We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good, though shower left much to be desired”
Review of Leaves Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leaves Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
bryanblaw
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Overall good, though shower left much to be desired”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Overall the rooms were spacious and nicely decorated. We also enjoyed the large bath and the view from the room. The breakfast as well was enjoyable, though not noteworthy, while the common areas were generally well taken care of.

The most unfortunately thing was the shower. In trying to make the rest of the room larger, this definitely suffered. There is not a divider between the bathroom and the main room and the shower itself is not large and also did not have a back. As a result, even a shower with relatively low water pressure made quite a mess and meant that afterwards when standing at and using the sink or walking around in the general vicinity, you were in a pool of water. Though maybe not terrible, it was disappointing. Also, when arriving each night at 7, there was no one there outside of the security, which seemed a bit strange.

Overall worthwhile, but has some areas in which it could improve.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryanblaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    57
    34
    12
    15
See reviews for
33
80
15
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Apart from the fact that everything at the Lodge meets expectations the after-service was excellent. I forgot some of my clothes in the cupboard and management send it back without any problems.

Highly recommended in every aspect.

Room Tip: Sandstone has a excellent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Driekie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machadodorp, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

leaves lodge is home away from home from the staff treatment to the location of the lodge it was a overwhelming expirience. what I enjoyed the most was the quitness with the excellent service that i recieved.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Innocent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Security at Leaves was excellent. Staff super competent and friendly. Rooms spacious with all amenities easily found in the room. Enough plugs and right adapters to charge laptops and cellphones. Breakfast was delicious and well made. Honesty bar well stocked.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank JanaWarffemius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stunning place, stunning view, stunning hospitality, stunning spa, stunning food! I go on and on, my wife loves me more. You are bound to forget the outside world when you are there, that is how the place is, it takes your away from the normal world!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ignitious N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Excellent set up. Very comfortable room, great views, the house itself is amazing. Food was also very nice. Great outdoors area for braais as well. Internet was a bit slow when I was there, but that is not a show stopper. Staff is very friendly as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabiocp85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a wonderful stay and the service was excellent!
Highly recommended! The rooms were stunning and the food was excellent! The staff were friendly and helpful and the view was amazing with little footpath down to the river. There were cute birds everywhere

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beate U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheppard Boutique
Sheppard Boutique
#4 of 19 in Nelspruit
33 reviews
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
1.9 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#9 of 19 in Nelspruit
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
290 reviews
1.5 mi away
Loerie's Call Guest House
Loerie's Call Guest House
#1 of 74 in Nelspruit
515 reviews
6.9 mi away
Tomjachu Bush Retreat
Tomjachu Bush Retreat
#1 of 68 in Nelspruit
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leaves Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leaves Lodge & Spa

Property: Leaves Lodge & Spa
Address: Cnr Johanna & Halssnoer Cresent | Sonheuwel, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Leaves Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the true 5 star experience, come to Leaves Lodge & Spa. This impressive guest house exemplifies the very best in modern architecture and offers fifteen spacious bedrooms, each with its own private balcony. Built on a granite dome you can enjoy the breathtaking views from your room over the ancient indigenous African bush and a murmuring mountain stream that runs through lush gardens - a birding hot spot with a relaxing walk in the nature reserve.The day spa is nestled in nature next to the river and offers you a wide range of facial and body treatments by our qualified therapists - truly a must for every person who is content with only the best. We pride ourselves in the wide range of personal yet professional services that we offer to cater for all your individual needs. For the weary traveler a home-style dinner can be served on a tray in the privacy of your room. A scrumptious breakfast is included in your stay. The up-market, fully serviced board room accommodates thirty people. A variety of lunches and platters are served. Leaves Lodge & Spa is also the ideal venue for special and intimate functions. The lodge is ideally situated for day trips - the world famous Kruger National Park, the Blyde River Canyon, Pilgrims Rest, Barberton, Aventura Resorts, Swaziland and Maputo are within easy range. The lodge is near the CBD, private hospital, restaurants, shopping centres and the KMI airport. The staff will assist in arranging and advising on any of the above mentioned excursions. A chauffeur service is available on request. Indeed, Leaves Lodge & Spa, with its relaxed and peaceful atmosphere, offers the perfect retreat from a hectic and stressful life-style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Leaves Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing