at all, I went to Funky Monkeys. On the fly, in 20 min, they arranged me exactly what I wanted (a day-safari in the Kruger on Sunday) and at a very good price. Great camp in the park, good food, fabulous safari, great hostel in Nelspruit, nice and very committed people. You may call it luck, but my experience was 100% positive!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt187514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This place had really clean, comfortable dorms. The staff was friendly. For a traveler without a car it was a little far from the city center. Hot water seemed to be hit or miss.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank stoberc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We were very much looking forward to stay at Funky Monkeys as the description sounded great and the pictures looked really nice. Upfront conclusion: The rooms are alright, not too big and just tidy enough, but definitely not as nice as they look on the pictures provided on the website. We would have accepted this, if everything else was fine. But we are sorry to say that this hostel was probably the most anonymous and unfriendliest hostel we have stayed in during a month in South Africa. Hardly anybody of the staff talks to you, everybody seems annoyed if you have questions, nobody explains anything to you… you really had the feeling of so not being welcome. The lounge area might have been nice in summer or during the world cup, but when we stayed there, it was just anonymous and cold. Apart from that, nothing more to say except the internet connection which is being very bad (hardly possible to check your emails).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inn2TheWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
#10 of 68 in Nelspruit
139 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
2.7 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#9 of 19 in Nelspruit
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheppard Boutique
Sheppard Boutique
#4 of 19 in Nelspruit
34 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#13 of 19 in Nelspruit
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Funky Monkeys Backpackers & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkeys Backpackers & Safaris

Property: Funky Monkeys Backpackers & Safaris
Address: 102 Van Wijk Street, Nelspruit, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Nelspruit
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Funky Monkeys Backpackers & Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing